Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-700 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-700
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.52/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
43$349
The MX-700 is an enhanced version of URC's venerable MX-500 remote control, featuring complete computer programmability via the MX Editor software package. Althouh the MX-700 was originally targeted to custom installers, it can be purchased in a discounted version without the MX-200 SideKick.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Written by Jim Christian from LA, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 8 made on Tuesday July 16, 2002 at 5:56 PM.
Strengths:1. Buttons
2. PC software
3. Thumbwheel
4. Looks and feel
5. Backlight
6. 20 devices
7. Plenty of memory for learns and macros
8. The best TiVo remote available other than the MX-500
9. The best 4DTV BUD remote, by far
10. Great docs and DL site
11. Superb support here and at their 800#
12. Key feel
Weaknesses:1. No in-remote programming - shucks!
2. 7-16-02 release of PC software has manageable bugs and crashes.
3. Useless (to me) add'l small remote
4. Price
5. The origianl MX-500 thumbpad was far better.
6. Liked to have all the number keys allow a macro
7. Did I say it is ~$400 street?
Review:
I use this superb MX-700 remote in my home theater, as I am a button guy. In the past I have owned the:

a.Sony RM-AV2000
b.Sony RM-AV2100
c.Pronto TSU1000
d.Pronto TSU2000
e.URC MX500
f.Ucommand 515
g.Sony RM-VL900 and RM-V300
h.Radio Shack 15-1994 with JP1 cable

and the MX series get my money. No other remote control can control my ~20 device home system like the MX-700.

The MX-700 weighs a few ounces more than the MX-500 due to the 2-additional batteries but that is not a big deal to me. It is, though, one the largest remote controls due it being a button-focused remote.

Due to its size one might think it is a tabletop remote but it is not, well, not as far as the Device buttons are concerned. The bottom is not the width as the top so when resting on a table-top and one pushes a Device button the unit topples over. I have solved this problem by Velcroing it to my easy chairs end table. Ugly, but it works.

The spec’s of the Home Theater Master® MX-700 Dual Remote System are below copied from their web site with my comments:

Controls Up To 20 Components
The MX-700 controls up to 20 components. Each of the 20 components can be programmed with up to 4 pages of LCD screens.

(NOTE: Yes, the unit can control 20 devices but that’s
all you can have in the MX Edit program too, unfornately.
I wish I could pick shortcuts from as many devices I
want in the program.)

(NOTE: The MAIN page can be used for another device
but there is no LCD panel for it. This then totals 21.)


Easy To Program
A custom installer can use the MX-700 system software to quickly design a remote control program to meet their exact needs in minutes. The programming package also offers the Programming Wizard to lead the first time programmer step by step through the customization process.

Windows Based PC Software
The MX-700 allows you to tailor the text on each of the 87 LCD screens exactly as needed for every customer.

Extensive Macro Programming
The powerful memory of both the SideKick and the MX-700 offers over 900 macro buttons. Each macro button can send out up to 190 steps. The macro programming also includes numerous time delays as well as jump features to insure maximum flexibility.

50 Favorite Channels
The MX-700 allows the user to program up to 50 favorite channels and the LCD screen will display the favorite channels that are programmed. This allows the users to access their favorite channel with one simple button press.

Software Package With Over 1,000 IR Codes
The MX-700 and its software package contain over 1,000 IR codes including hard to find and specific discreet codes that allow for precise control of all system components. The MX-700 also has the ability to learn over 1,500 new commands.

Ergonomic Design
The strategically located buttons and ergonomic design of both the MX-700 and the SideKick make the operation of the most advanced system a pure pleasure.

(NOTE: I’m not a fan of the SideKick and the MX-500 was
better laid out for TiVo users.)


EL Back Lighting
The bright backlight using the latest EL technology enables a customer to use both remote control units in a low light environment.

(NOTE: If you can afford it the MX-500/700 makes
for the best bedroom remote due to the superb backlight
they have.)


Memory Back-Up
The MX-700 system features a smart memory back-up system that will retain the programmed memory for up to ten years, even with dead batteries.

(NOTE: You are also backed up to your PC layout)


Centrally Located Joystick
The centrally located Joystick helps the user navigate through menus and guides with ease, a very convenient feature for DVD players, Satellite and Cable TV and Personal Video Recorders.

(NOTE: This is the best feature of the MX-500 and MX-700.)


Gemstone™ Buttons
The GemStone buttons have a look and feel that instantly appeals to the customer. Unlike standard rubber buttons, these GemStone buttons add a very distinguished look to the remote controls that will compliment any high-end system.

Sidekick™
The SideKick remote control has the ability to copy macro commands from the MX-700 to provide simplified operation of the customer's system. Now every member of the family can enjoy their home theater system with ease. The SideKick could be used simply to turn on the TV or as an advanced system control sending out up to 190 macro commands from each button.

(NOTE: I haven’t found a good use for this yet.)


MX-700 Features/Specifications:
LCD Screen Size:1.4" x 2.1"

Range:MX-700/200 - 40-60 feet depending upon components

Batteries:MX-700 - 4 AAA alkaline (Duracell’s Included) MX-200 - 2 AAA alkaline (Duracell’s Included)

Dimensions:MX-700 - 9.0" x 3.0" x 1.3" (L x W x H) MX-200 - 5.8" x 1.7" x 1.3" (L x W x H)

Weight:MX-700 - 8oz (with batteries) MX-200 - 5oz (with batteries)

Warranty:1 year parts & labor

List Price:$499.99


A. MY DEVICES:

1. I use the MX-700 with the following devices:

a.Pioneer DV-37 DVD player
b.Toshiba 65H80 HDTV
c.Sony SACD CD-player
d.His and hers Philips DSR6000 DirecTV/TiVo’s
e.Pioneer Minidisk Player
f.Toshiba 6000 HDTV Set Top Box
g.Dish Network 3000 Set Top Box
h.Pioneer 301-CD Player
i.Sony TAE-9000ES A/V Preamp
j.JVC 9800 S-VCR
k.JVC-6700 S-VCR
l.Sony R5 S-VCR
m.4DTV/HD200 HDTV, Big Dish receiver
n.DMT-1050 MPEG2 receiver
o.GI Navajo 401 Big Dish receiver
p.Akai CD burner
q.X10
r.3-to-1 A/V switch
s.Service Menu access on my HDTV for fine-tuning it.
t.Radio Shack Coax Switcher
u.Pioneer Laser Disk

B. SUPPORT:

1. The best MX-700 support forum is at http://www.remotecentral.com/c...master/list.cgi

2. The manufacturers web site is http://www.universalremote.com/ and they can be contacted at:

Universal Remote Control, Inc.
500 Mamaroneck Avenue
Harrison, New York 10528
(800) 901-0800
(914) 835-4484
[email protected].

Click here to view a map.

3. All manuals and software are at http://www.universalremote.com...700manuals.html

C. Keypad:

1. I wish the MX-700 had the CLONE function like my MX-500 so I could start with all the work I had done with it.

2. I like the sturdier feel of the, FF, REV, VOL and CH buttons.

3. Once in the FAV menu, FAV will cycle forward thru the 5 pages and PAGE will cycle backwards.

4. Unused pages can be hidden or deleted on the MX-700 whereas on my MX-500 when I only need a single page for a device I duplicate page 1 on page 2, so that it doesn't matter which page I'm looking at. This gets rid of the aesthetic problem of having a blank page two.

D. Thumbpad:

1. The thumbpad is one of the best’s features of the remote for my needs, although the original MX-500’s is by far better due to its tactical feedback.

2. I still struggle with the SELECT key, as it is similar to the new, MX-500 GS2. Why, oh why, didn't they go back to the works-every time, flawless, original MX-500 key?


E. LCD Display:

1. The display is superb and is brighter than the MX-500.

2. The fonts are only one size and are the English alphabet. There are no symbols like up and down arrows, etc. as the MX-500 has. Those could be quite handy and save a space, which is needed when one only has 5 spaces to display a name like REAR UP. I had to use RERUP.

3. I’d like to see one-space characters of UP and DN, one on each top the other, if the displays dot matrix could display it.

4. I’d also like to see the character spaces to go completely across the screen getting the display 2-more spaces and allowing long names to be with smaller names, like:

DISPLAY PLAY

5. The right-side mounted off/on switch works flawlessly and is at the right position for my hands.

6. If you’re away from your PC the best way is to map out all your LCD buttons in advance for each device. Being able to have every button named for the function it performs is one of the biggest strengths of the MX-700. Change the LCD labels as you've mapped them out, and then learn each remote to the MX-700. You'll find that when you've prepared it in advance, you can learn each remote in a matter of minutes. A template for doing this is at the end of this review.


F. IR Angle and Strength:

1. The IR strength is boosted by using 4-AAA batteries and one can expect it to handle most any device “head-on”.

2. Since I have so many components, and a large 65” 16 X 9 HDTV, my equipment rack is not directly in front of me but on the right side wall. This presents a problem with any low-powered or small angle, beam width remote. Few have handled the challenge.

3. The major test for any remote is with my Sony TAE-9000ES A/V preamp as its IR receptor has a small beam-width acceptance angle. The MX-700 failed to access it as the angle is about 60 degrees off center. I’d hoped for better with the added 2-more batteries from the MX-500. The Sony RM-AV2100 came the closest with its powerful IR transmission.

4. Remote Central has a superb comparison of different remotes IR strength at http://www.remotecentral.com/f...es/infrared.htm and the way they test IR strength is called the “Menacing Thick Fluffy Blanket (MTFB) analysis” which is not real world, in my opinion as he puts the remote under a blanket. I think any remote works "head-on" whatever the in-front-of-you distance. I’d like to see an angle spec in his reviews that shows the angle a unit would respond to.

5. I also have used the Best Buy dome shaped IR repeaters, one at the back base of the HDTV pointed at me and the other behind the center speaker pointing at the devices.
RF (maybe from the TV) interference impacts them in my setup.





G. MX Editor software (version 1.03):

a. MX Editor software comments:



1. The 5.87M size software is easy to use and I picked it up in minutes. It downloaded and installed flawlessly on my W-XP computer but I had numerous IRQ and port problems due its use of a serial port to connect to the MX-700. Make sure nothing else is using you COM1 port or you may have problems also.

2. I wish the software would synch any change immediately vs. downloading. No other remote has that, AFAIK. My Pronto doesn’t. UMC could be the first.

3. The TEST function does little for me as my PC is in my home office and my home theater is in the den. It was designed for HT installers with laptops, I would assume.

4. Devices can’t be taught to the MX-700 from an MX-500, as you'll have to learn the IR codes from it one at a time. IMO, UMR has missed the boat by ignoring its large, existing user base. If they made it easier they could get more of them to upgrade.

5. I keep wanting to do a MAIN-ENT to fine tune it at my easy chair like I’ve done so many times with the MX-500. URC should put this back in as it is one of the most powerful features in any remote due to the way they implemented it. If they need ROM space just take the TEST feature out of the MX-700 and announce a SideKick-less end user version.

6. I wish the MX-700 picture were bigger in the editor as my eyes are getting bad.

7. http://www.remotecentral.com/f...es/main-ccf.htm has 1,000’s of Pronto device codes so let’s hope someone will create a Pronto --> MXD conversion program.

8. The JP1 Remote Control eGroup at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/jp1/ has the ccf2efc.zip program. You can use this program to convert a .ccf file (Pronto configurations) into a text file that shows the protocols being used and the advanced codes (EFC) for the buttons. (Updated 2/1/2002 to handle the new .ccf format). This may help to get some of the discrete code to the MX-700.

10. The Live Update works flawlessly on my DSL line but takes >one minute at an ~500K speed.

11. The MX-700 works while the cable is attached, unlike the Pronto. I like that feature.

12. The software is free and one can download and play around with it to see if it is a remote you would want to use. I think that was a good decision of URC as it is quite a selling too. Get it at http://www.universalremote.com...00programs.html

13. My MX Editor .mxd file typically runs around 325K in size, small enough to fit on a floppy backup but a big deal to upload to Remote Central at 33.6K.

14. The remote control won’t transmit signals while downloading.

15. I have tried to teach the MX-700 a 5-step macro from my MX-500 but only 2 or 3 lines get through. It would be nice to see the MX-700 accept a larger bit stream or have a way to remove the blank bit between signals.

16. My Pioneer DVD player has a jog function and I’m not able to use it successfully with any remote control including the MX-700.

17. I sometimes unexpectively lose my programming on a button. I’ve not figured out whether it’s MX Edit, the remote or me.



b. MX Editor version 1.03 software problems:

1. I’d like to be able to change the device order on the left side by dragging, as the Pronto software allows.

2. I need to be able to hide Page 3 while having Page 4 but one can’t. I need it while planning the initial programming of the unit.

3. I wish there was someway I could print out my LCD layouts to work on them when away from my PC.

4. In MX Edit version 1.03 if you have a Macro and Learn on the same button and delete Learn, Macro will be deleted and vice versus.

5. I wish there was a way to copy and paste the contents of a button to another button.

6. Learned data cannot be just deleted from a button as one must delete the complete button.

7. I’d like to see the capability to choose a device list of available functions, which then can be dragged onto any button we I to place them on. Similar to the way the SideKick buttons are programmed.

8. The software has a major flaw as it deletes the IR database default button code if you learn over it.

9. After failed downloads I sometimes get the error code:

“Error Detected (MF: PUDM7). Continue?”

It goes away when a get out of the editor and then bring it back. Error codes should be in English.

10. After failed downloads I sometimes get the error code:

“Invalid Answer – LimitedProgramLoadToRC (LPLTR-2)”.

It goes away when a get out of the editor, bring it back and take out one battery until the display fades away. Error codes should be in English.

11. After failed downloads I sometimes get the error code:

“Error: Unknown protocol (DLTR-4)”.

It goes away when a get out of the editor, bring it back and take out one battery until the display fades away. Error codes should be in English, IMHO

12. After a failed download, my MX-700 sometimes sticks in the TEST mode with the following readings on the display:


LCD GOOD!
RAM EMPTY!
IROUT GOOD!
IRAMP GOOD!
LIGHT GOOD!

The little guy at the bottom is completed and taking the batteries out for 5-minutes does nothing. Hitting any key just sends the MX700 back through the TEST mode. Doing another download fixes it but this is not right and URC should fix it.

13. During many of the above crashes I either saw “FAIL! 5” or “FAIL! 9” at the bottom of the MX-700’s LCD screen. Once a new download has installed it goes away.

14. Another way to try to restore a frozen unit is to do a "Partial Download" after a taking out one battery until the display fades away.

15. Incidentally, I keep my battery door off during programming due to the many crashes I get. No big deal, to me, though.

16. The crashes could be my problem. URC has had to create the software for an infinite number of software configurations, infinite number of hardware configurations, and an infinite number of improper running systems. I think I may be the latter as I haven’t formatted and reloaded in a year or so and have plenty of bad uninstalls in my W-XP registry.

17. Sometimes a SAVE clears the unit and you can do a download after you lose the connection.

18. Device pages can’t be renumbered or moved.

19. An (*) in MX Edit is shown as a (<) large backspace in the remote.

20. I wish one could have shortcuts on FAV pages.

21. Sometimes I wonder whether multi-tasking could be the problem with crashed downloads as sometime I go into another program or my email arrives and there is a crash when I go back to MX Edit. It seems to be random, though.

22. You can put spaces between characters and at the end of labels (to left justify a label on the right column) but you can't put them at the beginning.

23. The "&" doesn't show up properly in the text editor but it does show up in the emulator and on the remote when you download it.

24. MX Edit leaves a hidden file on my desktop named MXUIShell.MXE.






H. SideKick:

1. I have little use for the SideKick in a 20-device system and recommend URC to:

a.Unbundle it,
b.Add consumer packaging,
c.Add a cable,
d.Rewrite the manual for an end user,
e.Take the TEST function out,
f.Add the superb MAIN-ENT local programming capability,
g.Name it the MX-600,
h.And set a street price of $300, ~$50 above the street price of a Pronto TSU2000.

URC is focusing on the HT installer market and it is much too limited IMHO, restricting the sales of this fine product. It is my bet that this will happen anyway once they see the next quarter shipment revenue is way under their forecast due to their small market focus. Profits may be OK, though, due to the $500 list price.

2. It was easy to program as one drags the MX-700 code to any button you want.

3. I find it unacceptable to use the SideKick for use on anything other than cable TV and without a cable box, as there are just too few keys. This is unexplainable as anyone who can afford the MX-700 combo surely has a cable box, sat box, TiVo and/or BUD as well as a higher end home theater system.

4. Whatever you can have on an MX-700 key can be duplicated on the MX-200. That goes for the combination single function/push-and-hold macros as well.



I. Cable and PC Link:

1. Make your own cable by going to http://www.surfremotecontrol.com/DIY-cable

2. You need to plug the cable in until you hear it click or the PC won’t recognize it.

3. The MX-1000 cable is the same as the MX-700’s.

4. A Pronto cable is not the same.

5. The cable at the PC end is a 9-pin RS232. USB is the standard now and I had IRQ conflicts that I had to spend a lot of time diagnosing due to this old DOS interface. It’s time the Pronto and the MX-700 gets up to date in their PC interfacing.

6. If you’re having connecting problems connecting to your PC try the following:

a.Reboot your computer.
b.Deinstall and reinstall MX Editor.
c.Do a Control-Alt-Delete to see what is running that is taking the COM1.
d.Type “msconfig” from the DOS prompt and uncheck programs you think that may be grapping COM1.
e.Buy a $25 add-on COM2 port card and change MX Editor to COM2.
f.Push the cable in the MX-700 until you hear a click.

6. If you’re still having problems connecting to your PC, try this:

a. Reboot the PC.
b. Do a partial download to the remote
c. Do a full download to the remote
d. Resume testing and programming.




J. Problems, with some of my solutions:

1. TBD



K. Opening the MX-700 (only if you have to):
1. Opening the remote is by twisting the body casing so to unlatch the clips holding the 2-MX-700 top and bottom pieces together. Here’s how:
a.Hold the remote horizontally, with the IR plastic window in your right palm (the top of the remote near the OFF and POWER buttons) and the bottom of the remote in your left palm (near the MX-700 words).
b.Twist the remote back and forth in your palms until you hear the clips unlatching all around the remote. You must twist hard to do this.
2. This will probably void your warranty if you do it.

L. Pricing:

1. The only places I recommend to order MX’s from are (alphabetically):

http://www.bluedo.com/bluedocg...model=MX-700PKG

and

http://www.surfremotecontrol.c...gory_Code=HTMCL

due to their superb support at the Remote Central web site. Both have shown flawless support to me personally.

2. The ~$400 street price of the MX-700 is quite steep and if you don’t need a 20-device unit and all the cool macros the ~$135 street MX-500 is the remote industries best buy. Even if you need 2-devices two MX-500’s (one for audio and one for video) could handle ones needs quite respectively. That cost is ~$270.

3. If the 2-remote MX-700 package sparks your interest and you only have 5 or 6 devices and ~$135 to spend then the dual remote system at http://www.surfremotecontrol.c...tegory_Code=HTM and shown below is a superb solution. I have similar in my home office.



It combines the superior learning capability of the MX-500 with the advanced code and JP1 capability of the new One-For-All 8811. Unlike the previous URC-7800 Cinema 7 model, the 8811 comes with the JP1 connector built in. All you need do is build your own JP1 cable using the instructions found here: JP1 Interface. Or, if you wish to buy a kit or a pre-assembled cable, there are some for sale from $18-20 including shipping here: JP1 Kits

NOTE: While it's not rocket science, the JP1 interface and software does require more than a minimum level of computer expertise. To see if it's something you want to tackle, read through the instructions here: JP1 for Beginners.

All-in-all a superb remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeff Peters from Peoria, IL. USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Sunday July 7, 2002 at 9:54 AM.
Strengths:Ergonomics,Macros and More Macro,Backlight,Computer Programable
Weaknesses:No RF, Limited Fonts for LCD buttons would have loved to see ability to use some simple graphics,Price, MX-200, Price
Review:I have to admit this is the best remote I have gotten my hands on. The combination of hard buttons, LCD button, and macros makes the flexability of this remote almost endless. The only few improvement I would love to have seen is the ability to use any custom true type font or simple graphics with the LCD buttons. And a RF incorporated into the remote would have also been nice. I think the MX-200 is useless and would have been nice to have a option to puchase just the MX-700 without the MX-200.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kranston Boodram from Orlando, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Thursday July 4, 2002 at 8:31 PM.
Strengths:-Great looks and ergonomics (beats Pronto...hands down)
-Hardbuttons, beautiful hardbuttons!
-Wonderful back-light
-Conceptually, the best remote out there
Weaknesses:-Can not handle long IR codes (Pronto beats it...hands down)
-Questionable build quality?
-Minor bugs and missing features in software (esp. for prev. pronto users)
-Macro execution is a bit slower than Pronto TSU 2000
-Too expensive
Review:The point of a universal remote is to control all of your equipment with just one device. Many remotes can actually perform this feat. It is just a matter of how well the remote executes this task in form and function. The MX-700 is the closest thing that comes to the perfect remote except for a couple major issues. For a remote that costs more than a Pronto TSU 2000, it should be able to learn long IR commands. This remote can not. Which means that if you are a Sony user with those long DSP soundfield commands (even clean ones), I would not get this remote until the manufacturer resolves this serious problem. The software is relatively easy to use but there are a few bugs, and some missing features like pasting buttons and adding hex codes. Not a terribly huge deal. And finally, my remote's backlight stopped working after 2 days (about 6 button presses worth). I got an exchange after a little uneasy juggling with BlueDo. The new remote works fine but I'm a little tenative about pressing that backlight button now.
In conclusion, I feel that this remote is on the right track, but it is not quite there yet. It's trouble with long IR codes is too much of a problem to be taken lightly. It MUST be able to learn ALL commands from our components' regular remotes. If this is resolved it will be the closest thing to the perfect remote that every one of us here is after.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by David Platt from Pittsburgh, PA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Sunday June 30, 2002 at 5:17 PM.
Strengths:-Macros, macros, macros!!
-Lots of hard buttons
-Computer programmability
-Renamable LCD buttons
-Did I mention macros?
Weaknesses:-Price
-Bundling with the MX-200
-Some programming bugs
-Thumbpad 'Select'is slighlty unreliable
-Can't drag and drop hard button commands
-Can't hide a device without erasing the name
Review:Even with all the negatives I listed, I *LOVE* this remote. It is far and away the best I've ever used. The negatives are all minor annoyances to me (apart from the bundling of the MX-200) and do not detract greatly from the usability of this remote. The macro capability of this thing just blows me away.

MX-700 programming is very easy after the first time, and the remote is nice and sturdy. This is the first computer-programmable remote I've owened, and I had all of my devices entered within a couple of hours. I absolutely love being able to save different configurations of the remote; this will be invaluable when family visits. I can simply load a simplified version, and they're good to go for watching TV when I'm not around.

Like others, I would have liked to have the 'skip' buttons retained for TiVo use. I would also like to be able to hide a device or hide the second page of 'MAIN' without erasing device names-- if you have several hidden devices, it sometimes helps to have a label to help you remember what is located where.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Arjen from Grand Rapids, MI.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Saturday June 29, 2002 at 4:36 PM.
Strengths:- Easy programming
- Plenty of powerful macros
- Quality look and feel
- Low cost PC interface cable
- Lots of hardbuttons
- I like the gemstone buttons better than I though I would, high quality look & feel
- The addition of the Menu, Guide and Info buttons is very handy.
- Removal of M1-M3 makes number pad less intimidating/confusing.
- Sidekick MX-200 is handy for kids or babysitters

Weaknesses:- No separation of IR database and layout file
- No advanced editiong of IR codes
- A bit pricey
- The thumbpad is a step down from the original MX-500 (MB1 in Daniel's review). It works, but it feels "wobbly". Eventhough you will usually press the Select button correctly, it often tilts a bit towards an arrow button.
- The removal of the SKIP buttons is a loss for TiVo users.




Review:Much has already been said, so these observations are mostly based on my prior experiences with the RTi TheaterTouch (T2) and the MX-500.

Overall: Great! If you are an MX-500 user and want to make your remote more user friendly with macros: the MX-700 is the answer. If you are a T2 user that is hesitant to go for the hardbutton MX-500 at the loss of programming power: the MX-700 is the answer.

I don't care what people say about the removal of the Skip buttons from the transport control area...to me this is a loss. Putting them on the LCD forces me to juggle the position of the remote in my hand before I can reach the LCD buttons. It is just not as convenient for TiVo use.

A few things I would like to see in the software:
- Separate file/database with IR commands (much like the T2 Designer software) so that you can maintain a database of all your IR commands for your devices independent of the layout on the remote
- The ability to edit/copy/paste HEX codes of IR commands
- The ability to specify number of repeats and sustain for IR codes
- The ability to drag a device to a different LCD button
- How about an MX-800 with RF!!

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Philosofy from Indiana, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Friday June 28, 2002 at 11:48 PM.
Strengths:Ergonomic layout, intuitive programming, awesome backlighting, hard buttons galore
Weaknesses:Price, had to make my own cable, little glitches in programming, finicky downloads from a laptop
Review:This remote ROCKS! I have ten components, and all the other remotes are in the drawer. The macro capabilites are almost endless, and the programming flexibility is endless. It is the BEST universal remote to replace your TiVo remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kyle Little from Guttenberg, Iowa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Sunday May 26, 2002 at 3:50 AM.
Strengths:Great looking and ergonomic.Versatile macro capabilities,Thumbwheel makes menu navigation a "breeze". The Sidekick is cool and takes the load off of the "Big Boy for common commands.
Weaknesses:Expensive. I paid 500.00.
Review:Once I caught on to programming this baby, I loved it !I have had this unit for about 2 weeks and keep coming up with new macros that I am continuing to add to it.For instance: on page 1 for my sattelite I taught it the various modes,Dolby,Dts,Ddp modes,etc.so when I watch a program I can quicky pick a surround mode without having to go to my Rcvr page.I'm sure I'll think of many more shortcuts as I go.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse