Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV3000 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV3000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.72/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
102$199
As Sony's top-of-the-line remote control, the powerful RM-AV3000 features control of 18 devices, 45 macros, full learning capabilities, timers, a large LCD touchscreen and a good complement of hard buttons.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 15 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|9|10|11|12|13|14|15 ]

Written by DANNY KASER from DOVER, OHIO.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Tuesday May 7, 2002 at 3:53 PM.
Strengths:OUT OF THE BOX USAGE WITH MY SONY COMPONENTS. I EASILY "LEARNED" A FEW ADDITIONAL "HEAD TO HEAD" COMMANDS TO FURTHER CUSTOMIZE THE PREPROGRAMMED MENUS. NICE!
Weaknesses:AS MENTIONED ELSEWHERE ON THIS SITE, THE MANUAL TENDS TO BE SOMEWHAT CUMBERSOME WITH THE CONSTANT FLIPPING BACK AND FORTH TO FIND THE PROPER PROCEDURE(S) AND PAGE NUMBER(S).
Review:WHEN YOU CAN PUT 8 REMOTES AWAY IN THE CABINET AND CONTROL THE ENTIRE REST OF YOUR HOME ENTERTAINMENT SYSTEM WITH JUST ONE IMPRESSIVE LOOKING UNIT, YOU'VE REALLY GOT SOMETHING THERE. THE RM-AV3000 WAS ABSOLUTELY MONEY WELL SPENT. MY SUGGESTION IS TO READ THROUGH THE MANUAL BRIEFLY WITH A HIGHLIGHTER BEFORE YOU TRY TO PROGRAM ANYTHING. THE MANUAL IS PRINTED IN SUCH A WAY THAT IT IS EASY TO MISS THE SLIGHTEST BIT OF INFORMATION THAT IS CRITICAL TO WHAT YOU ARE TRYING TO PROGRAM. WITH THAT IN MIND, I ALSO RECOMMEND PAPER AND PENCIL WITH WHICH I WROTE DOWN EACH STEP IN ORDER IN MY OWN WORDS. I FOUND THIS VERY HELPFUL WHILE ENTERING A SERIES OF MACROS. MANY OF THE STEPS ARE REPETATIVE AND IT IS EASY TO LOSE YOUR PLACE. WHILE PROGRAMMING THE REMOTE, THE LEARNING CURVE FOR USE PRACTICALLY DISAPPEARS. BY THIS I MEAN, IF YOU ARE THE ONE WHO PROGRAMS THE UNIT, YOU WILL HAVE NO TROUBLE AT ALL OPERATING IT. AS FOR SECONDARY USERS, IT ONLY TAKES A SHORT AMOUNT OF TIME TO GET TO GET TO KNOW THE REMOTE. MY MOTHER-IN-LAW WHO WATCHES MY SONS EACH DAY IN OUR HOME NOW HAS HER VERY OWN BUTTON THAT CONTROLS ONLY THE TV AND THE DIGITAL CABLE BOX. ALL THE NECESSARY OPTIONS HAVE BEEN INCLUDED OR EDITED TO SUIT HER LIMITED NEEDS. "TV 4 MOM" MY 8 DIGIT COMPONENT NAME, ALLOWS HER TO ADJUST THE VOLUME OF THE TV WITH THE VOLUME CONTROL BUTTONS, WHILE THE SAME VOLUME CONTROL BUTTONS IN EVERY OTHER APPLICATION CONTROL THE VOLUME OF THE AMP. I WAS ALSO PLEASED TO FIND THAT MY SONY TiVo WAS ALREADY LOADED IN THE REMOTE. IT'S NOT TERRIBLY COMMON TO SEE CODES AND THE LIKE FOR TiVo RECORDERS YET. SO TO WRAP IT UP WITH A BLANKET STATEMENT, I TIP MY HAT TO SONY WITH THIS PRODUCT. WELL DONE. GET YOURSELF ONE.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark Burdick from Orlando, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Saturday April 13, 2002 at 8:43 PM.
Strengths:Vast recognition of existing components, excellent touch-screen sensitivity, signal strength, easy learning capability, case design (i.e. tilted screen for easy viewing and operating).
Weaknesses:Somewhat confusing instruction manual, but the Sony Remotes forum has been extremely helpful there.
I would like a tad more flexibility in renaming LCD buttons - some of the options don't match my components.
Having to delete a learned function before renaming the button/label is bit cumbersome.
Review:The remote is sleek in its design and controls all my devices. As with any new gadget, there is a learning curve to overcome, but the rewards are plentiful. The confusion of "which button on which remote" is gone! My 5-year-old daughter now has a single button she can press (when Daddy's present, of course) to turn on the Receiver, TV, Cable Box, change the channel to her favorite (PBS Kids), and set the receiver to 6-channel stereo sound! Imagine the confusion for her (and my wife) with six remotes to choose from! Now, one remote does it all!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Steve C. from NYC,NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Saturday April 6, 2002 at 11:36 AM.
Strengths:All negative aspects of he rm-av2100 which I previously owned were addressed by Sony with the release of the rm-av3000
Incredible amount of current IR codes.
LCD has proper feel and touch response.
Layout of Label Keys much more intuitive ie.user friendly.Creating labels, Etc.The Auto Backlight is a complete godsend.
Weaknesses:Like the av2100, Yes, its heavy. But it was designed to be a console remote.The av3000 is thinner and yields a low center of gravity.
It was shipped recently so give me time as I might find something minimally weak . But I doubt it. Sony does extensive consumer polling in the R&D stage of developement.So far this remote has not failed me.
Review:I 'pre-ordered' from J&R on 3/21/04 for $117.00. I had to have it shipped as a result of this price. Ship 4.95 UPS. Since I saved so much, I opted to take the 2 year extended warranty @ 19.95. I live here in NYC so I also paid the tax. No big deal. I have purchased in the past in J&R's HUGE store many times .J&R has a 14 day return policy. Just get an RMA first. Very professional and courteous. I know nothing personaly about Ecost.I hear of nightmare stories however. I do know J&R is a Major SONY Authorized Dealer.
The Remote shipped on 4/2/02 and I recieved it on 4/3/02 10am as the J&R wharehouse is 2 miles from me and the main UPS office is down the block from J&R's wharehouse here in Queens, NY.
I ordered with Scott/x1059 over the phone. His anticipated date was on the money.
(Professional,Reliable,Fast Service)

My Application:
Sony TV 36" Tube (KV-35XBR48)
Denon AV Reciever (AVR-1500)
RCA Directv SAT Box (DRD440RE)
JVC VCR (HR-D530U)
Panasonic VCR (PV-1461)

NOTE: MY DVD player is PC Integrated via TV Video 1, and not directly remote controlled.

The remote is boxed same as the av2100.
The English Manual is:
Part # 3-242-704-12(1)

The separate Component Code Manual is:
Part # 3-242-656-11(1)
Like me, make a copy or two of this in case it is lost or destroyed. Some complained with the av2100 of this separate Code manual. However it is better
to have it this way when you set up the remote. It means less page turning compared to the Main Maual code setting instructions page and the Code list page being in the same manual. I believe separate is better
The Timer/Clock setting alone make this remote leap years ahead of the av2100. This brings Sony a notch closer to the Higher End 'Philips' and others.
I feel the vertical range of the IR might have been narrowed somewhat because of the thin profile of the av3000 vs av2100.
Maybe a weakness, however, I no longer have the av2100 for comparison. I luckily recently sold it for $75.00 on E-Bay like new in box.
I would ask D. Tonks to do his famous
IR test for this comparison.
The Main manual has 103 pages.
Better layout and more intuitive.
The av2100 manual has 75 pages by comparison.
The Label keys are located on the lower
portion of the LCD. 5 labels per screen.
You can name these keys using a combination of 8 characters or digits.
Numbers 1-9, Letters A-Z(lower or upper case) and 40 various symbols. As I did,one can get creative with this layout.

There are no preset DSP keys to uselike the av2100,but you can assign DSP speaker VOL adjustments to the "Cursor Control Hard" buttons with no problems when in AMP Mode.
One could also reassign 'Touch Keys' to do the same DSP functions.
Touch Key response is very fast.
AMP Volume can be set to work in any MODE
display as I use my Denon Reciever to always conrol volume.
Like the av2100 the av3000 manual includes
'Quick Reference of Operations' in the back of the manual. Very helpful.

I did notice something very different from
av2100. The av2100 had 'R' 'L' 'T' writing to the top right face of the Case. The 'T'
meaning Transfer of data between another 'T' designated Sony Remote.
The av3000 only says 'R' 'L'(L for Learning. But NO "T" for Transfer.
The manual does however indicate transfer of data between Two RM-AV3000's. I imagine the New RM-VL1000 would not be "Transfer Compatico" Like the "T" Labeled av2100 and the vl900 were. Dan T., please advise us on this.
I am compelled to get into remote lighting with this remote as it supports several models from Lutron -X10 and those in the middle. I must test this feature out.
My wife who is not VCR programing adept was easily able to navigate the av3000.
I just handed it over and I told her to figure it out. She had it down in no time.
One day spent as a couch potato that she is not, while I was at the job,
and she loved it. She never called me once
for help.
This remote is NOT a Philips etc. It is
much easier to set up I feel than the 'so called blank slate" Prontos. I checked out the ProntoEdit software and Emulator for comparison. Don't get me wrong. One day I 'Will" have a Pronto Pro. But for now I am not willing to go Ultra High End.
I hope Dan T. will do his review along with a tech tip link soon.
I will forward more info as soon as I play with this TOY some more. I'm deciding on exactly how I want my Macros setup.

PS. Did I say the Auto Backlight Function
is a Godsend? It is the Best Sony Feature Improvement for me.
Personally.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Robert Brown from Las Vegas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Friday April 5, 2002 at 9:28 PM.
Strengths:More Component control and the ability to rename the soft components is cool. The addition of the hard menu keys is a real plus with the popularity of dvds being so high. The backlight comes on when you touch the lcd now. alot thinner than the 2100
Weaknesses:I'm in an arm cast and it's still too wide to to hold and operate with one hand
Not as many lcd buttons as before
Review:All in all great remote for the price controls everything i could think of definitly worth the money.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 15 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|9|10|11|12|13|14|15 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse