Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) from One For All.
One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
64$119
The 8-device One For All URC-9960 represents the second generation of UEI's Kameleon technology. It features automatic backlighting, code learning, macros, Home Theater mode, easy setup, and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 4 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Connie G from Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 43 made on Wednesday December 8, 2004 at 12:01 AM.
Review:So good and easy to set up and use. I'd buy it again!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by David Pollard from Durham, UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 42 made on Sunday November 14, 2004 at 9:42 AM.
Strengths:Controls all my devices beautifully
Looks stunning
Weaknesses:Battery Life
Review:Here is a fix that will greatly increase the battery life of your kameleon. I noticed my kameleon was lighting up whenever any of my 3 dogs was running round the house, whenever I got a bit comfier in my chair or whenever I farted.

Far too sensitive to movement.

So, if you want your kameleon to only light up when you push a button, follow these instructions. I TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THESE INSTRUCTIONS - DO AT YOUR OWN RISK. THEY WORK FOR ME. They are instructions for the UK model URC-8060 (but I suspect they are pretty similar inside when it comes to the mercury switch that needs to be disabled)

You'll need a soldering iron and the willingness to invalidate the warranty of your kameleon.

Unscrew the four screws (and the battery screw and remove the circuit board from the metal housing. Locate what looks like a metal bullet component (identified SW1 on my circuit board). It is soldered at either end onto the circuit board. Get a pair of pliers and while melting the solder at one end (doesn't matter which) lift the end that your soldering off the motherboard.

Bob's your uncle

dp
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Steve Andreae from S. California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 41 made on Tuesday September 14, 2004 at 6:45 PM.
Strengths:Very Pretty at night. I could download via acoustical data codes that I needed for some of my HD Samsung stuff, even though I had to pay for a lengthly phone call to NY.
Weaknesses:Battery life very poor. It also needs an 'eject' button for VCR, DVD and CD modes. I made the enter button do this function.
Review:I found regarding the battery, that the unit starts out working well with brand new alcaline or even 1.2V NiMH cells. When the battery reaches about 4V under load with the thing lighted, it becoms irratic and dies soon after. If I could get it apart without mutilating it, I would make a holder for a 5th cell and all would be well. Maybe URE will hear of this for there next version.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Paul Holland from St. Louis, MO. USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 40 made on Sunday August 15, 2004 at 4:27 PM.
Strengths:Versatile, upgradable, very easy to use
Weaknesses:Battery life, sensitivity to motion
Review:This device would be my favorite if they could just fix two things.

First the batteries don't last any time at all. If your going to use one of these be sure to invest in some rechargable batteries. I was going through a set of batteries every few weeks before I got the rechargables and it got very expensive.

Second the keypad lights up much too easily and then shuts down if you stop to look for a key you don't know the location of. If I want to watch something in a darkened room without this acting as a lamp I have to hide the remote or turn it over so the keypad is face down. Even the vibration from typing this review on my keyboard is causing the keypad to light up while it sits on the far side of my desk. This causes the bateries to drain even faster!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Carl Evans from MI, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 39 made on Friday August 6, 2004 at 5:01 PM.
Strengths:Looks cool and relatively easy to programme.
Weaknesses:Battery drains quickly and many have become an expensive paper weight within the first six months.
Poor quality
Review:DO NOT PURCHASE
Better of purchaseing a regular $10 remote with the good old fashioned buttons.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Reg Gosnell from Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 38 made on Wednesday July 28, 2004 at 6:19 PM.
Strengths:Easy to program and control multiple devices. Very cool screen!
Weaknesses:Stupid motion sensing! The thing comes on if you breath on it! Outside noises, noises in other rooms - my 9 pound dog walking across the carpet - sets the thing off!

Some times "forgets" buttons in Home Theater mode. Continual pressing of HT key is necessary to restore functionality.

Heavily used buttons wear, or smear over time.
Review:It stays on erroneously more than when being used to control A/V devices. I bought rechargeble bats. Goes through a set in 2 weeks. In a darkened theater room, it is VERY distracting. I put it in a drawer or under a pillow which reduces it's usability. I don't know why a simple touch screen wouldn't suffice. All the criticism this unit receives springs from this single fact. I can't use this device as my sole A/V control unit due to this problem. I have relagated it to a secondary viewing room. If this were fixed, I would recommend this device.

In it's current state, I say "Don't Buy It!".

I still use my first generation TS1000 Pronto and continue my search for the perfect A/V controller.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by HenkyPenky from The Netherlands.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 37 made on Friday July 16, 2004 at 2:01 PM.
Strengths:To much to mention;
-Has a lot of codes preprogrammed for my (seem te be) difficult brands.
-the learning for new codes worked perfect for me;
Weaknesses:-memory for learning new codes is to small (16-25 codes max)
Review:This has almost everything that I've been looking for. Works very well, intuitive, inexpensive (Dutch...)
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 4 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse