Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.82/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
100$59
This sleek six-device remote features a brand new technology that only illuminates the commands available for the selected device on its colored touch-sensitive panel. Includes learning capabilities and basic macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Rodney Perry from Birmingham, AL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 86 made on Friday June 25, 2004 at 3:12 PM.
Weaknesses:BATTERY LIFE, Period. It doesn't matter about the strengths of this remote because of the ridiculously short battery life.
Review:DO NOT PURCHASE!!. It took a couple of months to verify the absurd short battery life and then of course, it was too late to get my money back. NO WAY TO DO BUSINESS AND WILL LIMIT MY SHOPPING AT RADIO SHACK IN THE FUTURE.

Recommendations to manufacturer: Reduce sensitivity and/or add a convenient button to turn on/off the sensitive mode of activation to increase battery life.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Barry Whittingham from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 85 made on Thursday June 10, 2004 at 2:20 PM.
Strengths:Build is excelleent.
My On-Digital Box is hidding above the AV amp with a wood panel in the way and still it controls the unit.
Could read a book by it at night.
Weaknesses:Wished the buttons could be programmed on and off in each mode.
Also to have lettering defined.
No video plus keys.
Review:Only bought it on Tuesday this week.
Controlled a TV,AV amp & On-Digital box within 5 minutes. Could not get Mico DVD recorder to work. Phoned the download No and worked first time.Excellent.
Most places even on the internet charge 60 to 70 pounds for it. But Maplin have them for 49. price of 4 fuction one.
So excellent buy.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dave from Surrey, England.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 84 made on Friday May 28, 2004 at 8:15 AM.
Strengths:Back lit display
Display changes to reflect available functions
Display designed with more than enough generic functions
Weaknesses:BATTERY LIFE, BATTERY LIFE, and er....BATTERY LIFE - Eats batteries - last about 2 weeks a set.
Battery cover needs a screwdriver
Motion sensor MUCH MUCH MUCH too sensitive - comes on if you breath too hard - loud sounds set it off!!!!
Oh, and did I mention battery life is awful
Review:Fantistic remote control in "almost" all respects. By far the best universal remote I've tried - and I've tried a lot. This one actually does everything I want without having to reprogram inappropriate buttons to access necessary functions.

However, the battery life issue really lets it down. I've had the unit for a year now, and have had to replace the batteries every 2-3 weeks, which is VERY VERY expensive. This is made worse as there is NO warning that the batteries are getting low - it just stops working all of a sudden without warning. The underlying problem is that the backlight in the unit is motion sensitive (and the motion sensing cannot be turned off), and is a million times too sensitive - it comes on if the cat sneezes in the next room - so its basically switching itself on and off all day long if there is somebody in the house - seriously walking past a table where it is sitting will set if off its that over-sensitive. I've resorted to buying a charger and 2 sets of NiMh batteries (so I've always got a spare set for when it goes unexpectedly). THIS IS AN ENORMOUS PAIN IN THE ARSE!!!! and made even worse due to how difficult it is to replace the batteries (have to fiddle around with a screwdriver). Would have been so much better if batteries could be charged in the unit itself - ho hum.

All in all, if I'd known a year ago what I know now, I wouldn't have brought the unit, despite how damned good it is in all other areas - the inconvenience of the battery issues totally spoils it.

Anyway - a superbly clever and capable remote, completely spoiled by ridiculous battery life / backlight / motion sensor.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeremy from Provo, UT.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 83 made on Thursday April 8, 2004 at 6:26 PM.
Strengths:I actually returend the 6in1 for the 8in1, operates everything I want to and I was able to do some function moving from device to device
Weaknesses:the 6in1 battery life was horrible, but this one seems to have a tilt turn off feature, which will hopefully make a difference.
Review:I loved my 6in1, but the battery life was killing me and so I went and tried two other universal remotes, but they were awful and so I went back to get the 6in1 again and saw the 8in1. I decided to spend the extra $20 because for my digital cable it would do all that I wanted and then when I got home I discovered that I could turn off the tilt feature, whcich was an added plus. As mentioned above, the function moving is awesome. When I select my cable device I've programmed the remote so that it will only turn off the actual TV when I press power, change my video outputs and operate my VCR, all that without having to change devices. The remote is comfortable and easy to operate in one hand. I find that it's a great vaule compared to other remotes that are twice as much.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Greg from So Cal .
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 82 made on Thursday April 1, 2004 at 4:12 PM.
Strengths:Backlit
Easy to program
Cool looking
Weaknesses:Battery life is TERRIBLE. I read the reviews on this website and thought that people were making a mountian out of a molehill. Its all true though, I had one set last only three days. The thing just turns on and off for no reason.
Review:I went and returned this model for the new 8-1 Kameleon at Radio Shack a few days ago and WOW what a difference. It has a tilt feature which allows you to disable the motion detector and you have to physically touch the screen to make it come on. Hopefully this model will be reviewed soon as it has seemed to fix alot of the problems from the 5-1
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by andre from Tennessee, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 81 made on Tuesday March 23, 2004 at 7:11 PM.
Strengths:Cool look, easy to program,
I loved the phone support they were a little slow to answer, but I got what I needed.
Even my wife uses it over the other remotes.
Weaknesses:Battery life, mostly due to the fact that it will light up when the dog farts!!!

It does not however lose its mind when you change the batteries so its no big deal.
Review:For sixty buck how can you complain, you could be paying twice as much for remotes that have less compatiblity, and just the same battery problems.

Did I mention its really cool and glows in the dark.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rick from Memphis.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 80 made on Monday March 15, 2004 at 1:55 AM.
Strengths:Learns the oddball funtions of my surround/DVD remotes. Strong IR LED(s), I don't have to play sharp shooter to change channels.
Weaknesses:EATS BATTERIES!!! On my fourth set since xmas '03.
The buttons need to be more programable/selectable.
Review:Good remote. Needs the wake up funtion adjusted to less sensitive.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse