Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
9/13/19 - Features push-to-talk voice control of Amazon Alexa and Apple TV via Siri.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the RCA RCU810 from RCA.
RCA RCU810
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.95/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
97$69
The RCU810 is a learning and preprogrammed remote control. It features control of 8 devices, 54 buttons with backlighting, an LCD screen, macro keys, plus a sleep timer & clock.


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 14 for
the RCA RCU810 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|Last >> ]

Written by Joe from NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 62 made on Sunday January 20, 2002 at 1:44 PM.
Strengths:Backlight
Easy to program
Active code for device is displayed
Feel
Weaknesses:Mute button in between ch. up/down is too high
VCR/DVD controls not too intuitive

Review:This remote feels comfertable in your hand. Although you need to manuver it quite a bit to get to the bottom to control your VCR/DVD. I like that it could control virtually all of my most important functions in my set-up. I had to cutomize a few which was easy. The hard part is remembering what buttons I assigned. I wish I could label them on the LCD some how. The backlight button should be bigger or placed better. The mute button sits between the ch up/down which wouldn't be a problem except that it rises above the ch. down button which feels awkward. Not to mention I pressed mute mistakenly a couple of times. Overall though I'm pleased. For the money this is probably the best you can get.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dave from Michigan, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 61 made on Thursday January 17, 2002 at 9:56 AM.
Strengths:Size, ease of use
Weaknesses:VCR controls a bit awkward
Review:I have the B version and while I've only had it a few days, I love it. I don't care if it doesn't have the JP1 interface, I'd never use it.

Three of my five componants are RCA, so those worked fine off the bat. I was most concerned about my DISH PVR remote features working. After finding the right Echostar code, most features of the normal Dish remote were there. I simply had the RCU810b IR LEARN the others, and in 5 minutes I was all set. I'm very happy--FINALLY I need only one remote to control everything!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Steve Berube from NH.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 60 made on Thursday January 3, 2002 at 8:52 PM.
Strengths:LCD
Learning Capability
Macros
JP1 Interface (Once you put it in)
Weaknesses:Should have came w/ the JP1 interface
Clock *SOMETIMES* randomly loses time.
Review:Payed $39.95 at Circuit City. This is the A version.

First off this is my first 'real' universal remote control. I Love it. I love the Blue lighted display, I love the LCD, I LOVE the JP1 interface. Its a nicely designed remote. Not a brick like some of them out there. People complain about the vcr controls.. but where else would you have put them!?. This is a great remote and I recommend picking one up. I've never tried the RS 1994, but picture wise, this one is more attractive. I've had no problems with this remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Nils Davis from San Jose, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 59 made on Wednesday January 2, 2002 at 9:20 PM.
Strengths:Pretty colors.
Weaknesses:a) didn't control my Onkyo receiver correctly
b) didn't control my RCA(!) DVD changer correctly
b) a key "nice to have" feature is missing (like from most remotes) -- I want to use the TV volume control when using the TV, and the receiver's volume control when listening to audio. I'm hoping someday to find a remote that will understand this, and support it automatically by making the volume control punch through appropriately whether I'm doing audio stuff or TV stuff.
Review:I'm looking for a remote that will handle my audio and video setup. When watching TV, I run the audio through the TV. When listening to a CD or radio, or watching a DVD, I use the receiver's audio.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Gene from monroe, CT.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 58 made on Wednesday December 26, 2001 at 11:13 AM.
Strengths:Backlighting
Weaknesses:Setup, programming codes, documentation.
Review:This was a gift, and I've not been able to get very much up and running with it. After an hour or so of frustration and reading these reviews, I'm exchanging it for a Sony.

I have a nearly all-Sony system, and the RCA controlled the Sony TV (more or less completely ... but where's the TV/VCR function?), some of the Sony home theatre receiver (functions showed up in the wrong
places), and could not find a code for the Sony VCR. My Panasonic DVD can be switched on and off and that's it !!

I imagine spending 2-3 more hours would get me closer to "functional". However I've read the reviews on the Sony VM-900 and I've got to believe that will work better with all this Sony stuff...if not, I'll post a review on the Sony.

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dan Wilson from Texas, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 57 made on Sunday December 23, 2001 at 1:23 AM.
Strengths:- Inexpensive ($49) for the number of devices it can control.
- Nice size, very one-hand useable.
- Most buttons well laid-out (exception: VCR buttons).
- Macro capability.
- Learning capability.
- Very nice backlight.
- The JP1 interface (!).
Weaknesses:- User's manual has a few errors or misleading/missing steps with some of the programming sequences.
- If you have a device that the remote doesn't support, don't expect to be able to transfer the other devices remote completely through learning - you will run out of memory. (But see review below).
- Macros limited to 15 keystrokes.
- Lack of special-function support for many devices. (But see review below).
- Selected button layout for some devices is non-logical. (But see review below).
Review:When I first bought this remote, I was pleased to replace about 6 remotes with it, which is what I wanted to do. However, I did find some shortcomings with the remote. One of my devices wasn't supported, so I had to continue using the original remote for that one. (I had tried to "learn" all the buttons from the other remote, but ran out of memory before all the keys were learned). Two of my devices, when programmed, had set the function keys to also do power on/off, which is annoying - everytime you want to switch to that device, it will power cycle it. And most of my other devices had only basic functions programmed in - special things like 30-second skip-ahead on my VCR wasn't implemented. And, finally, the button layout for some of the devices was less than satisfactory - I thought it would be more logical to switch some of the buttons around.

Up to that point, I though this remote was average, maybe above-average, considering it was cheap. However, a few days ago I discovered this site: http://www.hifi-remote.com/jp1/index.shtml, revealing the JP1 interface on this remote.

I was completely excited to see this, and thanks to the JP1 interface, EVERY shortcoming of the remote that I just mentioned was addressed. I now have full function for every device, my own custom button layout, support for the device it didn't support (without learning, and without running into any memory limitation), custom macros assigned to keys other than the macro keys, the list goes on. Once a JP1 interface is made for this remote, it becomes the best value of any remote I've ever seen, and I finally have the reality I always strived for - full control of an 8-device A/V system from 1 remote.

Note that the JP1 interface modification is not for beginners. It requires a hardware modification to the RCU810 (soldering in a 6-pin header), requires soldering together a JP1 cable, and has quite a learning curve for the software required to reprogram the remote like this. Note also that all of the software is freeware, and therefore is not commercial-quality, and has no support whatsoever. However, for $10 in parts for the cable, free software, and some time to modify the remote and learn to use the software from the provided guides, you have a $49 remote that does everything just like YOU want.

My quality ratings below are based on after I programmed the remote with the JP1.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeff Kramer from St. Louis, Missouri, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 56 made on Wednesday December 19, 2001 at 1:35 PM.
Strengths: Feels like a remote and not a wide brick!
LCD display so you know which device it is set to.
The key placement is the same as the RCA satellite receiver remotes; which is nice because other manufacturers would not have these keys on their remotes.
Good IR distance
Good back light
Up to 8 devices available
Two VCR buttons (I have a Sony and a GO-Video so this was nice)
3 macros that really work (even though it only has 3, this is a good value for less than $50).
3 extra learning keys for any button or device.
Allows you to copy one remote to another.
I incorrectly programmed the remote the first time by accidentally changing the main device buttons (i.e. the TV button became the DVD button). This remote has a manufacturer reset so that you can start over without removing the batteries.
You can program this remote by manufacturer code, let it scan for the correct code automatically or you can manually scan for the correct code.
I used the remote for the following 8 devices:
1. Yamaha Model RX-V850 Receiver/Tuner (from 1992)- CODE USED: 0193 ("AUD" button)
2. Toshiba 32" TV (from 1992)- CODE USED: 0173
3. Sony Model SLV-640HF VCR (from 1992)- CODE USED: 0049 ("VCR1" button)
4. GO-Video (from 1997) - CODE USED: 0543 ("VCR2" button)
5. Sony Model DVP-5350 DVD player (from early 2001) - CODE USED: 0550
6. Motorola digital cable box - CODE USED: 0293
7. RCA Model DRD450 satellite receiver (from late 2001) - CODE USED: 0409
8. Sony Model CDP-CX200 CD changer 200(from 1998?) - CODE USED: 0017 ("AUX" button)
Weaknesses: Only 3 macro keys with 15 keystrokes per macro (even though it only have 3 macro keys, this is still a good value for less than $50).
Volume lockout (I tried this and it works but the MUTE button wouldn't work at all).
VCR control buttons are too low and hard to control with one hand (or thumb, for that matter).
I don't know how long the batteries will last since I have not owned it very long. If the lifespan is too short, I will use rechargeable batteries anyway.
Review:This review is probably too early to submit but I figured it could possibly help many people who are undecided about what remote to buy (like I was). I prefer an electronic device with a lot of bells and whistles. However, I think this remote will satisy many people like me plus those who aren't so saavy with techno gadgets.

I have not owned this remote very long (less than a month) but I have not had a problem with it so far.

This remote sells for $49.99 at Best Buy but I found an 'open box' remote for only $39.60 (Circuit City also sells it new for $49.99). This price is a very good deal for a remote that can do so much. Why pay $50, when you'll still get a money-back guarantee from a reputable company like Best Buy or Circuit City?

You cannot program it with a PC, but for $50 and such ease, it doesn't matter.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 14 for
the RCA RCU810 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse