Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
9/13/19 - Features push-to-talk voice control of Amazon Alexa and Apple TV via Siri.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the RCA RCU810 from RCA.
RCA RCU810
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.95/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
97$69
The RCU810 is a learning and preprogrammed remote control. It features control of 8 devices, 54 buttons with backlighting, an LCD screen, macro keys, plus a sleep timer & clock.


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 14 for
the RCA RCU810 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|Last >> ]

Written by Dreamcast_72 from Vancouver, BC, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 69 made on Wednesday April 10, 2002 at 7:12 PM.
Strengths:JP1 ready allowing to completely reprogramm the remote
Weaknesses:nothing else matters to me than the JP1 interface
Review:It's a breeze with the JP1 soldered on. Limited memory or not, it doesn't matter anymore.
Wow, whoever came up with the JP1 idea was a genius.
I've completely reprogrammed the remote for my 5 devices and still have the whole "learning memory empty". I just love the manual control via JP1, the ability to specific what every button does or doesn't do
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Stacy from Seattle, WA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 68 made on Tuesday April 2, 2002 at 11:31 PM.
Strengths:Looks really cool.

Cheap.

Lots of buttons.
Weaknesses:The LCD (if you hold it just right you can read it) does not tell you much.

The buttons are flimsy.

Transport controls are ill-placed and in a strange configuration.

Seems to randomly forget learned commands.

Limited memory.
Review:I spent a couple of hours programming this remote. I got it to work pretty well, however one command it “learned” it promptly forgot and refused to learn it again. This made me suspicious. I also had to “move” the TV commands back to the TV button even though I never moved them anywhere else. Did the factory reset a few times to try to get it to straighten up but that didn’t help. The preset code for my Harman/Kardon receiver did not work except for a few buttons that actually were misplaced anyway. That means trying to “copy” one remote to it, however this is not possible because of the limited memory.

The buttons do not have a solid feel, very flimsy feeling. I do not believe they will hold up in the long run. When you consider you will hold your remote for hours on end (just admit it channel flippers) you really owe it to yourself to spend an extra $10 and get the Sony RM-VL 900. It’s an excellent product you will be much more satisfied with. No Hollywood backlighting, but a good quality feel and straightforward programming.

I have to rate this low in hopes of dissuading others from purchasing this toy. It probably will do most of what you want it to do, but therein lies the problem. It will probably not do everything you need so as such it is a waste of time and money.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by D E from Minneapolis, MN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 67 made on Saturday March 30, 2002 at 11:04 AM.
Strengths:LCD display. Backlit buttons. JP1 capability. Good battery life.
Weaknesses:JP1 header not installed. Surface is slippery, not as easy to grip.
Review:I had first gotten this remote in an attempt to centralize all my controls. I had to play with several programs to get it all working the way I wanted. With JP1 header added, I was able to update several of the device presets and now it controls EVERYTHING in my home theater.

It is the best aftermarket remote for those with the RCA DTC-100.

JP1 took a bit of help learning how to program, but, no more so than learning how to program a VCR.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Alan from Virginia, US.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 66 made on Thursday March 14, 2002 at 4:20 PM.
Strengths:*Ease of use
*Acceptance of different components
*Strong backlight
*Comfortable in hand
*IR learning on any key
Weaknesses:*Have to tilt remote forward slightly to see lcd clearly, too dim looking straight ahead

Review:I originally went to Best Buy to get the Theater Master MX500 for $169. When my brother and I got there to my dismay they had sold out. My bro and I talked it over for a few minutes and looked at all the other remotes they had on display. I saw the touchscreen Sony and some cheaper models. I then saw the RCA RCU810. I saw the price for $59 and immediately thought that this could not be a nice remote (I'm sorry, I have a bad habit of initially rating how nice something is by how much it cost). Anyway, I came to the conclusion that I could always bring it back so why not give it a try. I have a Pioneer receiver, RCA SAT receiver, Toshiba 53" tv, Toshiba DVD, Phillips VCR and General Instruments cable box for local channels. I would say it took me about 30 minutes to get everything initially set up. Of course I tweaked non-essential buttons for a couple of days to get everything just right. What I am most happy with is that the IR Learner feature can be used on just about any button, not just previously designated buttons. I have a All In One AV800 as well and paid about $30 more for it and doesn't do nearly as well as the RCA. With the All In One, you have to either have it set up for Cable or SAT, but cannot use both...that's a feature that's really nice with the RCA..it has both Cable button and SAT button for those people w/ SAT without local channel service who have to go through local cable company. I have yet to find out what the RCA won't do. As far as no touchscreen..to me that is an absolute complete silly waste of money. Most touchscreen products fail in a matter of a year or so anyway..too many electronic parts inside to go wrong and weaken over time. I don't make buying decisions based on how much I can save, and I would highly recommend this remote whether you're cost conscious or seriously in to your electronic components.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dustin Allred from Indiana.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 65 made on Thursday February 28, 2002 at 12:01 PM.
Strengths:Looks nice, fully backlit, easy learn function
Weaknesses:None really stand out, eats batteries pretty fast.
Review:I've tried touchscreen remotes and a hard button remote like the 810 is really much easier to use, unless you have a complicated home theater. I have a Yamaha dolby digital rec., Panasonic DVD, RCA TV, etc, etc. and had no issues learning any functions that the remote couldn't already handle. Pretty much the entire Yamaha remote I had to learn button by button, but the precedure was simple and didn't take too long. It was certainly worth it to get all of my "other" remotes out of the way. RCA has a winner here. It's too bad that most consumers think touchscreen technology is so cool. For most people, this is all the remote they will ever need.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by jill BENNET from florida,nmiami.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 64 made on Monday February 25, 2002 at 12:12 AM.
Strengths:looks,comfortable,great back lighting
Weaknesses:the fact that the remote dont work at all is all i need to say.
Review:i have had 3 rca rcu 810s, one of wich was a B model wich was worse of all.the first one was able to control just my rca TV and rca DSS reciever and was even able to learn the fetch command on the dss.i should of quit while i was ahead! the remote would constantly freeze up if i tried to do anything else with it and wouldnt even keep time. after repeated manufacture resets i just gave up i felt cheated so i returned the remote two other times and they were even worse !!!!!they wouldnt learn anything and even the ok or select wouldnt work, however the third one was able to keep time but thats about it. what i nightmare, DONT GET THIS REMOTE!!!!YOU WILL BE SORRY !!!!!!!!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by frank from fl.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 63 made on Thursday February 14, 2002 at 11:25 PM.
Strengths:there remote looks great.i like the mute button placement.
Weaknesses:it just dont work at all! except for the pre programed defaults such as a rca tv & rca DSS, they work fine by default.
Review:i spent 2 days trying to program this remote.i thought it would be easy.When it sucessfuly gets a code and i can turn on/off the vcr ,the remote then freezes up! it wont even keep time. the only way i can un freeze the remote is to do a MANUFACTURE RESET! so i gave up trying to program the remote and just use it to controll my rca TV & rca DSS by deault,it does this fine.of course, rca/thomson tech support,if you can call it that,is of NO help at all. Now the batteries are relatively new but not brand new.they are duracell ULTRAs but were 3 weeks old and got little use and the indicator reads FULL.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 14 for
the RCA RCU810 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse