Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/24/22 - In searching for the perfect day, Timmy discovers something unexpected!
9/04/22 - That childhood favorite is back in a new Timmy video.
7/31/22 - It’s time for my second new Just Like Timmy video!
7/12/22 - Why not check out my new YouTube animation channel, Just Like Timmy!
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-500 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-500
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.80/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
157$149
The MX-500 is a 10-device all-buttoned remote control with an LCD screen for custom labels on 10 adjacent buttons. It includes full infrared learning capabilities, a preprogrammed database, 5-way joystick, macros and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 17 of 23 for
the Home Theater Master MX-500 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|14|15|16|17|18|19|20|Last >> ]

Written by Patrick Piteo from Middle Village, NY USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 45 made on Sunday January 13, 2002 at 7:19 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use, very flexiable, feels great in your hand, Works reagy with DirectTivo.
Weaknesses:None
Review:Truly the best all in one remote I have ever used!! It is just so easy to use. You can set up some very powerful Macro’s. This remote is great for all the DirecTivo users. Each day I find something different that I want to program on it. You can edit any label and it is sooo easy. This remote is made very well, and has a great backlight also. I control my DVD, Audio receiver, TV, SA Sony Satellite receiver and my DirecTivo.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Noah from Gaithersburg, MD.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 44 made on Wednesday January 9, 2002 at 1:00 PM.
Strengths:Flexibility, ease of programming, IR signal strength, macro speed
Weaknesses:None so far
Review:This is a great remote, plain and simple. For hard-button fans like me that like being able to use the main functions of the remote without having to look at a touchscreen, it's hard to beat this product. It does everything I want it to do and is a breeze to set up and use. And, at $110 plus S&H (through ExpressAudioVideo.com), it's a relative bargain.

I bought this remote to replace a Home Theater Master SL-9000, which was the unfortunate victim of an orange juice accident involving my 3 year-old. (It actually continued to work for about a month after the thing dried out, but it has slowly begun to lose functionality since then.) The improvements in the MX-500 over the SL-9000 are dramatic and well worth the difference in price between the two remotes.

All in all, I think Universal Remote Control has a real winner on their hands. (I just hope that I don't regret not waiting on the MX-700 for its release to the general public later this year.)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mike from CO, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 43 made on Friday January 4, 2002 at 12:47 PM.
Strengths:Just about everything is great.... easy to program, fits great in hand and even works great with my digital cable box!
Weaknesses:Doesn't accept discrete codes!?! The "joystick"/center pad is a bit tricky at times, especially the center push function.
Review:Boy, was I excited that I had ordered this baby after reading all the great reviews. I was not disappointed once I received it and started working with it. It takes a bit getting used to the LED section and using the page and main buttons, but it's a small hand/finger learning curve. This would be the perfect remote if it accepted discrete codes directly (this is why it gets a 4 for features). Fortunately, I have a OFA Cinema 7 that aids in transferring those functions to the MX-500. I even received the gem-buttom version, which I was not expecting. Hi-Fi Concepts has it for $115 + 6.90ship (through Yahoo). The centerpad/joystick is nice, except that getting the feel for pushing the pad/joystick in the direct center takes a bit getting used to. I would highly recommend this product to you who are looking for ease of programming and feedback through the LED, for the feel of hardbuttons and for macros!!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tlaxa from Michigan.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 42 made on Tuesday January 1, 2002 at 11:08 AM.
Strengths:Hard Buttons, Ease of Programming, Flexibility
Weaknesses:Only controls 8 devices
Review:Just bought this remote to consolidate all my other remotes into one. I prevously purchased an all touchscreen remote because I was in awe of the "coolness" factor. The touchscren was cool looking and very customizable BUT it was not practical and did not pass the "wife" test. It was too hard to use and you always had to look down at the remote - even when doing the simplest tasks like changing a channel or volume. The MX-500 is all hard button with a lcd panel for added flexibilty. I purchased mine through RRdeals.com and would highly recommend them to anyone looking to purchase this remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tim from NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 41 made on Thursday December 27, 2001 at 2:40 PM.
Strengths:Ability to replace all 8 remotes in my ssystem. Ergonomics, build quality, programming ease, usability, price.
Weaknesses:None really although for the next version they should hae an easy way of clearing out all the text and codes with one function instead of having to blank out every code manually.
Review:Just got the remote for xmas. Years ago I lusted for the Marantz RC-2000 but never ponied up the dough. I'm glad I waited and I'm also glad I did not jump at the Pronto or any of the other touch screen jobs. They are cool and have the most flexibility but for this purpose hard buttons are definitely the answer. The feel of the remote in your hands is strong and steady. Programming was really a breeze with the Learning option. I found myself putting functions that I use a lot from various remotes under different devices. For instance, many of my receiver functions I coded in DVD mode, VCR mode and LD mode. Since these are used so often it's easier to have them handy rather than having to change to the Audio device. What a concept. All of my other remotes are now buried, life is good for this AV fan. RRDEALS.COM...good service and support.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Pablo Pissanetzky from Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 40 made on Wednesday December 26, 2001 at 10:19 AM.
Strengths:Ergonomics, well designed. Can truly replace all your other remotes.
Weaknesses:None
Review:Just received this remote the day after I ordered it. My wife's comment was naturally 'Another damn universal remote?'

But...the MX-500 was the answer. It put ALL of our other remotes in a dark drawer.

Fantastic piece of equipment.

AVStreet had it for $ 104.95 - great price!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Sam Lappano from PA-USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 39 made on Thursday December 13, 2001 at 12:48 PM.
Strengths:Easy set-up. Seems to work with all components.
Weaknesses:Could use codes for two-way original remotes, such as those from certain sony receivers.
Review:I have tried for a number of years to reduce the number of remotes I must juggle. I don't have a huge system, but nevertheless, I had five different remotes. As many others have probably experienced, when I replaced my audio receiver with a Song DA333 ES, I was hopefull that the two way remote would learn everything. It did a fair job with most easy items, such as a Sony DVD and a Sony CD, but it had some trouble with my Satellite and absolutely no success with JVC VCR. The MX-500 has successfully taken over control of all units. I had the most problems with the Sony Receiver, using the forum here to get a solution. I took the MX to my friendly audio dealer and had the MX learn some of the controls from a Sony remote that only had a one way signal - success on the first try (maybe more luck, than skill). So far, I would give a 100% positve review on this affordable and friendly unit.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 17 of 23 for
the Home Theater Master MX-500 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|14|15|16|17|18|19|20|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse