Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.82/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
100$59
This sleek six-device remote features a brand new technology that only illuminates the commands available for the selected device on its colored touch-sensitive panel. Includes learning capabilities and basic macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Peter Winkler from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 100 made on Friday October 6, 2006 at 9:18 PM.
Also owned:Sony RM-VL600
Strengths:Easy to program, entertaining to use.
Weaknesses:Eats batteries, difficult battery relacement routine, overly sensitive motion sensor.
Review:The Kameleon was given to me as a gift. It has an excellent database of codes and I programmed my components easily. I enjoyed the look and feel of the touchscreen with its little faux animated icons. Unfortunately, the excessive battery consumption is a killer. A set of batteries typically lasted a month. I went to the trouble of removing the motion sensor, but bizzarely, the batteries now crap out after about two weeks! The battery replacement routine is cumbersome and a serious design flaw. I'm tired of ordering AAA batteries in bulk to keep the cost down. After living with this remote for over two years, I decided to move on and purchased a Sony RM-VL600.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by abxnightpilot from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 99 made on Saturday February 18, 2006 at 8:18 PM.
Strengths:Look great and JP1 compatible
Weaknesses:Not only is the battery life poor but you need a philips screw driver to open the battery compartment and it takes AAA which most people do not have laying around in a drawer.
Review:It's a good remote for the money. There is plenty of memory for macros. JP1 compatible. Worth the money if you can afford a Costco size pack of AAA's
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by TheMaxster from Wisconsin.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 98 made on Wednesday November 23, 2005 at 2:55 AM.
Strengths:Very flexible
Weaknesses:Battery Life Battery Life Battery Life
Review:To sort the battery life out on this wonderful beast, follow the instructions at this website

http://kameleonrc.blogspot.com

Worked for me.

Max
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by kevin from pittsburgh, pa .
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 97 made on Wednesday August 31, 2005 at 5:42 PM.
Strengths:works many devices , sleek design , cool to look at
Weaknesses:needs batteries every 2 weeks , remote works great , not worth the hassel of putting in batteries every 2 weeks or so , big pain in the ass ! I dont reccommend this remote unless you get a free endless supply of batteries . Keep them next to the recliner , unless you want to constantly get up to fetch them .
Review:remote needs redesigned to not illuminate with sound or motion, kills batteries every 2 weeks
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Pat Highgate from Modesto, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 96 made on Tuesday April 19, 2005 at 9:18 PM.
Strengths:Great styling, good size (not too big, but not so small you lose it), good upgrade ability, doesnít complicate display with unneeded buttons, extensive code database, great tactile feel
Weaknesses:Overly sensitive motion detector, low battery life, difficult to open battery compartment with flimsy cover, limited learning capabilities.
Review:Overall, I like this remote. I purchased it for my system in the bedroom which had too many remotes which kept getting lost. I got it at the local radio shack, where it was on sale for $35, and feel that I got a good value.

As everyone else complains, the sensitivity of the motion detector is set way too high. I typically fall asleep watching a movie or listening to music with the remote on the bed. Any movement in the bed causes the remote to spring to life, and I just havenít been able to get into the habit of putting it on the bedside table.

My biggest criticism is the battery compartment. You need a screwdriver to open it up, and the cover seems to be cheaply made. It acts as a bridge for the batteries, so if that breaks, the remote is pretty much useless without a lot of tape and tin foil. Iíll have to remember to be careful when replacing the batteries (which is too often). Iím not very handy with small electronics, so I donít trust myself enough to disable the motion sensor.

Other people complain about the noise, but I donít see it as a problem. I keep the brightness setting at the lowest level, which provides ample illumination during day or night (I actually wish I could turn it down more). At that setting, I have to put the remote up to my ear to hear it.

I was disappointed with the limited learning functions. When I couldnít find a working code for my satellite receiver, I figured Iíd just program everything from the receiverís remote. Then I discovered that despite the 25 memory slots, only four can be used for each mode. Luckily, the phone upgrade should handle the satelliteís control. Also, it can take quite a few tries to get it to learn a function from another remote. I donít think enough time was put into the programming features of this remote.

I really like the fact that while itís an LCD/membrane remote, it keeps the tactile feel that I like from hard button remotes. When a particular function is on, it only shows the buttons you would likely use for that device, which keeps the display uncluttered and clean. The buttons are big and easy to read.

I wouldnít use it on my main home theater system, but for the simple setup in my bedroom with just an A/V receiver, satellite tuner, DVD player, CD player and television set where I rarely if ever use any ďadvancedĒ features or settings, it works fine. Take care of the motion sensor/battery life issue and the learning features, and it would be perfect.

Highly recommended.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by John N. from Brooklyn, NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 95 made on Thursday April 14, 2005 at 12:14 AM.
Strengths:versatile, sleek, great function, form for a great price.
Weaknesses:obviously not the first to mention this, the motion sensitivity is ridiculous, causing battery life to be a joke.
Review:Bought mine about a month ago on sale at Radio Shack for 30 bucks. For the most part I'm very happy with it. And it's built sturdy. I just don't understand how a mass produced product like this could make it to market with such a glaring bug as the motion sensitivity. I needed to replace the batteries after three weeks. Sometimes it comes to life with absolutely no apparent cause. I am not a gadget freak and I'm not inclined to open up my electronics to make modifications, but for 30 bucks I guess it's worth a try to remove the motion sensor.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Colin Donaghy from Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 94 made on Monday April 11, 2005 at 4:48 AM.
Strengths:Awesome looking - great wow factor
Works for all my remotes
Easy to program
Macros work well
Weaknesses:Battery Life
Price
Screen gets dirty easy
Review:All i have to add is the One for all Kameleon remote urc 8060 is the same as this one, and the best way to extend battery life is to open the thing up and remove ( desolder or cut) the switch labeled SW1.

Works a treat, and you no longer get blinded by the blue light watching a movie when you breath out.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse