Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-VL900 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-VL900
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.51/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
102$59
The Sony RM-VL900 is an economical all-button universal remote that can control up to 8 devices. It has multiple macros, full learning capability on every key, plus a great ergonomic design.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 15 for
the Sony RM-VL900 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|Last >> ]

Written by Mark Radell from Kentucky.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 67 made on Friday December 27, 2002 at 8:57 AM.
Strengths:Price, Macros, Learning Function
Weaknesses:Instructions
Review:I was up and operating in < 15 minutes after I opened the box. I'm operating a Sony TV, Hitachi VCR, Sony DVD Player, Teac Dual Tape Deck, Motorola Digital Cable Box, Panosonic CD Player and a Yamaha Receiver. Codes worked great on all but the cable box so after trying a few I just went to the learning function and sety up the buttons in a couple of minutes.

Macros were just as easy. Now when I hit DVD it turns on the TV, DVD Player and Receiver, sets the inputs and sets volume control to the Receiver with the push on 1 button, how much easier can it be!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Matt from Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 66 made on Thursday December 26, 2002 at 10:54 AM.
Strengths:Price, Ability to "learn", Ease of use, Functionality
Weaknesses:Instruction manual, no batteries included
Review:For the price and availability, the Sony RM-VL900 remote is awesome. Our local Best Buy had plenty of these remotes in stock. Out of the box, the remote worked flawlessly with all my sony components (DVD, VCR, & TV). I easily taught the RM-VL900 remote to learn some of the commands of my AIWA mini system. The remote has a very nice feel to it. It's comfortable and very easy to use. The IR beam is better than that of my individual component remotes...I simply aimed the remote in the general vicinity and it worked great.

I only see 2 weaknesses. These are not technically weaknesses of the remote itself, so I gave the remote a perfect 5 out of 5 in all areas. The only 2 weaknesses in general are the instruction manual and the lack of batteries. It would have been nice if the manual was exactly like the instructions featured on remotecentral.com. It would have been nice if Sony would have supplied batteries.

Overall...the Sony RM-VL900 is one GREAT remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by David from Redmond, WA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 65 made on Sunday December 8, 2002 at 3:20 PM.
Strengths:Learns everything, great erganomics, great IR signal output, macros, easy to use.
Weaknesses:The "delete assigned function" routines for various buttons is quirky and unneccessary, but that's not a big deal. People complain that there's no backlighting, but personally I think that's a strength since it means longer battery life and since you generally memorize button locations over time.
Review:I originally bought the 89.95 RM-VL1000. It was TERRIBLE! Especially compared to this model. It has less IR signal output (meaning you would have to point it DIRECTLY at the components for it to work), terrible erganomics, and was overall user unfriendly (guests gave up on it within the first few seconds). I took that back and "downgraded" to the 59.95 RM-VL900, and WHAT a good move that was. This thing meets every my every expectation. Aside from some of the setup quirkiness: it's easy to use, my wife picked it up very quickly, it has simple to set up macros, and you can even program the function buttons as macros. For example, when I press the vcr button, it will change the remote context so that I'm controling the vcr. But if I hold it down for a few seconds, I have it programmed to switch to my amp, switch the amp mode to vcr, and switch the remote context back to vcr. Seems like a pretty standard thing, but the VL1000 just couldn't do this.

Another guy complained about the buttons not having "repeat" functionality, but I think that problem is just with their specific configuration. Repeat works excellent with my RCA vcr channel changing and my Denon amp volumn control as well as the fast forward on my Pioneer cd changer.

The only thing I liked more about the VL1000 was that the joystick felt much more comfortable than the seperate up/down/left/right buttons on the VL900.

The VL900 has a nice comfortable rubber edge that feels great, compared to the 1000. I can truely operate all devices with one hand with this remote, which was not the case with the 1000.

This is the greatest remote I've used so far. And it has a great price. Definitely recommend this one.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by matt from MI.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 64 made on Wednesday December 4, 2002 at 6:05 PM.
Strengths:Learns anything. Macros. Ability to run my Dishnetwork dishplayer.
Weaknesses:No backlight.
Review:I love this remote!!! I couldn't find any remote that would run my dishplayer. But this one learned it an does a great job. I love the macros.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Larry from Salt Lake City, Utah.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 63 made on Thursday October 24, 2002 at 1:07 AM.
Strengths:Easy to program, Macros, Compatability with non Sony brands.
Weaknesses:Does not repeat function when button is held down, (i.e. when holding down channel up button remote will only change one channel not matter how long you hold it down.)
Review:I bought the RM 900 after looking at every single remote in store at about four different stores. I have always trusted Sony products and this was no exception. I feel that the RM 900 has a very good design and seems to have been made very solidly. I have been able to program it to work every single function I need to use for two rooms in the house. While some reviews have expressed a disappointment that only the component selection buttons light up. I feel that was a very smart design for Sony, actually all the buttons are glow in the dark which I feel is better since it wonít drain the batteries as fast as lights would. Also the overall design is very intuitive and I am able to use the remote without even looking at it. I would definitely recommend this remote to anyone. If you need more functions than the RM-VL900 provides then you are probably spending way to much time operating equipment and not enjoying the entertainment.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Raymond from Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 62 made on Friday October 11, 2002 at 1:03 PM.
Strengths:-Easy to use
-Easy to program
-Affordable
-Attractive
Weaknesses:-No backlight (the only reason why I gave this remote a 4 in the Features Rating)
Review:This was my third remote I bought within 3 days. I wanted one remote to control everything I have, which is a JVC tv, Pioneer CD player, Panasonic DVD player, Hitachi VCR, and Harmon Kardon amplifier. The other two remotes were a $30 One for all 8 device universal remote and a $150 Zenith touchpad remote. The Zenith remote was crap. For $150 it didn't even know the code to control my tv. I had to teach that remote everything. And, even after teaching it it didn't even learn it properly. When changing channels it would skip two channels and the volume would increase/decrease in increments of 3. The only positive thing I could say about the remote is it had a nice blue backlight. Alternatively, the One 4 All remote worked amazingly compared to the Zenith. It operated all my components but had no learning function and only knew the basic commands for each unit. It also had a gaudy red backlight which eliminated that function completely.
So, finally, after doing a little research I came upon the Sony VL900. I comtemplated getting the VL1000 and even the AV2100 but felt it was too expensive especially if the VL900 could do the same job. I also considered the RCA 810 model but after reading the reviews here and learning that some will work and others won't I steered away from it. I decided I didn't want to spend a lot for my remote. I'd rather spend that money upgrading my speakers or putting it towards a new tv. Plus, most of the expensive remotes were two handed toys and I wanted something that would feel comfortable and usable with one hand. So, off I went to test this little baby. After entering all the codes for each component I was exstactic to find it could operate everything. I started fine tweaking my remote for special functions and voila, each remote was being replaced by this one great remote. This may sound trivial but I even taught the remote to change channels and change volume for my tv with the directional keypad. This made handling the remote extremely comfortable. If you notice the remote the volume and channel buttons are near the bottom but when I grab the remote my thumb is always near the directional keypad. So, instead of making do I just taught it and my comfort level has gone up. I was able to program everything into this remote and doing so was a breeze. Even programming macros was easy. I can honestly say this remote has replaced my other remotes. Usually, I would have to save the remotes because of one or two unique functions but all I do now is learn it to my Sony remote and bye-bye clutter.
Other remotes may have flashy colors or LCD touchpads but in the end if all you're doing is flipping channels or setting up for a night of movies this remote will do the job. And, for those of you who has a multi-array system like myself and want to control everything, this is it. And, if you're lucky like me and can find this on sale, grab it. If you can't find it on sale, grab it anyways. You won't be disappointed.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Michael Bobrow from Rochester NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 61 made on Wednesday September 25, 2002 at 8:18 PM.
Strengths:Cheap, very easy to program. Macros worked great with all my components.
Weaknesses:No backlighting for majority of buttons.
Review:This remote is fantastic. I actually have stopped using my Pronto (programming that one is a part time job let me tell you). The sony controls ALL of my components perfectly, Even my Marantz 300 CD changer (which the pronto always had trouble with).

It was a snap to set up macros to the component buttons controlling my Sony: TV, Tivo, VCR, DVD, Marantz: CD and Amp.

The only negative is the lack of backlighting for the majority of buttons.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 15 for
the Sony RM-VL900 remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse