Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.82/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
100$59
This sleek six-device remote features a brand new technology that only illuminates the commands available for the selected device on its colored touch-sensitive panel. Includes learning capabilities and basic macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|Last >> ]

Written by Triple-D from Essen, Germany.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 72 made on Sunday February 1, 2004 at 8:06 PM.
Strengths:- stylish design
- interessting keyboard
- nice illumination
- easy to learn
Weaknesses:- some commands don't work
- illogical menues
- sticky buttons
- buzzes
- almost always illuminated
- wobbly
- battery compartment
Review:I got this very stylish device a view weeks ago and it replaces 7 remotes of my home entertainment system.

It's called One for All Kameleon 6/URC-8060 in Germany, but it's the same device as the US Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon .

Programming was no problem. Although some devices were not listed in the database, there were alternative devices which fitted to the original ones. Because only genral commands are supported, I had to manually learn some extra functions to unused keys of the remote, just like display mode, counter reset, auto monitor etc.

What I don't understand is why for some devices (especially the DVD) some unused buttons as well as the second menu page are not available to program, while for other devices (e.g. TV) they are.

Because you can't label the keys, I had to take notes on a paper to remember wich button does which function. It's something like a crossword puzzle to learn :)

The remote works fine in that way that almost all commands work correct, execpt for a few commands concerning my TV (Loewe Aventos 3970ZW) and DVD (Yamaha DVD-S540).

The film keyboard ist very sticky (takes few seconds untill pressed key is relocked).

Illumination is very nice, but
during illumination the device buzzes. The main problem with the illumination is that it is almost always active, due to the motion sensor which is very sensitive. Already walking in the room or touching the table causes the remote to illuminate. Therefore I keep it on a pillow of my sofa.

Another problem is that when the remote is just on the table, you can't press any buttons which are located on the left and right border of the remote, because of the curved bottom.

Changing batteries is complicated bacause the battery door is locked with a screw. Why that?

All in all I'm not very satsisfied with this remote because of inaccesible menus, failing commands and because I find out that I prefer hard buttons instead of sensor buttons. So I just orderd the URC MX-700 and hope that it will satisfy me.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by David S from California, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 71 made on Thursday January 29, 2004 at 8:55 PM.
Strengths:- Innovative Display
- Large Buttons
Weaknesses:- Very limited learning memory
- Too limited to replace your other remotes
- Too limited for home theater
- Too limited if pre-programmed code unavailable for your component
- Battery Life
Review:It took me 30 minutes of attempted set-up to exceed the memory capabilities of this device -- even for components that I had codes for. This remote can only hold 25 learned codes total - it can't replace more than 2-3 other remotes for real world use.

I have 5 components to control (TV, DVD, CD, HT Receiver, SAT). I used the pre-programmed codes for the DVD and HT Receiver, but needed to add additional common functions (e.g., input selection for receiver). I maxed out the memory with these two components alone. I had to wipe out the memory completely (which was a pain), and pick a few limited additional buttons. Of course, that meant I had to reach for my OEM remotes often -- THIS IS NOT A REPLACEMENT UNIVERSAL REMOTE!

Next up was my CD player, which did not have a preprogrammed code available. I quickly realized that there weren't enough total memory slots (25) to program even the basic buttons.

It is a foregone conclusion that if you have a home theater system, there is no way the Kameleon can replace your remotes.

The display is very cool and not hard get used to. Large button areas made big thumbs a non-issue.

Bottom line -- it needs double the learning memory to function as a real-world entry-level learning remote, and maybe 3x to 4x to truly replace 5-6 remotes and work in a home theater system.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Stephen Dawson from Manchester, United Kingdom.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 70 made on Thursday January 29, 2004 at 7:12 AM.
Strengths:Looks the part
Weaknesses:Very expensive with dollar-pound price [around 60 in UK, about US$100]. Not enough devices [I have 4 VCR's, 1 DVD & planning DVD recorder, Freeview [terrestial satallite] plus TV.
Review:Disappointed by small but annoying design features [e.g., not enough replacement options for those of us with more than 1 DVD/VCR/TV etc.]. Would expect to see its upgrade/replacement cater for many more devices, such that if more than 1 DVD programmed pressing the DVD button on the remote will light up-to 10 number keys [one per DVD]. OK, that means pressing 2 buttons to select your DVD/VCR etc. but the idea of the single remote is to perform this job.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mischa from Southern NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 69 made on Monday January 19, 2004 at 10:53 AM.
Strengths:When it works, it works well. It's cool, it works most of my gadgets, the backlight works well (with a slight buzzing that's not too irritating), and it's very easy to use.
Weaknesses:It hardly ever works.
Review:Here's the short of it: Got the first one as an Xmas gift from my boyfriend on Xmas Eve. Remote started going wacko on the 30th and just kept blinking - I couldn't do anything to stop it, though it eventually did stop when the batteries died. Took it back and exchanged it on January 5th or so. Now here we are 2 weeks later and the same thing has happened yet again. This remote is an awe-inspiring thing of beauty when it works, but this is the 2nd time it's died in less than a month.

And I'm not the only one - the bf bought this after one of his friends purchased the same remote and raved about its features. The person bought the same remote from a different store about a week earlier, and is now on his 4th remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bill J. from CA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 68 made on Monday January 12, 2004 at 3:44 PM.
Strengths:-sleek size and shape;
-good "fit in hand" ergonomics;
-quite intuitive interface if you have any savvy re: techtoys;
-works as advertised!
Weaknesses:-battery life
-battery life
-battery life, and
-battery life
Review:Great realization of an idea whose time has been overdue for a while now. Programming it may be a bit cumbersome for those with many devices or devices non-standard (by the product developers' definition.

BUT, the biggest weakness by far--and a big enough one to dissuade all but the most motivated user-- is the device's outrageous appetite for power. Do not expect matteries to last longer than a couple of weeks, or even just a few days if you have dogs, because they seem to have used Viagra in the motion-detection Power switch. This thing turns on when a slight breeze blows across it! For goodness sakes, designers, put an on/off switch on the darned thing! But, if you're like me and still want to use it,keep four AAAs on the recharger all the time. Sheesh, what a bummer, the best UI since Tivo and anyone without Dilithium crystals is headed to the poorhouse upon purchase.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Scott from Pennsylvania, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 67 made on Sunday January 4, 2004 at 10:14 PM.
Strengths:Great look and feel, especially in a dark room. Fades nicely for a cool effect.
Easy to set up and use.
Layout changes based on mode selected (e.g. DVD,Cable).
Great compromise between button only and display remotes - seems to have best of both worlds.
Good price - 60$.

Weaknesses:Slight buzzing noise as others have noted.
Only four 'macro' buttons.
I've read that it chews up batteries but waiting to see for myself how bad this is.
Activates very easily with slightest vibration but isn't problem as long as batteries don't die to quickly.
Battery case is a bit tough to remove.
For the DVD mode the four-way button is on the second screen for some reason, requiring an additional keystroke.
Review:I read quite a few reviews here before deciding on this remote and overall I am more satisfied than I thought I would be.

After reading about the remote being in Radio Shack, I ran over and purchased what I THOUGHT was this one. Turns out they have an older model (2136) that only operates 4 devices that you don't want. I returned it for this 6 device one but be careful if you go in to buy yourself.

The remote itself is awesome to look at and I love the color and fade ability. I would recommend you lowering the brightness to the lowest number since that is good enough and it reduces the buzz\battery usage. The buzz is not bad and only from within two feet of my ear can I even detect it.

Setup was easy and even my digital cable worked with the manufacturer's setup code provides. I have a JVC DVD\VHS combo, Pioneer receiver, Sony TV, and Comcast digit cable all going without any problems. I set up some macros to turn on\off the various components and change video modes and channels that helps quite a bit. I did read other reviews that say some more complex setups or equipment won't work but my basic setup was easy.

Overall I am happy with the remote and its cool look and feel. For the $60 price I don't think you can do much better. I always liked the touchscreen remotes in idea but when using at friends houses they are a pain to follow and figure out. This one as mentioned changes based on the component selected but keeps the button simplicity and makes it very usable.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by shrik from tuscaloosa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 66 made on Sunday January 4, 2004 at 1:49 PM.
Review:i lost the reomte for a RCA HTS-1000 Home theater system. tried several Universal remotes. the universe is not big enough to accomodate the code for the RCA HTS-1000. this system does not work with any remote. so please beware of this problem when you buy this home theater system.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse