Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-500 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-500
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.80/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
157$149
The MX-500 is a 10-device all-buttoned remote control with an LCD screen for custom labels on 10 adjacent buttons. It includes full infrared learning capabilities, a preprogrammed database, 5-way joystick, macros and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 10 of 23 for
the Home Theater Master MX-500 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|7|8|9|10|11|12|13|Last >> ]

Written by Lou Gorfain from New York.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 94 made on Friday January 31, 2003 at 5:38 PM.
Strengths:custom labelling with hard buttons
ergonomics and tactility
intuitive design
clear documentation
High Wife Acceptance Factor
Sexy, easily seen backlighting
Weaknesses:Double clicking to get to main screen
Center button on thumbpad tricky
Review:As a lifelong Sony-phile, I bought the AV3000 primarily on name. But frustrated by the remote's touchy and certainly not feeley design, awkward documentation and arrogant support, volatile memory and fleeting battery life, I researched Remote Central and bought the MX-500 four weeks ago because of the excellent reviews.

Ding Dong the Witch was Dead! One of the best toys ever.... and can you believe it's from Harrison New York, not Tokyo?

Other reviews extoll the technical features, I will just say that the MX-500 is to other remotes what Tivo is to VCR. A pleasure. A terrific value.

And I never would have known about it were it not for Remote Central, the MX-500 of websites!

Thanks, Daniel.


Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Harry Benkiel from Duluth, GA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 93 made on Wednesday January 29, 2003 at 3:19 PM.
Strengths:Solid construction, simple to use, easy to handle, strong IR signal. Just a super remote!
Weaknesses:Sometimes would take several tries to properly learn an IR code from another remote. Would be nice if there were an option for the backlight to turn on when I hit any key.
Review:Greetings and Salutations!

What can I say that hasn't already been said?

I have two DVD players, two VCR's, a big screen TV, a digital cable box and a ReplayTV and I have now safely stored away all those remotes for safekeeping. My MX-500 controls everything, and in many cases it's easier to use than the original remotes. It was able to handle my obscure Jaton DVD player without a hitch. Every function of my ReplayTV has been recreated, and in a more intuitive layout.

A purchase with no regrets. I can't think of any reason to spend all that extra money on an MX-700 unless I one day needed to control more than ten devices, the MX-500 does it all.

Cheers, Harry
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Greg Ballinger from Ohio.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 92 made on Wednesday January 29, 2003 at 12:32 AM.
Strengths:1. Ergonomics!
2. Ease of use (High wife acceptence rating).
3. Extremely customizable.
4. Ease of programming/learning.
Weaknesses:Very hard to fault, but here are a few nitpicks:

1. There's no good way (even using aux-155) to erase an entire device, including all custom labels so you can start programming a device from scratch.
2. When reprogramming macros, they must be done in there entirety; no 'inserting' a command into an existing macro.
3. No way to copy or swap the function of one button to another. This feature would be nice when you decide to alter the layout of a device; as it is, you must relearn the new button using your old remote. No biggie.
4. A 'go-between' remote is necessary to transfer discrete codes from your computer to the MX-500.
Review:I know there are already dozens of good reviews here of this remote (which is the reason I bought it in the first place), but I just can't resist throwing my $.02 in. I love it so much I just want to talk about it! It is one of the finest electronic gadgets I've ever owned. The amount of care that went into designing a remote that is easy to use, yet still highly configureable and does everything that I've always felt a universal remote SHOULD do, is just staggering. When you buy products of this kind, you're always expecting to get the ideal design, but once you get it and become familiar with it, you clearly see what it is lacking. Well, not so with the MX-500! I bought it with the HIGHEST of expectations based on what I had read here, and I am happy to say that I was not disappointed. It is what every other remote wishes it could be. One of the reviews on this forum mentioned a strange feeling of 'pride of ownership' with this remote. Now I understand what he was talking about.

The only other remote that I considered buying was a Pronto. I have some programming experience and I don't believe I would be intimidated by ProntoEdit. But the decision came down to 2 things: 1. the MX-500 is a hard-buttoned remote, and 2. the cost difference.

I had previously used my Palm running Omniremote, so I had already formed an opinion of touchscreen remotes: No good. Always looking at the remote before pressing a button gets to be a real annoyance. I do still have a use for Omniremote: It's a great tool for pasting discrete codes into and then learning them to the MX-500.

The simplicity in using this remote has not only helped it gain the acceptance of my wife, but has made the whole idea of having a home theater (with all the extra components/speakers scattered about the living room) much more attractive to her, because now she can really USE it. I even programed a macro for my 4 year old daughter to get to her favorite channel. My kid can turn on the entire system and find her show in 2 button presses. Now, that's very cool (I think).

I'm now on a mission to make others with remote-cluttered coffee tables see the light. My mother was the first. She had 5 remotes and had no clue how to use most of them. Her home entertainment consisted pretty much of what my brother and I had assembled over the years before we moved out. She is as electronically dis-inclined as they come. I ordered her an MX-500 and spent a few hours programming it for her. She loves it, and has had no problems using it. And that's coming from a woman who needs tech support to operate a toaster!

Physically, this remote is of the highest quality construction; it's built to last. And the tactile feel of the covering makes me want to hold it all the time. The buttons all have an excellent solid feel and I've had no problems with the thumbpad or it's center button press. The backlight, which I don't use often, is just the icing on the cake. It just looks COOL!

Bottom line: Taking into account features, customizability, ergonomics, construction, and price, this remote is the undisputed heavyweight champion. No remote even comes close, or ever will, in my humble opinion (unless the MX-700 comes way down in price). If you've considered this remote, then you've found what you're looking for.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Max from PA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 91 made on Tuesday January 28, 2003 at 5:18 PM.
Review:looks like my link didn't work. Try this one.
http://www.bluedo.com/bluedocg...77&model=MX-500
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Max from P.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 90 made on Tuesday January 28, 2003 at 5:17 PM.
Review:looks like my link didn't work. Try this one.
http://www.bluedo.com/bluedocg...77&model=MX-500
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeff from ohio.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 89 made on Tuesday January 28, 2003 at 12:41 PM.
Strengths:ease of use, powerful signal, battery life,
Weaknesses:I wish the backlight would also light up not just the buttons, but the writing above some of the buttons. When its dark and u cant remember how you assigned them, its a pain.
Review:I found this product to be easy to use and durable. Its a powerful remote that has more than enough features. Now if I could get it to cut my grass, it'd be real cool
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Max from PA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 88 made on Tuesday January 28, 2003 at 11:51 AM.
Strengths:Everything
Weaknesses:Nothing
Review:I got my http://www.bluedo.com/bluedocg...7&model=MX-500'>MX-500 at BlueDo.com about 5 months ago for about $120 after shipping, and I'm still finding out new things about it. It has so far replaced 7 remotes to include 2 tv's, 2 vcr's, a dvd, stereo and satelite. I plan on getting Tivo soon and probably X-10. I know that it can handle all of it. I love the punch through commands and the ability to program just about as many macros as I want. I've read a lot of people complaining about the center button but I haven't had any problems with that at all. If you want a remote that will handle everything, replace ALL your other remotes, and work under 4 levels of the menacing fluffy blanket, this is the one.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 10 of 23 for
the Home Theater Master MX-500 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|7|8|9|10|11|12|13|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse