Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) from One For All.
One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
64$119
The 8-device One For All URC-9960 represents the second generation of UEI's Kameleon technology. It features automatic backlighting, code learning, macros, Home Theater mode, easy setup, and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by chad from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 57 made on Tuesday August 30, 2005 at 6:39 PM.
Strengths:everything but battery life
Weaknesses:like everyone else i hated the lofe span of the batties because they do not last loing when it comes on evey 2 sec. but i have been wanting to try to fix this but is didn't want to mess anything up but i finaly just tried.
Review: -=*=-This worked for me!!-=*=-
-=*=- If oyu mess anything up don't -=*=-
-=*=-blame it on me.-=*=-

alright, once again you need a soddering iron, and both types of screwdrivers(get small ones as there are small screws)

Ok here is how i did it. A lot like the guy above but i don't have the same version as he did, i think that mine is maybe a US version.
___well first ya have to take flip it over and take out the battiers. there will be two screws take those out and set them asided because they are differnt from the rest.
___Next get a thin flat-head screwdriver and gently pry the metal part from the bottom plastic part, take your time doing this as if you mess up or mhar the plastic ya cant' fix that. there are about 8 litle tabs holding the two parts together. When you get teh Flat-head in there push it so that the plastic part bows out and that will dislodge the tabs.
___After that part is off then there are about 10 little screw that hold that metal to the next piece of plastic, i took those off but you don't really have to.
___With the blue part away from you and the top upwards the part that you are looking for is on the right hand side.
it is a little metal box that is about 1mm x 1mm x 2 or 3mm (its the one that rattles when you shake it.)
___On one end of this box there is a wire that comes out and goes into the green board, on the other end is a large sodder.
___If you look closely at the end with the wire coming out there is a little piece of plastic that separates the metal box and the wire. Using your soddering iron burn some of that plastic away. Then put some dripps of sodder next to the wire so that it goes around the cornner on the green board and touches the metal box.(There are some small holes near by make sure that no sodder dripps down in then.)
___Put it all back together!
___Now that the wire and the metal box touch the remote will only come on when a button is touched.
*___*Also while you have the thing apart, if you want to do a little custom work to your remote you can get one of those cheap see-thru plastic folders of whatever color you want, trace out the shape of the blue piece of your remote(you have to take off the 10 screws to get the blue piece off) then lay your new plastic piece over the orignal blue piece, test to make sure you can stil read the buttons because some folders and some colors you can see-tru. If you can see-tru it then when you put everything back together lay this new piece between the blue piece and the metal and put it all back together and your remote will be your own custom color.

-=*=-This worked for me!!-=*=-
-=*=- If oyu mess anything up don't -=*=-
-=*=-blame it on me.-=*=-
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Paul Bonneau from Montreal, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 56 made on Wednesday July 6, 2005 at 11:28 AM.
Strengths:Great looking for the price
Learning feature
Very easy to program
Movement Sensitivity
Reasonable price
Weaknesses:None so far
Review:After returning a cheaper supposed universal remote I looked at alternatives and this site helped me a lot in deciding what to buy. The critic about the sensitivity of the remote was a bit of a concern but they resolved the problem on the latest 9962 model and you can turn the sensitivity on or off. So easy even my wife can use it now.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tony from Toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 55 made on Thursday June 2, 2005 at 11:45 PM.
Strengths:Nice Looking
Ease of programming
Worked with all my equipment
Works great with Rogers Digital Boxes
Weaknesses:Can't change labels
Light up is sensitive (but can be turned off)
Review:Nice remote that worked with all my equipment with little to no learning in most cases. The remote even surprised me when it replaced my Rogers Cable HDTV remote with ease. The remote comes on too easy but you can set it to turn on with a touch of the screen. Overall I am happy with my purchase.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Nick Herman from Georgia, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 54 made on Tuesday May 31, 2005 at 12:44 AM.
Strengths:Great looking LCD. Controls all my devices seamlessly.
Weaknesses:Short battery life. Too sensitive, lights up way too much from the slightest vibration.
Review:I love this remote for its looks as well as its functions. The only drawback is the battery life due to the sensitivity. I use rechargeable batteries but it goes through them fast. I used the fix posted by David Pollard ([email protected]) so now it only lights up when a button is pressed. Mine is the One For All Kameleon 8 URC-9960 but it had the same switch SW1 which I removed completely. The remote still functions normally except it only lights up when a button is pressed. Thanks David.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by William Martin from Iowa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 53 made on Sunday May 22, 2005 at 6:12 PM.
Strengths: Extremely easy to use. Fairly easy to program. Works on all my devices.
Weaknesses: Extremely easy to use. Fairly easy to program. Works on all my devices.
Review: Extremely easy to use. Fairly easy to program. Works on all my devices. Extremely easy to use. Fairly easy to program. Works on all my devices.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jahn from Alabama.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 52 made on Saturday May 14, 2005 at 6:57 AM.
Strengths:Easy Set-up
Well functioning macros
Easy to learn IR remote commands
Weaknesses:Battery Hog
Limited number of manual learning setings
Only 4 macro settings
A bit large
Sticky buttons
Loud light noise
Review:I have had this remote for a little of 6 months, sufficent time to evaluate. Not a bad remote for most of us trying to eliminate the remote clutter. Has a great look with its stunning blue light. However, you better use recargable batteries and extras on hand. May need replacement in as little as one-two weeks of average use. Slightest vibration turns light on and eats batteries. Some of the buttons are a little hard to push straight on, spacing is a little close. Able to teach it any code used by my other 6 remotes. Limited number of teachable buttons per mode can be a bit aggrivating though. Over all it is a nice remote but looking for a new one now. Changing batteries has just gotten to be too much.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Nic Down from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 51 made on Friday April 8, 2005 at 12:19 PM.
Review:This is a quick note for owners of Mark Levinson Equipment and the ONE FOR ALL 6 remote and ONE FOR ALL KAMELEON (2nd Gen). They do work with ML equipment but you have to learn everything from remote to remote. The ONE FOR ALL's will not learn from the unit itself (ML's have a feature for this)
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse