Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - Itís time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-500 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-500
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.80/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
157$149
The MX-500 is a 10-device all-buttoned remote control with an LCD screen for custom labels on 10 adjacent buttons. It includes full infrared learning capabilities, a preprogrammed database, 5-way joystick, macros and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 4 of 23 for
the Home Theater Master MX-500 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Darren from Chicago, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 136 made on Tuesday January 27, 2004 at 6:56 PM.
Strengths:Does everything I needed it to do.
Easy to program, easy to use.
Great range and backlighting.
Weaknesses:Limited internal discrete code ability but it can learn them from another remote or via IRClone and a Pronto file conversion program.

I prefer hard buttons for devices but the LCD buttons are easy enough once you learn to hit "Main" to get back to the top device menu.

Somewhat limited macro ability but more than enough for my 6 devices.
Review:Briefly, it works well and does everything I need it to do. I purchased the MX-500 and the IRClone software and interface from Bluedo.com. Highly recommended product and retailer.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dave Brickley from Pennsylvania.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 135 made on Sunday January 25, 2004 at 12:36 PM.
Strengths:everything
Weaknesses:none
Review:once you understand the macro set up and how to program it.this is the greatest thing since sliced bread. Buy one and try it you won't be disappointed.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by eakf from Ottawa, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 134 made on Wednesday January 21, 2004 at 2:51 PM.
Strengths:Great versitility, Powerful IR emitters, economically priced (in the US), Very durable, good backlighting, many buttons!
Weaknesses:Product price - in Canada
Review:It says a lot about this remote to just look at the other user reviews in this section. At the time that I wrote this, this is the ONLY remote that has maintained a 5 star average AND has over 100 user testiments to that fact.

I upgraded to this remote after trying and returning a Radioshack (OFA) Kamelion remote and after having used a Marantz RC1200 for a couple of years. I paid way to much for this in Canada and THEN found out how much I could get it for just across the border - ouch!

Price notwithstanding, I was able to quickly and easily set up my remote to do exactly what I wanted. It helped that I was familiar with learning remotes, but I don't think a novice would find it difficult.

After a month, or two, I read up about, and bought the IR clone companion. This is a valuable piece of equipment for any one who likes to change their equipment or re-arrange commands. It has the added abilities of being able to back up the remote and download discreets available to a variety of remotes.

The macros make the remote intuitive to use for the average user. The backlighting is superb, but not necessary after you learn where your buttons are. The hard buttons make the remote easy to use under the covers. Place your thumb on the pad and the most popular commands are only a thumb-length away.

It comes with enough support for even an advanced home theater system, though some would like more devices, I haven't found this to be a problem.

HTM is also reported to have exceptional support for their products. Thankfully, I haven't had to test this for myself yet. HTM even upgrades the models once in a while which is why I feel this remote has been around for so long.

This remote may very well be the last remote you need to buy!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jorge Matos from Catano,Puerto Rico.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 133 made on Thursday January 1, 2004 at 11:59 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use.Good price.Wonderfull........
Weaknesses:NONE
Review:I return in one week camalen 6-1 from Radioshak and one rm-av 3000,from sony,to
hard for programing/The MX/500 is very simple to programing,the learn key very easy to use,also the oders keys to programing are easy to do the job.Excelent manual instruction.I use on 8 device on my hometeather sistems.Iloved.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by KT Kelly from NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 132 made on Wednesday November 19, 2003 at 1:22 PM.
Strengths:As always with URC, the programming is pretty darn easy.
Weaknesses:I for one, dislike the joystick. And my customers have agreed.
Review:Overall a good remote. But, as in the others that share the same design, the joystick is a PIA in my mind. When using this remote to operate a satellite system, depressing the joystick for "Select" function, invariably leads to an error.

Depress the button and end up changing channels up/down, or get a side to side on the menu. Dang irritating for end users. Didn't have this issue with the old SL-9000.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Nick Zender from Akron, Ohio.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 131 made on Saturday November 15, 2003 at 1:27 PM.
Strengths:Feels good, just the right size.
Easy to program
Weaknesses:I have not found any yet.
Review:I been itching to get a new remote for some time now and had pretty much decided on the MX500 based on the reviews here. I could not find one locally and tried literally every electronic store within 100 mile radius.
While searching I was offered a pretty decent deal on the Sony Av3000 which sure looked cool and although it had just fair reviews there were also many more reviews for it.
I went ahead and bought it and although it worked great it was just very bulky, would be perfect if you watched your home theatre from behind a desk!
It was also very difficult to read in low lighting ect...
Anyway I took it back and ordered the MX500 from Bluedo.com.
Grat price, two year warranty and excellent service.
I cleared the remote of everything based on the FAQ at Bluedo and used the learning feature to input all my remotes.
Made my lcd labels and was up and running.
The only bad part is now I want to play with the remote more than watch the movie!
I keep testing it different ways to make sure it works alright and so far it has been one great experience.
So far this has been the perfect solution for me.
Thanks to all the other reviewers and remotecentral for providing this awesome site.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by David Deyarmin from Havelock, NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 130 made on Saturday November 15, 2003 at 9:31 AM.
Strengths:Powerful, feels great and very easy to program
Weaknesses:NONE
Review:I can't even program my VCR but I mastered this remote in less then 15 minutes.

It did not have codes for my Sony Grand WEGA III TV nor my Sony Combo VCR/DVD Unit but I was able to teach it every command in less the 15 minutes.

I had zero experience with high end universal remotes but I did the research and all indicators suggested this was the best remote for me and after only using it for a week I know I made the right choice.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 4 of 23 for
the Home Theater Master MX-500 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse