Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.82/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
100$59
This sleek six-device remote features a brand new technology that only illuminates the commands available for the selected device on its colored touch-sensitive panel. Includes learning capabilities and basic macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|Last >> ]

Written by BikeBum from New Jersey, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 65 made on Wednesday December 31, 2003 at 4:47 PM.
Strengths:Very good ergonomics.
Very large "buttons".
Provides basic controls for a moderately complex Home Theater system.
Good Price/Performance ratio.
Weaknesses:Limited memory and macros.
Can't customize button labels.
Lights up too easily.
Review:This is the first inexpensive remote that I have found that can control each component of my Home Theater. RS tech support had to add a code for my brand DVD player, but the fact that they can do this with a $60 remote is awesome.

With a little thoughtful macro programming, my wife and 7 year old daughter can now run the HT with no assistance from me. The uncluttered layout is a fair trade off for the lack of hard buttons. It's a beautiful thing!

If you need one remote that can do everything, this remote may not suit you. But if you need a remote that the entire family can use to control the functions that everyone uses, I can't image a better remote. (Well maybe if this remote had a few more macros and custom button labels!)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by John from CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 64 made on Saturday November 29, 2003 at 1:42 AM.
Strengths:Looks cool, easy to use
Weaknesses:Doesn't support everything. Quircky button sequences. Buzzing sound.
Review:I thought this would be the end-all remote for me as it controlled TVs, DBSs, DVD players, and Tivo. While it appeared to do most of these, I couldn't get it to work right with my Phillips DirecTV receiver. I also had issues with my Aiwa DVD player working with this remote.

There was also a buzzing sound coming from the unit when it was used. This is a known issue (defect?) with this model.

I returned the remote after one day of use, so I can't say if customer support would've been able to upload the correct code for me.

Regardless, after the trouble I had with this remote, the decision was made to return it. Give it a try...you have 30 days to return it at Radio Shack if you don't like it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by TODD MOSHER from PORTLAND, MAINE.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 63 made on Sunday November 23, 2003 at 7:56 AM.
Strengths:WIFE LOVES !
EASY TO USE AND PROGRAM
VERY VERY COOL LOOKING
Lights up when watching movie
Bargain for $59.99 !
Weaknesses:Lights up at the slightest vibration
Review:I've only owned this for a week - but this is THE first remote that everyone in the family loves - and the neighbors "oooh" when they see it.

Very easy to program - and my wife loves the MACROS. I had this up and running in about five minutes.

You can't beat the price - and having the ability to use the support center to update the codes is an added bonus.

Hats off to Radio Shack on this one !

A WINNER - Buy it - you won't be disappointed !
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Steve from California, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 62 made on Sunday November 16, 2003 at 3:59 PM.
Strengths:Looks cool and high tech,
Weaknesses:After product upgrade it still won't control all devices you may need it for(my cable box). Light turn off to quickly.
Review:I think product is a cool idea, but can be improved on. Like maybe allowing for you to program your own custom keys to match the remote you are replacing.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bruce Kaspari from Sacramento.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 61 made on Monday October 20, 2003 at 8:26 PM.
Strengths:Operates my Dishnetwork system.
Weaknesses:I am disappointed in this product's code selections.
Review:I bought a Kameleon today after reading this forum. I does not have codes compatible with my brand new Sony AV system (STR-DE695) nor is it compatible with my brand new GoVideo DVD/VHS combo (DV213). It will operate my Mitsubishi 55" wide screen and my Dish Network receiver but that is all. It goes back tomorrow.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mr Guy from Toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 60 made on Tuesday October 14, 2003 at 8:52 AM.
Strengths:price, macros, backlighting, ease of Use
Weaknesses:subscreens, the buzz, unpredictable lighting, limited memory
Review:Whatever this remote's shortcomings, one must remember that it's actually a lot of remote for the price: it's easy to set up and use, and it looks cool on the coffee table.

Still, there is much room for improvement. There is no ergonomic reason why there should be two screens for each device. Given that all DVD remotes have audio/zoom/subtitle buttons, these should be replicated in the DVD screens. The buzz emitted when the 15-2133 is lit is annoying and is a design flaw in an otherwise well thought out product. Finally, Radio Shack/URC should be bundling JP1 cables and software with their remotes, which would make setup (and upgrading) easier and improve user satisfaction.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by dad628 from Tennessee.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 59 made on Wednesday September 24, 2003 at 9:00 PM.
Strengths:Great for the simple minded..ie, wife and daughter.
A true "universal" controller, works everything I own.
Appearance
Weaknesses:Very short battery life
Review:Easy to use...even my one button wife has no problem with it. The only things I do not like about it is;
It is tooo sensitive to motion, just walking by the coffee table will turn it on which also contributes to the second dislike.. even with rechargable 700mah NMH batteries, the average life is about two weeks!
Other than that....LOVE IT!
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 15 for
the Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse