Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) from One For All.
One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
64$119
The 8-device One For All URC-9960 represents the second generation of UEI's Kameleon technology. It features automatic backlighting, code learning, macros, Home Theater mode, easy setup, and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|Last >> ]

Written by Nanohead from New Jersey, center of the universe.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 36 made on Sunday July 11, 2004 at 4:56 PM.
Strengths:Probably the way all universal remotes should work. Cool to look at. Works pretty well. Amazing price ($53 at Radio Shack)
Weaknesses:Limited learning, no Software and computer connectivity
Review:This review is for the Radio Shack version, 15-2138

This thing is probably the future of this type of device. I used a Pronto for several years, and basically hated it. I then settled on $10 Radio shack universals, that worked well enough, and were cheap enough to replace when they broke or got lost.

This thing has all the right bits in it to be a world beater. The changing face is awesome, and the simple volume punch through and other setup features make it trully usable.

It needs though, a connection to the computer and software to configure it. The arcane codes and searching through massive amounts of combinations of codes to get the right features basically sucks, and is downright prehistoric in a world with blackberrys and integrated cell phones that sync with each other and with computers.

This is the missing link. The membrane face is the best solution to changing personalities I have seen to date. The LCD touch screens just stink for usability, and are simply too fragile and expensive.

I hope that either Radio Shack or UEI get the software religion soon, as that would make this the best remote available for normal people

Also, the Radio Shack version at least, has a way to disable the motion sensor, to increase battery life and remove the sensitivity complaint that many comment on
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by M Flaherty from St. Pete, Fl, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 35 made on Saturday June 26, 2004 at 12:57 PM.
Strengths:Works well with TiVo and plenty of buttons matching original remotes.
Weaknesses:Touchpad technology, sensitivity.
Review:I jumped when I first saw this remote. Important for me was the inclusion of TiVo mapped functions. This is my fourth All-in-One remote. Unfortunately, ever since the 6-in-1 unit, they all don't work with my Sony receiver (STR-DE835) as they should out of the box. Yes, the keycode workarounds from website sometimes work. My main beef with this remote is the technology (which I thought was cool at first). To save juice the touchpad goes to sleep after about 2 seconds, then when you want to freze, fast-forward something, you have to "see" where your finger is and then push twice (first time wakes up pad). The battery life isn't as bad as some posts have suggested. I have had it about a year and only changed batteries once. It does light up even with a loud thundercrack and the dog jumping on couch, etc. The 100 bucks is steep if you consider I will be getting another remote after 1 year. I like the one with the web configuration and downloadable coding. I'm back to solid buttons you can feel.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by frankieb from Melbourne,Australia .
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 34 made on Thursday June 3, 2004 at 8:09 AM.
Strengths:Funky blue keypad, love the way only the required keys are shown for the equipment being used.Works on all my gear even my ELCHEAPO dvd player.
Weaknesses:sticky buttons , weird buzzing sound coming from INSIDE!!!!
Review:The 8 in one doesnt exsist here in Australia, so had had to take a punt and buy it online from a US seller $54.00 USD
plus shipping it was quite cheap !As the 6 in one retails here for $199.00 AUD . The setting up of the remote was easy as can be i had all my equipment setup in about 10 minutes (the basics). It doesnt
have some of the usual keys such as a sleep button , But i dont care it just looks so cool!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Emily from Tennessee.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 33 made on Wednesday June 2, 2004 at 9:50 PM.
Strengths:Can use in the dark. Looks cool.
Weaknesses:EATS BATTERIES.
Review:The remote is too sensitive. Placing it on a 1" block of shock absorbent foam does not help. Whenever anyone walks in the room it turns on, including my 9 pound cat. Batteries last 3-7 days. This problem far outweighs any benefits.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Benjamin from Alberta, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 32 made on Thursday May 27, 2004 at 7:10 PM.
Strengths:Kept my dining table from wobbling(perfect size under the leg!)
Weaknesses:Battery Drainer,Never shuts off
Review:After about 2 weeks of owning this hunk of crap,it began flashing on and off,on and off,for hours,until the battery died,When i put new batteries into the unit it continued in the same fashion..i couldn't override this peculiar malfunction no matter what! It is singularly the biggest piece of crap i have ever owned...a real lemon...avoid at all costs!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jabba from Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 31 made on Wednesday May 26, 2004 at 7:11 PM.
Strengths:Let there be light and PVR control!
More IR learning than the first model.
Easily learns IR commands from my other remotes.
Those of you having issues with this might try the IR delete function for each device before attempting to add new IR commands from other remotes. You'd be surprised how many of these remotes are returned, meaning that someone has entered IR commands from their remotes which might produce a conflict for you and will definately leave you with less space to add yours.
Ergonomically superior to the first model.
Customer support is great!
Weaknesses:Some "buttons" are just too small, especially the Video/DVD/CD buttons located near the bottom.
Battery life. I suggested to 'All For One' that they make this model turn off it's motion sensor when it's upside down. They obviously didn't listen. Nor did they listen when I suggested 4 double A's instead of 4 triple A's for power.
This thing needs a recharging base!
Needs the ability to transmit RF. I'd love to control my ceiling fans and other RF enabled equipment with this remote.
I find the Home Theater mode useless.
Review:No screw driver needed to change batteries and no cold aluminum bottom like before.
For me this remote is almost perfect. Just try operating the Sony RM-AV2500 with one hand. You can't unless it's laying on something.
To me this remote is a step below, albeit a big one, the high end Sony remotes.
I'm hooked and I can't wait for the next model.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Robert from Toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 30 made on Monday May 24, 2004 at 7:33 PM.
Strengths:Excellent remote. Threw all others away.
Weaknesses:Battery life --- motion sensor too sensitive.
Review:LOve it.
Can fix so doesn't come on due to motion.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse