Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV3000 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV3000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.72/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
102$199
As Sony's top-of-the-line remote control, the powerful RM-AV3000 features control of 18 devices, 45 macros, full learning capabilities, timers, a large LCD touchscreen and a good complement of hard buttons.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|Last >> ]

Written by Darryl from Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 74 made on Friday January 16, 2004 at 2:51 AM.
Strengths:Beautiful design. An elegant addition to any home theatre setup. Additional macro and hard cursor keys a nice addition.
Weaknesses:Contains only "generic" codes, even for Sony products.
Review:I bought this after buying the TA-E9000ES preamp on Ebay w/o the remote. Found out when I got it home that it could not do anyhing but the basic commands- vol +-, "most" of the input selections. Does not contain the codes for controlling the rest of the preamp. Emailed Sony support and that's where I found out that it contains only the generic codes. Seems odd for a top-o-da line 300CDN not to be able to control a high end peice of gear of the same make.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Sherman Pierce from Bellevue, WA USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 73 made on Tuesday January 13, 2004 at 1:27 PM.
Strengths:Easy to learn, worked with almost all of my components.

Nice shape, easy to read and navigate through the menus.
Weaknesses:This is a big one.

No pre-programmed codes for a Loewe (German) Aconda 38" Widescreen.

In addition, the learning function would not work with the Loewe remote.
Review:Not being able to use with my TV defeated the whole purpose of getting this "high powered" remote.

Product was returned.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jamie from Ohio .
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 72 made on Monday January 12, 2004 at 2:05 PM.
Strengths:Works just as advertised!
Weaknesses:Size, Shape & Ergonomics.
Component buttons should be back lit.
Review:This remote is working just as advertised. My wife finds it confusing to use, but she's learning. No lock ups yet and it is so much faster than my RCA Direct TV remote. My only gripe is the size. You really need to hands to work it and I wish the component buttons were back lit as well. Other than that I'd buy this remote again if given the chance. Got it for $102 online. Don't pay the $199 Best Buy is asking. Shop around!

Highly recommended!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Thomas from Chicago.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 71 made on Wednesday December 31, 2003 at 1:33 PM.
Strengths:Easy to program (and reprogram and reprogram again - just takes a couple hours)
Good layout
Weaknesses:Locks up all the time!
resets to factory settings!
looses all custom programming!
Have to clean fingerprints off LCD so it can be read!
Horrible quality!
Review:I bought this remote and the learning function did not work. I took it back to the store and exchanged it for a new one.
The new one worked great. I had it all programmed in a couple hours and loved this remote for the first few months.

I have now owned this remote for about 18 months and will NEVER use it again. It just lost all programming and reset to factory defaults for the fifth time now! This thing is so full of bugs. It locks up (freezes) at LEAST once every couple days. When locked up, I have to remove the batteries in order to get it working again. It also looses all the programming and resets to factory defaults when it locks up.

It is out of warranty and I am out of patience and luck. Please save your self tons of aggravation and DO NOT BUY this piece garbage!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim from Idaho.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 70 made on Wednesday December 31, 2003 at 6:31 AM.
Strengths:This remote has most everything that remotes costing 2x as much money have...
Hard buttons, soft buttons, macros, timers, build quality is great, IR strength is awesome. If you don't need PC connectivity and aren't a customization nut, this is the remote for you!
Weaknesses:Very poor manual (thank god for Remote Central). LCD is pretty much unreadable without the backlight on.
Review:After day one with this remote I almost gave up and returned it. Then I browsed the RemoteCentral font of knowledge and was up and running day 2 without a hiccup. It controls my Pionee Elite system, Sony big screen, old RCA VCR, digital cable box, and all with every function of the original remotes. The macros are great for setting up "One Touch" functionality for my technically inept family. They love it now too. The one missing feature I would like to see, is the ability to create custom labels on the square LCD buttons. All-in-all this is an excellent remote for the money.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Roger Cotton from Memphis, TN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 69 made on Friday December 26, 2003 at 2:31 AM.
Strengths:See full review below. Too many strengths to list here.
Weaknesses:Fingerprints on LCD screen are a bit annoying, but easily overlooked as a minor issue.

The manual seems to lose some key points in the translation. Fortunately, remotecentral.com answered my questions quickly.

Review:Controlled Sony TV and Sony DVD with zero setup required. Preset codes worked great for Kenwood CD changer and Kenwood A/V Receiver. I only had to add the Video3 input to the preset.

I was worried that my Hughes DirecTV/Tivo receiver would cause problems, but 10 minutes spent with the I/R learning feature got me up and running with 100% ability of my Tivo ... including Thumbs Up and Thumbs Down.

This model is much more ergonomic than earlier Sony attempts.

The macro feature ROCKS! 1 button to turn everything on and set the inputs. 1 button to turn everything off.

I'm looking for more I/R things I can add to the house now. I'm looking for I/R ceiling fans, I/R controlled lighting ... anything. This remote will control it all.

My wife found a great deal on it at under $100 online from Buy.com. That sure beats the $199 MSRP. I would never pay $200 for a remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chris from Dayton, Ohio.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 68 made on Thursday December 18, 2003 at 8:09 AM.
Strengths:Easily copied (learned) other remotes codes...
Actually WILL eliminate all the extra remotes sitting around...
Macro programming is awesome for the wife and kids...(dont have to remember which input for this...or that...
Weaknesses:Greasy "Finger Prints" on the LCD screen
Review:WOW! I finally found a remote that will not only replace the 3 I had been using...but it also will start up all my equipment...change to the right inputs...crank up the volume and dim the lights if I want! The finger prints just dont seem like much of an issue anylonger.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse