Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
9/13/19 - Features push-to-talk voice control of Amazon Alexa and Apple TV via Siri.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the RCA RCU810 from RCA.
RCA RCU810
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.95/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
97$69
The RCU810 is a learning and preprogrammed remote control. It features control of 8 devices, 54 buttons with backlighting, an LCD screen, macro keys, plus a sleep timer & clock.


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 7 of 14 for
the RCA RCU810 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|4|5|6|7|8|9|10|Last >> ]

Written by Joe Danko from St. Paul, MN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 55 made on Tuesday December 18, 2001 at 5:37 PM.
Strengths:Easy programming. Nice back-lighting. Lots of features.
Weaknesses:Program bugs.
Review:I got this pretty cheap from an Amazon reseller for about 1/2 price. I thought it was a good deal until I started to actually use it. I soon found that some program sequences have unpleasant side effects. I can set TV, VCR, Receiver, etc so everything works but when I start switching between devices certain devices power off/on when selected. They should only do that when the power button is pressed. The effect seems to occur at random with some setups but I have never been able to stop it with my faily new Sony VCR. I got no help from the Thomson 800 number.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Fred Hilsendager from Philadelphia, PA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 54 made on Monday December 3, 2001 at 1:05 PM.
Strengths:Great flexiblity and backlit detail
Weaknesses:Poor placement of VCR/DVD buttons. Build quality is a question.
Review:I actually use the 810B (updated 810) and purchased it at Best Buy for $49, although it is on sale this week for $39. This is my second unit the first one would lose the time on the clock and then reset to no light and TV mode. I exchanged it for one that works fine. If you are looking for customer support call the second number in the manual and it will be "zenith remotes" they will give you the correct RCA number, amazing error.

Anyway on with the review. I used to have a All for One cinema 7 ($24) which was funtional until my daughter dropped once to many times. I ended up with 810B and it works great. I did have to map some of the codes but not many. One thing that helped was my set up. I have a Proscan TV, VCR and DVD player so they all worked on the default codes. Then I changed the codes for my Hughes DSS, Yamaha RX-V393 tuner, and Yamaha CD player. Everything works great without the difficult setup of the All for One.

I plan on replacing the Yamaha with a Denon AVR 2802 so I went into a store changed the code and bam it worked. Now there are a couple of functions I will have to teach the 810B, but not many. Additionally, I love the fact that I can lock the volumn to any unit. That means when I watching anything I don't have to bouncing around to change the volume.

My only concern is that I had to replace the first one and I did have a similar problem with the second one, however, after I reset the remote (no batteries hold the "1" button for a minute and a half) it worked fine. As long as it contines to work I see no need to spend $100+ on a remote.

I have not run into the memory full problem yet.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Andrew from San Antonio,Tx USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 53 made on Friday November 30, 2001 at 12:39 AM.
Strengths:Button Backlighting, Plenty of buttons,
Very simple learning mode, any key able to learn functions for any device,LED Display, Ergonomic design (comfortable to hold)PREPROGRAMMED FOR TIVO
Weaknesses:Memory for some people
Review:COMPONENTS:
Phillips Magnovox 27" TV
Panasonic VCR
Phillips TIVO
Monster CableBOX/Descrambler

This remote kicks ass. The cool Backlighting and LCD display give it the feel you get from the higher end remotes. The easy to learn learning IR had me set up my entire system in 30mins. It was very TIVO FRIENDLY being partially progammed for tivo i only had to ad functions for one or two extra keys. The codes for my TV,and VCR were acurate and need no extra touches.

What I really Liked about this remote is that I could program functions for two remotes under one. Eg: I have my tivo under VCR2, and everyone who has a tivo knows you have to set the peanut remote up for your tv for power and volumne buttons since tivo doesnt control the sound and never turns off. Well on this remote even though I have VCR2set up as tivo I was still able to go back and program the volumne for my TV so in Tivo mode I wont have to switch to tv mode everytime i want to adjust the sound. I did this for my regular vcr mode also.

You get about 25keys worth of learning ability outside of the preset codes so those of you with five devices or more may have to budget your extra keys wisely.
Of course there were no code for my cable descrambler so I had to use alot of my memory for that.(No Complaints Though)

Overall this is a great remote for the money $49 at circuit city. (I got mine off of ebay for $19.99 plus S/H. WHAT A DEAL!!!

Unless you have alot of obscure equipment with hard to find codes THIS REMOTE IS THE ONE FOR YOU!!! I LOVE MINE AND IF IT BROKE TODAY I WOULD RIGHT OUT AND GET ANOTHER ONE!! UNBEATABLE VALUE FOR THE MONEY!! NOTHING ELSE IN ITS PRICE RANGE CAN EVEN COME CLOSE!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Steve from North Hollywood, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 52 made on Wednesday October 17, 2001 at 4:32 AM.
Strengths:Controls many devices
Learning buttons
Macros
Feels good in hand
Efficient, effective backlight
Weaknesses:Can't set SP/SLP on a GE VCR
Not enough memory
Sleep timer function useless
Needs a numerical keypad "index button"
Review:I am not going to belabour the point--this is a great remote. It is the only one that managed to know all the buttons on my Motorola digital cable terminals with no further programming.

The best backlighting on a remote I have seen to date in this price range, the buttons are differentiated well. The macros are good, if limited, and it feels good in the hand.

Now the cons--it is unbelievable to me that a universal remote that purports to run a VCR cannot set the record speed--on its sister branded VCR! I have a GE VG4264 hi-fi VCR that I bought off the scratch and dent table at the local Good Guys for a song. No remote or manual. You can PROGRAM THE RECORD SPEED IN THE TIMER, but there is no "Speed" or "SP/SLP" button on the VCR, it is done on the remote. This button doesn't exist on the 810, and I tried every button in VCR mode to try to find it. This button is absent on every RCA/GE uni-remote I have seen in the store. This is unconsionable to me; a speed control is not an optional feature, this is core to the proper functioning and enjoyment of a VCR. This situation also exists on the Sony VCR in the bedroom, so this remote is not used for programming, but only for power and shuttle functions.

Other glitches: I think everyone who has tried to program this remote has come up against the feeble capacity of its memory. On my bedroom TV (a 1985 JVC 19") the on-remote sleep timer is worthless. My $12 RCA GlowPad remote does a better job. The buttons in the area of the numeric keypad are all the same, the "5" key should be a different shape in order to quickly perform direct channel input.

All-in-all, this is the best RCA remote I have owned, but the lack of a VCR speed control and the lack of memory keep it from being anything more than a wannabe compared with other high end uni-remotes from Sony and One4All.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Gerard Jeronowitz from mesa, az.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 51 made on Sunday August 26, 2001 at 4:17 AM.
Strengths:price
backlight
size / ergonomics
Weaknesses:possible build quality issues
short (90 day) warrant
Review:My first 810 is dying after about 8 months of service (and a glowing review here).
Specifically the lower cluster's up/down buttons started to falter and now no longer work without 5 seconds of hard pressing and rocking. The "go back" button is now starting to fail also.
I'd opened the unit and didn't see any corrosion on the conacts, and cleaning them did not help.
I just tried replacing the 810 with an all-in-one rcu-8800. The 8800 will be going back tomorrow and I will try another 810. If the new unit fails in 8 months I'll know to give up.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim McNamara from Ohio, US.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 50 made on Friday August 24, 2001 at 5:14 PM.
Strengths:Very flexible, macro button useful for home theatre systems.
Weaknesses:Does not seem to work with Panasonic Home Center SC-HT280. When calling the Help line, everything is a recording - no customer service with a live person.
Review:It almost works very well. I almost took it back because it does not work well with my Panasonic Home Center audio system.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kevin from CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 49 made on Wednesday August 22, 2001 at 3:10 PM.
Strengths:Solid quality. LCD display. Good backlighting.
Weaknesses:Slow macro execution. LCD display contrast not very good. JP1 connector not factory installled.
Review:I bought this remote just as a toy to go along with my RS 15-1994. I like the look and feel of the 810 almost as much as the 1994 but the very bottom controls are too far down and awkward. The IR from this remote seems to control my receiver volume (analog control) more precisely than the 1994. With the addition of the JP1 header this remote can do anything the 1994 can and is a bit cheaper if you find a bargain on ebay.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 7 of 14 for
the RCA RCU810 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|4|5|6|7|8|9|10|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse