Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV3000 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV3000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.72/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
102$199
As Sony's top-of-the-line remote control, the powerful RM-AV3000 features control of 18 devices, 45 macros, full learning capabilities, timers, a large LCD touchscreen and a good complement of hard buttons.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by KOOLWATER from Florence, SC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 95 made on Monday October 11, 2004 at 8:03 PM.
Strengths:-Good design
-Easy programing
-Endless capabilities
Weaknesses:-I'm worried about battery life but it seems to be OK as of now, I've only had it for a week.
Review:Very good remote. I am pleased with its capabilities so far. Pricing was a little steep at best buy. I shopped around on the net and got it for less than $80.00.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Luis Ortega from Caracas, Venezuela.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 94 made on Monday September 27, 2004 at 10:30 PM.
Strengths:Great flexibility
All the features you can dream about
Weaknesses:Extremely poorly built
Big size.
Too expensive
Review:I bought this remote expecting it would be my last remote ever. I was extremely happy with its incredibly programming capabilities, I was able to program the remote the way I always wanted. I started to have serious problems abour a year after I got it. Several buttons were requiring more and more preassure to work. I opened and cleaned it and the problem was alliviated for a couple of months and then returned, worse and worse until the buttons just stopped working. Maybe the remote has too much use, having taken the place of 5 other remotes, whatever the cause I was extremely disapointed to have paid so much money for a remote that stopped working within a year. I've seen extremely cheap remotes last longer that this overpriced one. A shame, because of the many features it could have been a great remote, if only they have built it to last.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tony from Massachusetts.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 93 made on Thursday September 2, 2004 at 8:43 AM.
Strengths:Easy to program. Controls every device I own. Easy to use.
Weaknesses:Haven't found any yet.
Review:I have owned this remote for a few months now and I have to say that so far, it is the best purchase that I have made. I had all my equipment programmed 15 minutes out of the box. I am a techy, I work in the field so perhaps it may not be for the "layman" as one person put it. But I find that even a layman could program this remote with a few extra minutes of reading. The learn function takes all of about 10 seconds. You hit "learn" then the component, then the button you want to program followed by the button on the discarded remote. Within 1 second there is a single confirm beep and you're done. Read the book or at the very least, the quick start guide. It will alleviate most of your operating difficulties. Granted the full manual is like learning how to launch the space shuttle but I have yet to see a straight foward manual for any electronics device. With anything comes a bit of learning. Besides that the remote controls everything I own from my Sony gear all the way down through my Panasonic gear (yes and my Bose as well). Haven't had any problems, highly recommended. My only issue is the price. I paid $90 dollars for it when I see that some people got it for $70. Other than that, I will stick with this remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Vadim from NYC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 92 made on Tuesday August 31, 2004 at 11:27 PM.
Strengths:A very capable remote with almost every feature one could wish for.
Weaknesses:Size and price.
Review:I have owned RM-AV3000 for a couple of years. It's pretty clunky, but this makes it also less likely to get misplaced. Still I am able to use it with one hand, and my hands are average size for a male. Other than that, I am reasonably happy with this remote. In the not so distant future we'll probably have the ability to control the devices by simply saying what we want them to do. Short of that, for now this remote gets the job done just fine. I haven't experienced any lockups so cannot comment on that. To address other most common complaints from users of this site, my advice is to read first: if not the lengthy and not very well written Sony manual, then at least the full review of the remote on this site; and if not before using your remote then at least before posting here. The LCD screen is fully customizeable, both its backlighting options and contrast. If you are not keen on changing your batteries too often, then your best bet is to get rid of automated backlighting altogether and use the light button when you actually need it. When you do change batteries, you should wait at least 10 seconds before putting in the new ones, as counterintuitive as this sounds. Then you won't lose any of your programming. Otherwise blame your own ignorance and refrain from posting.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ian from NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 91 made on Tuesday July 13, 2004 at 7:24 PM.
Strengths:captures a lot of commands and relitivly easy to program
Weaknesses:It locks UP!!!! and you lose the program, this is a big inconvince, I would not buy this remote again! If your reading this dont buy one!!!
Review:I bought this remote for a customer who had around 18 remotes for his system. At first it did a good job of controling every thing,
It was OK to program, but i do pro av and am good with this sort of thing, it is not an easy one to program for a layman. My customer has three main rooms in his place that he has av systems, he has a lot of money. We bought a remote control for each room so he didnt have to carry it around all the time and it works well. until it locks up, usually when giving it a command, and then it locks and the comand is output constantly, a big problem if it locks on the volume up button:)
as soon as you take the batteries out you lose your hours of programing, but there is no other way to get it to stop. My problem is that my customer is five hours away, and he's no good at electronics. I now have to drive there and fix the problem which will most likely entail replacing the remotes with more reliable ones sice the problem seems to not go away. I wont buy another sony.
very dissastified!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Greg from Sydney Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 90 made on Thursday June 10, 2004 at 5:45 AM.
Strengths:easy to program. Quick responce from programmed devices
Replaces all my 6 remotes
Weaknesses:Locks up all the time and gets stuck transmitting codes. I have to remove the batteries to reset the device but doing this most of the time it will loose all its reprogrammed codes and have to spend hours reprograming it. Some functions are perminanently enabled for specific devices and can't be disabled. After following instructions I still can't rename the buttons as specified in manual. LCD is hard to keep clean.
Review:Good device ordered from anerica. Paid AU$161 sells for $370rrp. But very problematic and troublesome. Wouldn't recommend anybody buying it.
Easy to program but locks up all the time and looses its programmed when battery removed.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mo from Chicag.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 89 made on Monday May 31, 2004 at 2:50 PM.
Strengths:Sony Commander AV3000
Weaknesses:Does not wotk with any Bose system, I called Sony but no body was able to help me
Review:I have This remote for last two weeks. I
am pretty happy ith the quality of Sony Commander
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse