Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) from One For All.
One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
64$119
The 8-device One For All URC-9960 represents the second generation of UEI's Kameleon technology. It features automatic backlighting, code learning, macros, Home Theater mode, easy setup, and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Sean from Denver.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 50 made on Monday January 17, 2005 at 10:58 AM.
Strengths:I have the OFA 9960
Looks, ease of set-up, Controls everything in my theater
Weaknesses:None yet
Review:I just purchased last weekend and after programing and use, all I can say is wow! The device works great.

The unit is very up-to-date with features that controlled everything on my 50" Panasonic DLP TV, DVD, Comcast Cable box out of the box, and after it "learned" 3 keys, my Yamaha AMP!

I disabled the motion sensor via maual, and set the backlight to turn off after 8 seconds. Perfect!



Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ricky Birkett from Chicago.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 49 made on Sunday January 16, 2005 at 11:09 AM.
Strengths:I saw a lot of problems with this device turning on when you don't want it to. There is an option in the manual called 'tilt', you can set it so the only time it turns on is when you press a key.
Weaknesses:The 800 number you get to program new codes in is only open 8:00-4:30 M-F (cst), which just happen to be my work hours. If you can't call them, they should have the remote program noises available on-line.
Review:Overall a ver smarr remote that can be upgraded via sound. I got mine cheap on eBay, so no complaints here.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Robert J Basye3rd from Dry Ridge KY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 48 made on Wednesday January 12, 2005 at 4:28 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use and it learning capability is nice. Big improvement of the previous 6 In 1 model. Motion sensor can now be disabled in the newer model.

The Glow keys are very nice in dark rooms

Adjustable brightness control
Weaknesses:Battery life is shorter than on the non illuminated All for One models.
Review:I have upgraded from the Radio Shack IN 15-2133 and it is a big improvement over the first generation model. It is easy to set up and has learned all of the missing buttons from my television and audio receiver. I have turn off the motion sensor by using setup options 985. This feature only works if your model ends in B001.

The on time can be increased up to 20 seconds as well.

You can also adjust the brightness control for improving battery life.

Battery life is increased by turning the sensor off which was not easily done on previous models without voiding your warranty.

I am happy with it it overall and if your on a budget the URC-9660 is a very nice option.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by bob from Michigan.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 47 made on Thursday January 6, 2005 at 9:09 PM.
Strengths:Everything but the battery life
Weaknesses:The battery life
Review:I have not used this thing for 8 months...finally I found the instruction to take out the motion sensor...the remote works perfect now...take off the back cover, and seperate the back housing from the unit. Remove the small silver box motion sensor with a soldering iron..it is about in the middle of the unit...inside you will find two small ball bearings...this is the cause of the battery drain. You have to press any button to reactivate the control and it will shut off normally.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kevin L from Missouri, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 46 made on Wednesday January 5, 2005 at 8:26 PM.
Strengths:Ease of configuration, huge built in database of devices, neat EL backlighting, light & stylish.
Weaknesses:Battery life, vibration switch sensitivity, inability to customize, limited learning capabilities.
Review:I bought this remote to control a Mitsubishi big screen HDTV, Dish Network 811 HDTV receiver, and Yamaha Home Theatre in a Box. Setup and configuration was as easy as any I've ever tried. The Mitsubishi and Yamaha codes worked right out of the box, but I had to reconfigure the Dish 811 to use channel 1 remote in order to get the built in codes to work. The remote is aesthetically pleasing to look at and very easy to use. Fading in and out on the keys is really cool, and displaying only the keys you need for the current device is an OFA Kameleon hallmark. I own two of the previous Kameleon remotes, and this one is so much better, I am contemplating replacing them with the URC9960 8n1.
On the Con side, The remote's vibration switch is way too sensitive, though it is possible to turn off the switch (activate the remote by pushing a button). Under some modes, the remote doesn't show all the keys until you use the scroll button. Like the reviewer, I wondered by Dish just doesn't show them all anyway.
Battery life will likely be bad, as it is on all Kameleon remotes. I am using RayoVac 15 minute rechargeables with all the Kameleon remotes, with no problems.
Very nice remote with a few minor annoyances, well worth the low price though.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rich Gryziec from Wilkes-barre Pa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 45 made on Monday December 20, 2004 at 2:30 PM.
Strengths:Price and size
Weaknesses:learning memory..battery life..lights upwith slightist vibration
Review:I got talked into this remote at best buy..should i say more?..anyway..i had one of the RCA touch screen ones and it was awful..this one at least worked most of the time but it just hasnt held up well..the areas where you press have become indented and i belive they are going to tear..they have no toll free # to upgrade and the people werent freindly at all..plus it eats batteries..should have spent a bit more and got something better..but the worst is it will only learn about 20 commands total!!..terrible!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dan from Oregon, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 44 made on Friday December 17, 2004 at 11:06 PM.
Strengths:Value, Design, Practicality
Weaknesses:None yet.
Review:I purchased the new Kameleon 8 which includes a cut off for the vibration switch, so I haven't experienced any battery problems as of yet. So far it works great. I was able to program all the advanced functions using the learning feature. My only complaint is that the thing stinks.. literally. Sort of a weird seran wrap chemical smell. I think it go away.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse