Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.82/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
100$59
This sleek six-device remote features a brand new technology that only illuminates the commands available for the selected device on its colored touch-sensitive panel. Includes learning capabilities and basic macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Rob Wild from MN,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 93 made on Thursday February 17, 2005 at 9:16 AM.
Strengths:Upgrade over the telephone. Abiltiy to handle X10 extended code. Volume lock. IR learning ability. Touch pad is easy to use and see in all light conditions.
Weaknesses:Battery life is short without disabling (removing) the motion sensor.
Review:I have been using this remote for about 1 year I guess and I have been extremely happy with it. Just recently I upgraded the remote to be used with my Motorola/Moxi DVR. Tech support is outstanding, even a year later. I also have recently programed the remote to preform X10 commands on the CD function of the remote. You can call tech support for the extended codes that are not available with 0167. (DIM, Bright, 1-15, All on, All off and Alarm codes too. If you remove the motion sensor it will lengthen the battery life by 90%! You will need to press the remote to come on if you remove the sensor, which is really not a big deal.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Linn Ipock from North Carolina.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 92 made on Saturday January 1, 2005 at 2:19 PM.
Strengths:I like the uniquness, The usability and the options on this remote. Better than most.
Weaknesses:The battery life is severely short
Review:I have had the 15-2133 for over a year now. The remote is amazingly simple to use and program, the battery life is amazingly short. After going through a series of energizer and duracell batterys I decicided to go to the more economical route and buy some NiMH batterys. I bought 8 batterys and always have a spare set in the charger. Batterys last no more than a week because when you bump the remote, walk in the room or pick it up, the motion sensor lights up (Although very useful if you lose the remote often like in our house).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeff from Toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 91 made on Thursday December 30, 2004 at 8:23 PM.
Strengths:Easy to setup. Clean interface for programing. Learn Keys. Works with all types of devices, X10, Dlink Media Lounge and so on.
Weaknesses:Limited Learn Keys 16-25,
Review:I purchased The 8-1 from Radio Shack. I had four remotes to convert. Done in mins. Also had other remotes that needed to be learned. I would say this remote will meet anyones needs. You can turn on and off a lots of the toys to save battery life. I would rate it an 8-10
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joe from Illinois,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 90 made on Saturday November 27, 2004 at 11:25 PM.
Strengths:VERY EASY TO USE AND SET UP
BATTERY PROBLEM FIXED!!!!!!!!
EASY TO RIP THE "SW1" MOTION SENSOR OUT!!!
Weaknesses:HAD TO CALL IN FOR REMOTE CODES ON SONY DVD AND VCR COMBO.
BATTERIES, BATTERIES, BATTERIES.....
Review:I RECEIVED THIS REMOTE FOR CHRISTMAS '03
EVER SINCE I USED IT I LOVED IT.
EATING BATTERIES BAD I TURNED TO THE INTERNET FOR HELP I READ ANOTHER REVIEW ON THE BACKLIGHT DISPLAY AND THE REVIEW SAID TO UNSOLDER TH "SW1" MOTION SENSOR
SO I OPENED IT UP AND RIPPED IT OUT. WHAT A PISS POOR DESIGN FOR A MOTION SENSOR A BALLBEARING RATTLING INSIDE A CASE!!!!!!!!! WHAT THE HELL WERE THE THINKING. WORKS GREAT NOW, ALL YA HAVE TO DO IS TOUCH THE SCREEN NOW. NO MORE EATING BATTERIES EVERY FIVE TO TEN DAYS.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chris from NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 89 made on Thursday October 21, 2004 at 3:33 PM.
Strengths:design
updatable
Weaknesses:physical strength
availabel buttons per device
Review:A remote should be able to take a bit of abuse... at least tolerate normal use..

Honestly I think this remote is a weak choice. Mine broke within 3 months. I'm not exactly sure how or why, but now it continually blinks on every button push.

I got it because i thought it was a slick cool design, touch screen too. but it's in actuallity a touch vynl remote, and over all construction is poor...
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dom from Switzerland.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 88 made on Friday October 15, 2004 at 9:39 AM.
Strengths:Design
Learning
Weaknesses:Battery life!
Review:As many people said it before me, the battery life is a real problem. But i found out how to save some batteries! Just open the remote, then you have to un-solder the "SW1" micro-sensor, so the remote will only light-up when you press the display.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by alan from Houston, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 87 made on Monday October 11, 2004 at 3:09 PM.
Strengths:-Can be reprogrammed for new devices thru Customer Service.
-Minimize button confusion among all devices
Weaknesses:-Battery life (See complete review below)
-Battery compartment (needs screw driver)
-Does not have controls for all features of my Time Warner Digital Video Recorder SA8000
Review:Got a Sony Home Theater System last Christmas so I had multiple remotes to juggle. Shopped around and bought this unit. It does everything I want it to (then) so I bought another for my wife (for her to use when I fell asleep!). She wanted one button on/off/chnl chg/volume for all devices (no techie, she!) and the macro function worked well for that. Then I got TW DVR last month and found that their SA8000 Universal Remote did everything the Radio Shack did, AND controlled the DVR better. Seems there are three buttons (A, B, and C) used to select menu functions within the recording function and there is no direct provision on the RS model for them. I could use the Macro function, but then I'd probably forget which was A, etc. Actually, the SA8000 remote is better than the Radio Shack, although the multiplicity of buttons confuses my wife, so she continues to use her RS for her (minimal) needs.
Other than that, battery life is a problem. When the battery goes south, the remote doesn't just quit, it does squirelly things that don't make sense and you really wonder if it's broke. Instead, time to change the batteries (3 times in 9 months, average). I could recommend this, with reservations. It's better than most. I particullarly (sp?) like the 'only shows buttons you need' feature.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse