Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.82/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
100$59
This sleek six-device remote features a brand new technology that only illuminates the commands available for the selected device on its colored touch-sensitive panel. Includes learning capabilities and basic macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 7 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|4|5|6|7|8|9|10|Last >> ]

Written by CorpKid from Orlando, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 58 made on Thursday September 18, 2003 at 11:08 PM.
Strengths:Looks cool, cheap, pretty easy to program
Weaknesses:Sucks for PVR (Tivo) operation
Review:I paid about $60 for this remote, and while I wasn't expecting a miracle, this remote still falls a bit short of expectations. There is really three big problems I have with it:
1) Tivo control (or other PVR, I imagine). The FF/RW/etc controlís act funny, even after teaching it ALL the motions of the other remote (one by one). E.g. - if you are fast forwarding, you can't hit "play" - you need to hit FF a few more times
2) - The thing doesn't always turn on when I move it! Most of the time it does, - sometimes I have to SHAKE the thing. As you can imagine, itís pretty annoying. 3) - JP-1 upgrading is more difficult than other remotes. I haven't tried yet, but the "kit" requires a few more cables/adapters and I just want ONE simple macro, which isnít possible for me with this remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mike Rife from Denver, CO.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 57 made on Friday September 12, 2003 at 6:36 PM.
Strengths:Easy to config, easy to use
Weaknesses:For $60 bucks? No problem
Review:I have a Pronto and two of the high dollar Sony units. Guess what? My wife won't touch 'em. They are "too complicated" for her to use.

This little guy is different. She is not intimidated or overwhelmed by it. Only 6 devices? That's all she needs. And it looks good sitting on the table. Very cool.

I hear it eats batteries; fine with me as long as my wife will use it, I will buy them by the case.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mike Yim from Scranton, PA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 56 made on Monday September 8, 2003 at 2:42 PM.
Strengths:Looks Good, Almost like a cellphone screen.
Weaknesses:Expencive
Loud Buz sound
Solf at RadioShack
Did not control my Ultimate TV
Clerks did not know how to prorgam Remote
Review:This was worst peice of garbage remote that I ever bot. I was told by stupid clerk that it would do ultimate tv and my samsung dvd and my sony tv, but it not do any of those properly. the tv does not turn off when power his hit, the dvd does not fast forward and NOTHING happens with the ultimate tv. The stupid clerks don't know how to use the stupid lerning fetur! I returned this and am planing to go to best buy to get a real remote!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Guy from Brockport,NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 55 made on Tuesday September 2, 2003 at 1:21 PM.
Strengths:Had codes foe all my equipment
Liked lighted display
Easy to use
Weaknesses:Was not comfortable to hold
Light went out before I was done
Light did not always go on when I picked up remote
Review:At first I liked the 2133 but as I used it more it became more iritaing. When fast forwarding through commercials on
Tivo the light would go out before I was done causing me to overshoot the program and then having to back up. Also I did not like having to switch screens to access functions that should all be on one screen. As far as Macros and using decrete codes it works great.
I also did not like not having buttons to feel. I returnted and ordered a HTM MX-500
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Richard A. Woolgar from Grand Prairie TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 54 made on Tuesday August 26, 2003 at 6:09 PM.
Strengths:+ The fade in and out
+ The look on peoples faces when they first see it.It was the first thing my sister saw when I was showing off my NEW system.YA It's like that!
+ It controls everything I have
Weaknesses:I had to shelf this product at first I couldn't get it into video select mode
Learning problems.Does not learn all
functions of original remotes ~ MAJOR ISSUE
Review:You need to call costomer service and add your name and address to their data base before you can get all your electronic componets to work with one remote.But then
you have nothing bad to say.It all works
you can really program the heck out of this one...I have no notedisable hum?

JUST CALL 1-800-950-7044 for all your advance settings
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Pants from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 53 made on Monday August 25, 2003 at 7:36 AM.
Strengths:Looks, convience, ease of configuration
Weaknesses:Difficulties learning new codes, upgradabilty, price, no external connectivity.
Review:Ordered online from dixons.co.uk for ~GBP 63 inc P&P.

The first remote drained two set of batteries inside an evening, spoke to CS turned out to be an issue with intial batch, (you need to check version numbers on circuit board in the battery slot). Took remote back to High St Dixons who replaced it no questions asked.

Now I'm very happy with it now took little time to set up. Customer Service has been quick plesant and helpful. My Wife is in heaven as we can now file away the TV,DVD.STB,AV,other OFA remotes. It looks good, the macros are handy ... basically it does exactly what it says on the tin and I don't have to spend GBP 300 on a Pronto which can't even control my Telewest Box (Pace DiTV 1000) on it's own.

The only real problem I have had was with my Nakamichi AV10. The d/l on the website did not work for it but the phone upgrade did, dunno why all the uprgades are not on the website? Personally I found I had some difficulties learning the codes for the Amp, I found it much easier to ring CS and get the Key Magic code.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Steve from Melbourne.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 52 made on Thursday August 21, 2003 at 1:06 AM.
Strengths:Nice appearence and feel.
Weaknesses:Learning problems.
Does not learn all functions of original remotes ~ MAJOR ISSUE!
Review:Fails to learn the majority of functions of original remotes. Brands: Hitachi Rear Projection TV, Samsung VCR, Dennon DVD, Panasonic VCR, for example, only a small number of controls could be learnt. Failed to lean many keys. In some cases, the unit would not learn any of the original remotes functions. Only on the Onkyo home theatre unit did the unit learn most of the keys. Successfully download updates, but the unit still failed.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 7 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|4|5|6|7|8|9|10|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse