Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-700 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-700
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.52/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
43$349
The MX-700 is an enhanced version of URC's venerable MX-500 remote control, featuring complete computer programmability via the MX Editor software package. Althouh the MX-700 was originally targeted to custom installers, it can be purchased in a discounted version without the MX-200 SideKick.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Written by squidly from Minneapolis.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 15 made on Friday January 17, 2003 at 11:33 PM.
Strengths:Macros
Editing software
Weaknesses:Price
Review:This is the first learning remote I've owned, so I have nothing to compare it to.
That being said, I love this remote!
I had 7 remotes...4 of which I kept on the coffee table. It seemed I could use my reciever remote to control just about everything, but there was 1 or 2 features on those others that I needed on a regular basis, so I had to keep them around. Not any more.

The good:
The macros are a god-send. This is IMO worth the price alone. The hard buttons
are a must for fast surfing. The MX editor software is VERY easy to use. The hardest part was planning it all out and finding discrete codes for some devices.

The bad:
The price is a little steep. HTM should drop the sidekick to bring down the price.
The layout is a bit clumsy because it's a large remote.

Summary:
I can't believe I waited this long to get something like this. I finally have just one remote! And now I don't have to get off the couch to turn off the lights if I want to nap. Just push a button!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeff from austin, Tx.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 14 made on Thursday December 26, 2002 at 2:14 PM.
Strengths:computer programming
design
software
Weaknesses:price
center button too small
doesn't learn well directly from other remotes
Review:I've never seen a remote work from more than 40 ft. away before. The computer programming is a definite improvement from the MX-500. This is so much better than a touch screen remote because you don't have to constantly look to see which buttons you're pressing. Go with the recommendations and check it out at bluedo.com

http://www.bluedo.com/bluedocg...77&model=MX-700
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rich Suriano from Ohio,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 13 made on Monday December 23, 2002 at 1:52 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use for a novice.
Programming manual user friendly.
Comfortable design
Favorites
Software
Weaknesses:Small center button, joy stick
Review:This was my first remote of this kind to setup,It took me approx.1hr on the pc,macros included and another hour to teach the remote commands.I would recommend this remote to anybody.As they say if i can do it anyone can.

Thanks to dave at bluedo.com

My previous remote was
Sony 2100
My System includes
Mits.65905 High Def.TV
Denon 3801 Reciever
Sony CX860 DVD
Sonicblue 5040 Pvr.
TU-HDS20 High Def.Sat Reciever
Toshiba Vcr
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chris from NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Monday November 25, 2002 at 5:14 PM.
Strengths:Backlighting is great
Hard buttons are much easier to use then LCD touchscreen.
Computer programmable.
Software was easy to use.
Weaknesses:Joystick center position sometimes hard to click on.
Review:This is without a doubt the best remote control available. I previously used a Philips Pronto and then the Marantz RC 5000 and this is by far much easier to use. The layout is fantastic and it's nice having all the controls at your fingertips as opposed to moving from one LCD screen to another.

The hard buttons are easier to find without the lights on, and without having to press the light buttons. With both the Marantz and the Philips you constantly have to press the light buttons to see what you're doing. I also find it's a lot quicker in selecting functions.

I had no problems whatsoever with the software. Some people complained it crashed but I found no issues with the software at all. Once you figure out how the software works programming is straightforward and easy. It took me 30 minutes to add all my devices from the time I loaded the software. Fine tuning took a little while but no more then the Marantz or the Philips Pronto.

The sidekick I use when my sister-in-law stays over and wants to watch TV, since she finds it very difficult to figure out any remote control. It's nice to have but I'm not quite sure if it's necessary.


Previous remotes use

Sony SLV1000
Philips Pronto
Marantz RC 5000

System configuration

Pioneer Elite Pro 710
Pioneer Elite DV37A
Dish 301 Personal Video Recorder
Dish 6000 HD receiver
Pioneer LD 501
Sunfire Theater Grand II
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bnuke1 from Connecticut.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 11 made on Sunday November 24, 2002 at 8:10 AM.
Strengths:Great Interface/Nice Feel/Looks Cool
Extremely powereful for the advanced user
Easy to program for the novice
Powerful IR beam
Tons of flexibility
Weaknesses:Too expensive until you figure out how much it can do.
5 letter max on button labels.
Limitations on the FAV menu.
One more button in the middle of the Sidekick would make it more TiVo friendly
No Hex code import/export
Review:This is the only remote that you will ever need once it is programmed. Programming is very easy until you start trying to input discrete codes. I have to use a Pronto to input hex codes and then teach the code to the MX-700. This remote is very good for TiVo use. The best that I have found so far. The software is excellent and easy to use. The final test was when I saw my 6 year old girl using the remote without ANY prior instruction. Great Remote!! Highly recommended!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Scott S from Los Angeles, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Tuesday November 19, 2002 at 6:44 PM.
Strengths:Convenience, design, appearance, performance, ease of use once programmed. Great night vision, and the mini remote can be useful if your clever.
Weaknesses:Useless without a PC, doesn't learn directly from other remotes that well.
Review:I picked this to replace my Pronto 2000, and I'm just loving the choice I made. Much more convenient and user friendly than the Pronto. Hard buttons are always more convenient. If you don't have the 20 devices it allows for don't worry, those spots for the devices can be used for convenient macros. It makes the conversion to/from HD so simple. Unlike others here, I enjoy the mini version (MX-200) it comes with. I use it in the bedroom as a companion to my satellite remote with the handy macros it can carry. This isn't a cheap item, but it shouldn't be. Right now I'm hoping it lasts forever. It has solved all my multi remote needs. I always needed the other remotes nearby with the Pronto. Works great in the dark for people who spend their evenings in the dark like myself. If you can afford it, by all means but it!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kit Cheves from San Diego, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Monday November 18, 2002 at 1:27 PM.
Strengths:* PC Interface.
* Increddible Macro capacity
* Large number of LCD keys to learn to

Weaknesses:* Totally unreliable select key on thumbpad. Others may have occasional problems, but I can never get it to select correctly. As a workaround, I have had to learn the select function to an LCD key for each device. I have an original MX-500 that has a perfect select key - what the heck were they thinking?

* Flaky MX-Editor software. I get frequent crashes in the 1.05 LCD Editor under Windows XP Pro.

* Putty color

* Too few keys on the MX200
Review:This is an increddible remote, and will hopefully be the end of a long journey to find a hard button remote that can control my whole system. Past remotes:

OFA Cinema 7 (still in use for discrete codes)

Sony RM-VL900 (retired)

HTM MX-500 (in use in bedroom)

The devices under control are:

TV: Sony KP-53XBR300
Receiver: Yamaha RX-V795a
DVR1: Hughes DirecTivo
DVR2: Hughes DirecTivo
Sat3: Dish 6000 HDTV receiver
CD: Sony CDP-M555ES 400 disc changer
DVD1: Panasonic DVD-RP56
DVD2: Samsung DVD 909
TV2: JVC D-series
TV3: Cheap Sylvania 13" in kitchen
Camcorder: Sony DSC-TRV17
UHF Antenna rotator: ChannelMaster
Lights: X10 IR controller

In combination with my Cinema 7, I've been able to create some very useful press-and-hold macros on the Main page for various activities.

The sidekick has been relatively useless for me - too few buttons to do just about anything.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse