Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV3100 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV3100
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 2.87/5.00
Median: 2.83/5.00
10$199
The powerful RM-AV3100 improves the RM-AV3000 by adding aliases, key macros, key hold times and multiple backlight brightness levels. You still get control of 18 devices, 45 macros, code learning, editable key labels and more!
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 2 for
the Sony RM-AV3100 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Jim Nusbaum from New Mexico, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Monday August 2, 2004 at 3:00 PM.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:Lockups
Lack of lighting on hard buttons
Size (too big)
Programming complexity and bugs
Review:I am extremely disappointed in this product. If I could return it and get my money back I would.

The biggest problem is repeated lockups (requiring battery removal to reset) during programming. In one case I got it locked up so bad I had to completely erase all my programming to get it to stop locking up constantly. There are workarounds but there shouldn't have to be workarounds.

Besides the lockup problems the unit is just too big and bulky for easy use. Forget using it with one hand - two hands are required. There is no lighting on the hard buttons so in a dim room it can be very hard to tell which button to use (until you memorize the layout). The thing is also very hard to program with poor documentation (badly translated - you would think Sony could get some real English language speakers to translate documentation by now). In addition the touch screen just seems to not work a fair amount of the time during programming.

Very unsatisfied. Should have gotten another Pronto.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim Adkins from St. Louis, Mo.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Thursday July 29, 2004 at 2:15 PM.
Strengths:Ability to control a large aray of equipment.
Touch screen is responsive.
Abilty to customize touchscreen buttons.
Weaknesses:Locks up.
Touch screen contrast weak.
Button have no backlighting.
Review:Fully locks up occasionaly when deleting learned commands. Requires battery removal. Then requires full reset and loss of all input to remove the command. This occurs with a small number of learned commands from two remotes so memory could not be the issue. See Remote Central's forum for similar comments by other owners of this model.

Due to problem above I did didn't invest the time to set up a most of my system. I am pursuing repair/replacment/refund.

Didn't have codes for my projector or dvd player. Has descrete codes for Sony on/off but not other brands. You will need to find another remote that has them and teach them to the Sony.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by dwayne johnson from northern michigan.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Monday June 14, 2004 at 1:28 AM.
Strengths:fairly easy to program, and works with anything.
nice big screen and macro set up is fast
Weaknesses:bulky.
dont know if replacing batteries will reset everything?
manual is overly complicated...
Review:just today i bought this remote/50"tv/sony es2000 amp/es dvd player....everything seems to work great as a package, i imagine it would be less smooth with 3 different brands...

Quality: Features: Value:

Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 2 for
the Sony RM-AV3100 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse