Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) from One For All.
One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
64$119
The 8-device One For All URC-9960 represents the second generation of UEI's Kameleon technology. It features automatic backlighting, code learning, macros, Home Theater mode, easy setup, and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 7 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|4|5|6|7|8|9|10 ]

Written by Patrick Maheu from Toronto, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 22 made on Friday February 13, 2004 at 5:42 AM.
Strengths:- Home Theater function
- Global Volume
- Controls all components
- X10 capacity
- 5 programmable macros
- Upgradable & Flexable
Weaknesses:- Turns off too quick, time not adjustable
- wakeup sensitivity
Review:I purchased this remote because of the promise to control all of my theater components, several of which I have had difficulty controling via these all-in-one remotes in the past. And it did!! Even my KOSS DVD 260-2 (Canadian model) which was not listed in the manual or on thier web site was not a problem. Less then 5 minutes on the phone with customer service (which they answered immediately!) and I was upgraded and working.

For all my other components, setup was simple. And using a few advanced codes I found on this site & www.hi-fi.com, I was able to customize key placements & functions I felt would be better on different keys or locations.

The Theather mode is a great feature. No more switching to each component to send commands ... your most common components/commands are accesable all on 1 screen at the same time.

And macros work great, including the POWER macro on the Home Theater POWER key ... one press and all my components are powered on or off.

Many other people have commented on the sensitivity of the "wake-up" sensor, which is too sensitive. Yes, it does light up when you walk across the room, hovever I find that placing it where it feels fewer floor vibrations (arm of chair or sofa) does help. So far I'm still on my first set of batteries after 3 weeks, so we'll see. The other common complaint is how quickly it turns off. This should be adjustable, because when you are new to this remote, or programming, you do spend longer than usual looking for keys. However, once you become comfortable with the layout and location of everything, I've found it hardly an issue.

Overall, this is a class A remote. It solved all my remote control issues, and now I'm finally down to just one remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dave from New Jersey, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 21 made on Monday February 9, 2004 at 11:33 PM.
Strengths:learning buttons, actually works my TV!
Weaknesses:sticky buttons, battery life
Review:This remote is just what I needed. My setup isn't top of the line nor quality name brand with a BrokSonic tv/vcr/dvd combo, an Oritron surround sound system, and a Scientific Atlantic cable box. I had purchased a number of remotes before this one and none of them would control my TV. I tried all of the BrokSonic codes and I got one of the BS dvd codes to work. For the rest of the functions of my tv, i just mapped them to unused buttons (it was only a few.) Both of my other devices worked without a hitch.

Battery life is kinda short, lasting about a month for me. Not that big of a deal.

Overall I think this is a great remote for what I paid for it (around $40.)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeffrey R. Daro from Maryland, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 20 made on Saturday February 7, 2004 at 1:19 PM.
Strengths:Cool features. Cool look. Easy to program. Style, style, style.
Weaknesses:Battery life. Lack of complete functions out of the box.
Review:I purchased this remote, and after a few days my wife would complain that the remote was "freaking out", although I could not reproduce it. Then after using it a bit more, I found she was right. We exchanged it for another. After 3 more days, again this remote began "freaking out". Periodically ALL of the buttons would light up, no features would work, etc.

I did some research on remotecentral.com and found that many people had the same problem. Seems, the auto-on feature is a huge battery drainer. Three day life of batteries means this remote has already been returned.

Another mine complaint was the lack of complete control of my components. For example, the remote could set my receiver on mode except TV. Ick.

I would not recommend this remote at all.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by John Casey from Toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 19 made on Thursday January 22, 2004 at 2:46 PM.
Strengths:Very cool, comfortable in your hand, easy access to most often used buttons, lots of codes.
Weaknesses:Remote feels too big, flakey, all buttons are on screen even if you are not using them, they may not be lit up, but they are there.
Review:I got rid of this remote and picked up the $39.99CDN PHILIPS MAGNAVOX 8 DEVICE UNIVERSAL TOUCH-SCREEN REMOTE CONTROL. With this remote the screen actually changes for the device you selected. It has two screens of buttons per piece of equipment . If you do not like the layout, you can customize your screens. Add that to the learning feature and the sky is the limit.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ron Y from Vancouver Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 18 made on Thursday January 15, 2004 at 10:06 PM.
Strengths:Cool Blue Screen,Incredible funtionality,
huge code database,Ir learning,comfortable in hand,on line telephone upgradeable!,AWSOME home theater mode
Weaknesses:somtimes flaky backlight,some keys that arent used on your particular model still display
Review:A Well deserved Xmas gift, I had the neatest looking universal remote I have ever seen! Programming was fairly easy and that panel when it lights up it's an eye popper!.Some funtions still do not work exactly right so I had to use the learn funtion to remap some buttons.I looked for the infamous "JP1" connector but mine has only solder points where the pins are.Note however my model number is URC-9962 not 9960 so Maybe the Canadian model is different.I might have to do some more research so I can eventually program it from the PC for complete use. Having said that I LOVE this remote and it does basically control al 7 of my components. As for the backlight issue I found a light "tap" on the silver edge with your index finger will get it to light up right away, shaking it doesnt work as well. My Wife paid $99.00 Canadian for this remote well worth it. I can tell you I have had none of the "quality" issues with this remote and feels VERY solid in your hand.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Remote Fanatic from Florida, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 17 made on Monday December 29, 2003 at 11:14 AM.
Strengths:Home theater mode, Attracts major attention, soft non-slip bottom, very stylish, bright adjustable display, 5 programmable macros, full learning capability, each mode contains only needed component info
Weaknesses:questionable quality, some sticky buttons, tilt switch sensitivity
Review: I have to begin by saying that this is probably the most full featured remote for the money. There are features not found in remotes twice the price. I have owned the Pronto Neo, Sony RMAv2000, Sony RMLP202, and Kameleon/Radio Shack 4 in 1.

I will also say that despite the extremely few major flaws this remote has, it will be a permanent resident here complimenting the Kameleon 4 in 1 that I use for my bedroom's relatively basic setup. The good far out-weighs the bad in this Kameleon 8 in 1 remote!

The good:
Everything- I absolutely love this remote. It is very easy to use the advanced features, setup, program, and use all around. My fiance can operate it with no trouble at all. The intuitive layouts and controls make it just plain fun to use! Nothing is a chore!

The bad:
As mentioned above, there are some quality concerns. They are definately a problem, BUT, there are problems with ALL remotes. Some remotes have issues with quality, buttons, display, feel, options, and ease of use, The real question is-can you live with the good/bad of this remote or the good/bad of another remote? I will take this one any day even though it has its share of problems. I recommend purchasing it from a local store with a good return policy. This will give you the opportunity to replace it with convenience if needed.

I picked this one up for $79 at Best Buy. You can find them on Ebay for about $60. Go buy one. You wont be disappointed!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Larry Gadea from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 16 made on Wednesday December 24, 2003 at 1:11 PM.
Strengths:- Looks great
- Like the feel of the buttons
- Controls everything with barely any setup
- Animated faceplate
Weaknesses:- The pickup sensor is completly messed up.
- Very sticky faceplate
- Annoying sound when faceplate lights
- Somewhat large
- PVR buttons all crammed together at the bottom, very uncomfortable
- Light timeout too quick
- Did i mention the pickup sensor was completly messed up?
Review:Just dropped by radioshack to try to buy the 6-in-1 Kameleon, but it seemed they had none left and they showed me this model. So, i saw it had more features and though that since this is a newer model, perhaps they would have fixed some of the bugs from the 6-in-1.

Well they didnt. That pickup sensor is completly messed up. It doesnt work at all. Whenever i pick it up from my table, it rarely lights up. After aggressive shaking of the remote, it still doesnt turn on. I always end up having to push a button to wake it up. Ok now that the light is on comes the next problem. The light is very loud when watching midnight programming with the tv volume being very low. You can hear a buzzing inside of it which is very noticeable. Ok. Now to quickly take another look at the screen.. Aw damn it! Light is off again, and it wont wake up unless i push a button! *sigh* Oh i just missed a good scene. Lets rewind on my pvr. Well tough luck doing that with those tiny buttons. I finally managed to push it. Damn what a sticky button! Its like there's glue behind this thing, and it feels really weird, not to mention the sticky sound it makes. Very very weird. Well anyways, now that i'm done with the remote i put it on the table. Its too bad the slightest subwoofer sound will wake it up (so the sensor finally works), killing my battery. So finally to end, i take my pillow that i was so comfortable with, and let the remote sit on that causing it to not wake up anymore.

Otherwise, its a really good remote! ;)

I will not yet be returning it. Gonna give it another chance and see what turns out. I recommend you wait until One For All makes a newer model fixing all of these bugs.

Good Luck,
Larry

Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 7 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|4|5|6|7|8|9|10 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse