Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the RCA RCU810 from RCA.
RCA RCU810
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.95/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
97$69
The RCU810 is a learning and preprogrammed remote control. It features control of 8 devices, 54 buttons with backlighting, an LCD screen, macro keys, plus a sleep timer & clock.


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 14 for
the RCA RCU810 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by tomt62 from Detroit.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 97 made on Tuesday April 24, 2007 at 10:33 AM.
Strengths:Ease of Use, Backlight, Programmable, Button layout
Battery life is good
Weaknesses:Can run out of Learning Space - won't have codes for newest devices
Review:I own two of these, and bought another for work. These are great remotes.
I wish RCA would update this exact remote, and just give it more learning memory. The whole family can use it, and that's important.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Carl U from Iowa, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 96 made on Tuesday May 3, 2005 at 1:34 PM.
Strengths:User friendly
Does everything I needed
Takes a beating
Weaknesses:None for a button remote
Review:We got this remote when we got our first big screen RPTV 4-5 years ago. It's done everything I've ever wanted and is easy to use for the most part. It has fallen off our coutch to the floor countless times and keeps on going. I don't recall what we paid but I do remember thinking it was a lot for just a remote. I guess looking back it was money well spent.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by steve from FL,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 95 made on Wednesday October 20, 2004 at 9:38 PM.
Strengths:backlit buttons and info screen
Weaknesses:CUSTOMER SERVICE (OR LACK THEREOF!)Similar complaints as others in this forum...also some number buttons stopped working.
Review:I bought the RC810-A with the date code:1213 for my Technics receiver cd player and cassette player, Magnavox t.v., RCA v.c.r., Pioneer d.v.d player and Playstation 2. I didn't have that many complaints at first, but over a period of time, I am no longer able to use my number buttons. I had tried to contact Customer Service so many times, and the time that I finally did, they were pretty ignorant with me, and told me they were unwilling to resolve it for me. I had bought an RCA home theater system just before that, but went ahead and returned it. I will NEVER buy another RCA product...caveat emptor (let the buyer beware).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dave from California, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 94 made on Saturday October 9, 2004 at 11:11 PM.
Strengths:Intuitive to use
Backlit Keys
Low Price
Weaknesses:Needs more memory
Quality (Buttons are starting to fail)
Review:I have owned this remote for a little over 2 years. It controls all of my devices and I have been able to program most of the custom keys that I needed. However, the buttons on the remote are starting to fail. I push and push but can't get any response from 3 of the most used keys. I have remapped these keys to others, but I am sure there is more trouble to come in the future. About ready to upgrade to something of higher quality.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Michael Fearn from Vancouver BC Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 93 made on Wednesday June 16, 2004 at 2:18 PM.
Review:Just a short note for all of you people having problems with the clock resetting problem. I think I have the problem fixed. I opened my remote and put a 220uf Electrolytic Capacitor across the cattery terminals. No problems since. If it really bothers you, give it a try. The capacitor can supply the inrush current needed to run the backlight so the remote does not reset.

Other than that I love this remote

I forgot, Princess Auto in Canada is selling this remote for $40 CAN regular and $20 on sale some times. Keep and eye out if you want one.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Paul Z. from Ottawa, ON.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 92 made on Wednesday April 7, 2004 at 1:14 PM.
Strengths:Lots of hard buttons
Great Macros
Learning
Backlight
Weaknesses:Lots of hard buttons
Not enough macros
Not enough learning memory
Review:I bought this remote in Feb. 2001 when I purchased a digital satellite dish, and didn't like the remote that came with it. I've used this remote almost exclusively everyday for my entire home theatre system. (TV, RCVR, DVD, VCR, SAT/CBL). I've even changed my TV (Panasonic to Hitatchi), VCR (RCA to Panasonic), DVD (Panasonic to Panasonic) and satellite (StarChoice to Rogers Digital Cable) over the life of this remote, and using learning, every new component became fully supported on this remote.

This remote has been perfect for me. Tough, responsive, smart and easy for me to use. Unfortunately, there are a couple of things conspiring against it right now: The girlfriend is moving in, and this remote isn't easy enough for her, and a couple of the most imporant and most used buttons are not responding as quickly.

The three macros are great. I've used one for System ON/OFF, one to change everything over to DVD, and one to change everything over to CBL. I'd really love to have some more macros for Playstation, VCR and radio. I also ran out of learning memory, so there were a couple of rarely used button that I couldn't program (but used enough that I have to get out the original remote).

I've never encountered the spontaneous TV mode switch over, and there most certainly is volume punch through, though if I remember, it's not the most obvious in the instruction book. Keep looking - it *is* there. I use it with all my devices.

This remote will be retired (maybe to the second TV) this week in favour of a Sony RM-AV3000. I hope that it performs as well as this one has.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jon Maddox from Indiana.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 91 made on Sunday December 28, 2003 at 4:21 PM.
Strengths:everything
Weaknesses:JP1 initial intimidation
Review:This is a follow-up of my first review 12/30/00. Simply the greatest button remote available.

The best universal remote control available is one with a JP1 connection. There are several models to choose from. Most around $50. They allow you to program your remote using your PC. The connection cable is under $20, and can be used without any soldering. All the software is free.

The basic software interface is easy and powerful. It will even enable features not available on the original remote. One example is the on/off button is live tv/standby, not TiVo Central/Tivo Central. Any signal can be learned, the codes viewed, and moved to any button. Available learning memory space is virtually doubled.

If more is needed, device upgrades can be created in a separate spreadsheet program. This is somewhat more challenging, but accomplishable by the average gadget consumer.

As if that is not enough, an extender hack can be installed. Virtually gutting most of the original universal remotes formatting, and adding five times the available memory. This may fall into the pro or semi-pro category.

The JP1 people at Yahoo groups have everything to get started. My hat is off to them.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 14 for
the RCA RCU810 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse