Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.82/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
100$59
This sleek six-device remote features a brand new technology that only illuminates the commands available for the selected device on its colored touch-sensitive panel. Includes learning capabilities and basic macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 4 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Rob Rothwell from Edinburgh UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 79 made on Wednesday March 10, 2004 at 9:45 AM.
Strengths:Ease of use & set-up.
Funky Design
Weaknesses:Battery life
The odd quirk
Review:Bought this originally to operate 6 devices (Toshiba TV, Matsui VCR, Philips DVD, Philips Receiver, Pioneer Digibox, Denon HiFi) set up took ten minutes to get all devices working perfectly. Bit of fiddling and i had my volume push through and macros to da nines. ahem. Have upgraded VCR, Receiver, Digibox and DVD since then and had no difficulties, except the receiver. None of the codes for Sony receivers would work for mine. Called customer support, held my phone up to the remote and boom! i had control of my receiver. This is the most joyously geeky moment of my life. Downsides:- using alkaline batteries every few weeks proved to be pricey, so invested in a wee battery charger and some NiMH batteries, dont last as long per charge, but i can use them for years. My remote has also developed the odd tendency to flicker between button presses, but that could be because it regularly ends up trashed on the floor of an evening. All in all, a first rate product, that gives you the smug satisfaction that only overwhelming geekdom can.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Darth Andy from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 78 made on Monday March 1, 2004 at 2:14 PM.
Strengths:Preset codes and learning functions.
Looks cool.
Weaknesses:Noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise, noise,
Review:I got mine this afternoon, and it's going back as soon as the shops open tomorrow. I just couldn't put up with the noise - a contunual buzzing whilst it's on.

Bunch of Arse if you ask me.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim Bates from Naples, Fl, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 77 made on Saturday February 28, 2004 at 9:02 AM.
Strengths:This remote is cool to look at and easily controls all of my devices. I recently upgraded almost every electronic device so my DVD etc is all on the new side.
Weaknesses:This thing runs through batteries like a ripsaw. Since sensitivity is not adjustable, the thing will turn itself on for no reason and just sit there, running down the batteries. The last set lasted 10 days.
Review:Currently the product is sitting unused since I am tired of the battery problem. Response from the company is generic and slow. The remote is too expensive to have these basic power issues. Dont buy it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by R Bueti from New York, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 76 made on Sunday February 22, 2004 at 12:18 AM.
Strengths:The only advantage is getting the power button to turn on more than one device.
Weaknesses:There are many weaknesses to this remote. I believe the main weakness is how Radio Shack could put this on the market with all its flaws.
Review:I've owned this remote for 3 months. After having a radio shack remote for about ten years with good service, it finaly hit the floor one too many times and became useless. With the electronic devices I used it became a daunting effort to find a replacement out of the Radio Shack catalog. Two devices I bought and had to return because they did not have the codes I needed to run my TV and Stereo and could not be upgraded. The salesman talked me into getting the Kameleon, at a price I thought was extravegant. I had to upgrade the codes right away calling the Radio Shack 800 number and that took three calls and about an hours worth of time to get the right codes. Finally getting the remote to work I was pleased and thought I had won the battle. Until I noticed the remote has a sensitivity to movent within the room. It is constantly turning on if I even walk through the room and it is sitting on the sofa. Because of this extreme sensitivity I have now gone through three sets of batteries, that's a total of twelve in just three months. That is no good, and costly and a pure pain in the arse. I am so used to replacing batteries in the old remote (2 AAA's) once a year!! Come on Radio Shack!!!! There is no way to adjust the sensitivity, and I am afraid I am going to have to eat this one.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Lee Mather from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 75 made on Sunday February 15, 2004 at 4:09 AM.
Strengths:Looks, Easy of use, massive code library, ability to learn of other remotes, internet upgradable, Price.
Weaknesses:None
Review:Don't let the negative comments from some reviewers put you off buying one of these babies, i couldn't be happier with my purchase.

Here's my view on some of the common complaints about this remote:

The remote buzzes: only if you put it to you ear - big deal!

Poor Battery Life: Of course your remotes first set of batteries wont last that long, you spend a few hours setting this thing up with the screen constantly lit and mine came with batteries already inside (it will have been switching itself on in the post). I'd be much more interested to see how long the second lot of batteries last. Even if they only last a couple of months, you can buy a battery charger and rechargable batteries for under a 10 these days.

Believe me this remote will perform all the functions you need and look super cool for less than 50 (bought mine off ebay). Sure some more expensive remotes offer more functionality but do you really want to spend more than 50 on a remote control? - i know i didn't.

Buy one now!

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Michae; Hill from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 74 made on Sunday February 8, 2004 at 10:09 PM.
Strengths:Operates everything & online assistance is excellent.
Weaknesses:None at all strong in all areas.
Review:Finest remote in any price range does everthing truly the last remote you will need.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Paul from Hoboken, NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 73 made on Wednesday February 4, 2004 at 10:37 PM.
Strengths:Great Style
Cool Blue Illumination
Decent Macros (4)
2 IR beams so aiming isn't critical
Upgradable by phone
Weaknesses:Only 4 Macros
No macros for power on
Won't learn from some remotes
SLOW (250-500ms?) between steps
Upgrade by phone is only from 9-5
Wish some of the screens would show channel volume AND arrows (duh) like PVR and Cable modes.
Review:I bought this because of some of remotecentral.com reviews about this being pretty good. I agree - overall it is a very cool remote, good price ($60 at Radio Shack), and upgradable by phone.

I have a Panasonic Plasma, SA Explorer 4200HD, HK AVR230, ReplayTV 5040 and a PS2 as dvd/game. I could get it to work with everything and setup macros (M3,M4) to power up and down everything. All was fine, but....

I could not get the OFF to learn from the HK remote. Called upgrade line (from work b/c they are open only from 9-5 very bad customer service - and hold time of 15+ min) and they uploaded a code for that and a new ReplayTV code. Well the power code for the HK is different for ON and OFF. Didn't work, but OFF was found on button 2. So with a bit of a macro I did get and ON and OFF command. However I didn't have enough 'memory' to have my other commands (change cable box to 1080 mode, and Auto stop Replaytv when it starts recording when I am watching tv). But they did update the remote over the phone and that was both cool and did work. However I wish they just allowed downloads of the .wav files like they do in Europe (from what i heard)

Anyway it is a great remote, just slow though too. You can't channel surf fast and sometimes like if you press 022 fast you will only get 02 and it is waiting for the other 2. The speed is not adjustable. So it isn't a 'fast' remote.

I did not have the light problems others have said. I think the lighting and the tap to start light is a great idea and well implemented. Batteries go a good 4 month maybe 6 months.

Good looking, functional but with drawbacks but well worth the 60 bucks.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 4 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse