Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV2100 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV2100
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.86/5.00
Median: 4.17/5.00
58$179
Sony's RM-AV2100 LCD touchscreen remote is an upgrade of their previous model with twice the memory for learning, five times the macros, a better built-in code library, greater customization and many more improvements.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 9 for
the Sony RM-AV2100 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Jaysun from Seattle.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 44 made on Monday March 11, 2002 at 6:36 PM.
Strengths:Looks great; opr everything. even my ceiling fan and blinds! $129.00 @ BEST BUY!
Weaknesses:No auto backlight
Review:.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Oliver from Germany.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 43 made on Friday March 8, 2002 at 4:25 AM.
Strengths:controls all my components incl. some rar stuff from SEG/Cyberhome. Easy set-up and good user documentation. Best is: the remote works better then most original ones as the IR power is great.
Weaknesses:Backlight should be automatically on when button pressed (but after a while you handle to press the light button first). Its a bit bulky to use with one hand. The numer of hardbuttons could be enhanced for a numeric 0-9 pad.
Review:To get rid of all my AV Remotes I decided to invest money in a one-for-all and finally found the Sony 2100T for 127 (110US$). It took me about 2h to move all my remotes with most features to the SOny even using mostly the learn function. To get the Remote to learn is a simple thing.

Its great that you can program the Volume up/down and the Channel up/down hardbuttons independent so when running TV you can still use the hardbutton for selecting the sat channels.

For this price hard to find a better one.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Sid V from NYC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 42 made on Saturday March 2, 2002 at 5:27 PM.
Strengths:Ecellent Overall - does everything I need it to do. Strong IR signal. Made in Japan - the quality shows. Macros!
Weaknesses:A little large, Backlight should turn on automatically, I'd like more label options on the touch screen. Perhaps a few more progamable hard buttons would be good - but this might compromise the sleekness of the unit.
Review:I love this thing. It really did replace all my remotes. You've got to be a little bit of a techno geek and a little patient to get it going the way you want. If you think it's going to be as easy to set up as a toaster, you will be disappointed. Yes, the screen can be a little difficult to see - a better, more versatile back light would be an improvement. But in spite of this, it's no problem operating the touch screen. I was a little aprehensive about the the touch screen, since most of us are used to operating a remote with hard buttons. After less than a week I've got this thing cooking (the remote - not the toaster). At $99 it's a value (etronics) considering it's capablities - stay away from some of the local electronics stores. These stores all (when I bought) charge $179 - list price - that's a bit too high.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by W King from Holland, MI, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 41 made on Friday February 15, 2002 at 8:36 PM.
Strengths:Solid Sony quality. Good Manual & easy to use in daylight
Weaknesses:Does not work with some cable products. Sony tech support pleasent buy no help on code problems.
Small LCD key areas hard for large hands. Must be for little people. Can't see display in dim room. Need to use backlight period!
Review:Costly $179. Product codes just don't work with some products. Looks high-tech.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Adolfo Barreto from Miami, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 40 made on Friday February 1, 2002 at 8:34 PM.
Strengths:We've been using this remote at home. I liked it so much I started selling it. The remote is extremely easy to use. The Touch screen is Backlit for no light situations. It also works from up to 30 feet away. We sell them for $114.95 email us if you want one: [email protected] .
Weaknesses:The only thing I found was that it is a little bulky. The size issue goes away though after you use it for a couple of hours.
Review:The RM-AV2100 Universal Learning Remote controls up to 12 audio/video components. Pre-programmed operation: already ''knows'' the command functions for components of most major brands without tedious manual programming. Learning function enables you to program the remote for specialized operations unique to your specific components, additional compatible A/V equipment and other types of infrared remote equipment, including compatible motorized projection screens, window blinds, room lights and air conditioners. Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) touch pad shows only the relevant controls. Enables you to control dozens and dozens of functions with large, easy-to-use virtual buttons. Blue backlight for easy visibility in the dark. ''Macro'' function lets you program three sequences of up to 16 commands; for example, a single macro can set up your DVD Player, Television and A/V Receiver for optimum DVD playback. Each macro executes at the touch of a button. I would recommend this remote to anyone. We like it so much we started selling it! If your interested in one we sell them for 114.95 just email us to order: [email protected]
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Andy from Toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 39 made on Sunday January 20, 2002 at 11:37 AM.
Strengths:Easy to use, easy to program, looks great
Weaknesses:Price a bit high (in Canada), no auto backlight
Review:From a technically challenged person, this thing is a snap to figure out and use. It controlled my Sony 32xbr and Sony DVD player right out of the box. The first codes listed for my Motorola DCT2000 cable box, Yamaha amp/receiver and old Yamaha CD player worked immediately. It only took me a couple of minutes to assign more buttons to various functions for each of those components. Learning from other remotes was easy, it even learned functions for my old (12 years) RCA VCR. One thing I learned from trial and error was that the touchscreen requires only the very lightest tap. Anything more, like a push, can send more than one signal. If you push, rather than tap, the power button on the touchscreen, it can turn on, then immediately turn off, the component.
It's a bit expensive, but worth it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Striker from Colorado, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 38 made on Tuesday January 15, 2002 at 11:41 AM.
Strengths:Signal Strength, learning abilities (learned all my components), great layout, easy to learn
Weaknesses:Some remote commands failed to learn on first try (took 2 tries)
Review:This remote rocks. I had a marantz learnable remote that came with my 6200 reciever and the SOny wins in every category. First off, the Marantz remote signal was pathetic. The sony is much stronger, and I don't have to point it exactly at the reciever to get commands going. Another advantage is that the Sony learned all my commands. The Marantz remote ran out of memory quickly, not allowing me to input all the commands I use. Thirdly, the Sony has the LCD layout that changes to each funtion. This makes it much easier to remember where I put each command. To use the Marantz, I had to memorize what commands went were. The backlight helps a lot. SOme people complained about a whine, but mine doesn't have it. Also, the backlight on default is plenty bright enough. I suppose ppl who complained must be blind. The price was also awesome (DON"TZ BUY THIS REMOTE VIA RETAIL, they'll charge you almost $100 more than stores on Yahoo! Shopping) Lastly, the macros are a huge bonus (Marantz didn't work). The macros were very easy to set up, and to execute.
All in all, this remote is GREAT. I would recommend anyone this remote, especially at the online prices!!!!
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 9 for
the Sony RM-AV2100 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse