Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV3000 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV3000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.72/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
102$199
As Sony's top-of-the-line remote control, the powerful RM-AV3000 features control of 18 devices, 45 macros, full learning capabilities, timers, a large LCD touchscreen and a good complement of hard buttons.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Rommie Stone from Tennessee.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 88 made on Sunday May 30, 2004 at 11:46 AM.
Strengths:I wasn't able to take advantage of any product strengths.
Weaknesses:Just a couple important ones. Locks up often. Low contrast touch screen. You have to use two hands to operate it.
Review:I spent many hours trying to program this remote, which was a waist of my time. I carefully read the manual and followed the instructions step by step, but the remote kept locking up on specific steps. I am returning it! I am disappointed in Sony for producing such a poorly engineered remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Adiel Ace Allie from Sydney , Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 87 made on Wednesday May 5, 2004 at 9:28 AM.
Strengths:Gives the user total control - power at your fingertips
Weaknesses:requires a good grade of battery to perform , weaker batteries = loss of distance on remote signal strength

Locks up (see fix below)
Review:This is an awesome site . When I first bought it I was extremely sceptical and believed that it would only pick up my DVD Recorder , as it was brand new . To my amazement it works on a reallllly ol Panasonic VCR , a 10 year old Panasonic TV which had one of the first remotes o come out , back then . And my Satellite pay TV (Foxtel) .

My only problems were :

firstly signal strength , which was fixed once I removed the cheap quality batteries I had inserted.

secondly - the infamous lock up . I read about 30 reviews and thanks to one of the many bight sparks , they suggested the short & long burst method .

After deleting all the keys for the sattelite /cable remote .I set it up again using the short burst which meant I pressed the key on the remote for a quick second rather than waiting for the beep , after letting go it beeps anyway .

Other than this , thus far it is an absolutely awesomne remote . I feel sorry for Sony , who themselves don't know how to fix this problem , which means they'll lose a lot of customers .

MY MOTTO :
Sony = RELIABILITY - Toyota
Only Buy Sony
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joe from Mississauga ON.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 86 made on Wednesday April 21, 2004 at 4:59 PM.
Strengths:1 - Controls all my components (5)
2 - Easy to control components with the macros
3 - High on the WAF. My wife has an easy time with the one touch macro function to turn on/off the components
4 - Great range (does not require line of sight to work)
Weaknesses:1 - Not small enough for on hand control
2 - Screen is difficult to keep clean
Review:I purchased this remote because my wife is technologically challanged. My wife loves this remote and it is making the system(s) work as it was designed. I have not really referred to the manual and found programming the remote extremely straight forward. Definitely recommend this remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by William from oregon.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 85 made on Monday April 12, 2004 at 11:55 PM.
Weaknesses:I also had a problem with the remote locking up repeating the same function over and over. one time it was the volume up button on my new hdtv. Extremely irritating.And sony has been able to give me no help to fix it
Review:waste of money, and risk of damaging tv speakers. I hate having to remove the batteries from this thing to reset it. I have to do it SEVERAL times a week
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by GM Toronto from Toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 84 made on Friday March 26, 2004 at 4:41 PM.
Strengths:- Will control just about anything, and if not, you can teach it.
- Backlight is great, can turn off "beeping" sound.
- Can actually rename functions (at bottom of screen only)
Weaknesses:Keeps jamming up and repeating the same function, over and over. Only way to solve this problem is to take out one of the batteries and put it back in. This is a very, very, very, BIG product weakness. As a result of the continous jamming (which happens about four times a week now), sometimes the memory completely clears and I have to spend 2 hours reprogramming it and then fine tuning it for the next couple of weeks. Only to have to do it all over again the next time it forgets everything.
Review:Not worth buying because of the above. I contacted SONY numerous times and they ignored my request for help. There's a 3100 model out now, but I don't know if they've cleared that problem up. I wouldn't take the chance.

I have to give this a "poor" only because of this weakness and poor cusotmer service...otherwise it would have got an "excellent"!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Torben Rasmussen from Denmark.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 83 made on Monday March 22, 2004 at 10:04 AM.
Strengths:Able to sortoutthe lot of different remote controllerse in use and just dial with one RV-AV3000.
Weaknesses:My wife like it and has occupied it as her own.
A damm good unit,cant find any bad argument at all.
Review:Recommendable to other, but a 24 hours clock and a hook up to the PC for programming would do the unit better
Old Wiking Multimedia
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Roger Graziano from California,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 82 made on Wednesday March 10, 2004 at 11:36 AM.
Strengths:Clear display,ease of use,size
Weaknesses:unable to list cd titles entered in Sony cd carousel
Review:I spent quite a bit of time on this site invetigating this remote, and also time on the Sony site. I own all Sony components, with the exception of my NHT speakers, so the programing was all done with the exception of my satelite, and macros. I don't understand the users that were unable to program or make sense of the manual, I found this product quite easy to use, and well built. I have only one complaint, it is unable to list all the cd titles that I have for the 3 400 cd carousels on my system. The lack of this ability still makes it necesary for me to use the remote unit that came with the cd units.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse