Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Philips Pronto TS-1000 from Philips Electronics.
Philips Pronto TS-1000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.11/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
39$399
This Philips Pronto is one of the most popular LCD remote controls in the marketplace. It features a high-resolution backlit touchscreen display and the capability to control a nearly unlimited number of devices. Also applies to the European RU890.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 6 for
the Philips Pronto TS-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Written by Ron from Orange County, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 39 made on Tuesday December 23, 2003 at 7:49 PM.
Strengths:Customization, battery life amd a wealth of device information right here at RemoteCentral.
Weaknesses:Could use a few more hard buttons.
Review:I've had this remote for almost 2 years now, and was considering upgrading to a new device. But then after reading reviews of the latest and greatest remotes, I realized I already have it. Sure a color screen would be nice, but it would also eat up battery power. I'm down to 20% remaining memory, so maybe the 2000 might be in order, but so far it has been able to accomodate everything I've thrown at it - including a camcorder, fan and subwoofer. After over a year I've finaly found discrete HD codes for my DTC-100 sat receiver, and my new Panasonic DVD player is capable of using discrete power codes from older models.

So, I've seen the so-called new and improved models out there right now. But I haven't really seen anything that makes me want to replace my TS-1000 yet. Give me a color screen with the same battery life, a little more memory, a few more hard buttons, and at the same price - and I might consider it. But I suspect the TS-1000 will serve me well for perhaps another 2 years. :-)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tyler from Eugene, OR.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 38 made on Thursday February 20, 2003 at 12:40 AM.
Strengths:responsive touch screen
customisable interface
Weaknesses:slow menus
poor battery life for rechargable AA's
durability concerns
lack of hard buttons
Prontoedit is very counter-intuitive.
no tactile feedback for on touch screen
Review:You've read all the other reviews, just read the pros and cons on mine.

When it's all said and done, I've had a pronto for a long time, and while it was a cool remote, Even with custom CCF files every remote I own took up at least two pages, and it sucked scrolling around all the time when I had to do something that there wasn't a macro for.

often I found myself using my factory issued remotes instead of the pronto. All in all, it was a cool experience, and I had fun with it, but my pronto's screen broke and I'm not buying another one. I will pay a bit more and get a MX-500. Seriously, read the reviews for this remote. It's design really makes sense. the pronto is better than a lot of remotes out there, but for $20 more, the mx-500 sounds better and I wish I had bought one originally for so many reasons.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by John Coulson from Tasmania, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 37 made on Friday January 11, 2002 at 10:10 PM.
Strengths:* It replaces 10 remotes
* Macros mean it can perform the operation of more than one remote at the touch of a button e.g. turn on an amp, select the input for a tuner, tune the appropriate station and select the appropriate DSP mode.
Weaknesses:Unsuited to anyone not prepared to be patient and to learn how to efficiently program it (took me a year to drop to how powerful it is)
I found it is sometimes difficult to "learn" from other remotes, requiring an isolated and darkened spot with careful alignment necessary.
Review:Bottom line is that my wife (who cannot reliably program a VCR) can turn on our very complex system (http://www.audioasylum.com/upl...entsNov2001.jpg)
to see and/or hear what she wants to. Unfortunately we have some items which do not have IR power on, so the Pronto is supplemented by a 4 channel garage remote for them.
I also find the Pronto not good for use with our Toshiba DVD player so usually use its remote along with the Pronto. I would like a couple more hard buttons on it.

Battery drain is no problem using the docking station and the rechargeable battery.

Otherwise it does everything I could hope for.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kevin Nickerson from Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 36 made on Monday November 19, 2001 at 10:23 PM.
Strengths:Very nice looking
Weaknesses:Pain in the BUTT to program from software
No user book or software book
Review:Replaced 8 Remotes over a long time of training
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Carlie Manfu from Lexington, KY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 35 made on Friday October 12, 2001 at 3:30 PM.
Strengths:Finally ended that coffee table clutter.
The Wife can watch TV, DVD, Movies on either big screen or 27" TV.
Weaknesses:Screen sensitivity, could be better.
Needed complete screen control and editing in ProntoEdit.
Fighting for control with the wife.
Review:I guess, I'm late to the game only just receiving my TS1000. However so far I'm really happy with it. I managed to find enough .CCF files and .BMP files to edit, cut copy and paste my way into total control. I noticed a real lack of .ccf files for individual components in the Pioneer range. I'll be helping in that area. I've been a Pioneer dealer for years and some of Pioneers remotes have been good however none have had this flexibility. I'm happy, and my wife is thrilled. By setting up menus to guide her through what she's trying to accomplish she can now manage to do anything she wants with the system. Now I'll have to compete with her for control.
I give it high marks for functionality and with the IR to X10 converter everything else it now at a finger touch with out another remote standing by.
Later All.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Paul Aijtink from Netherlands.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 34 made on Friday September 7, 2001 at 8:02 AM.
Strengths:The possibility to get rid of the 10 Remotes and to replace it with the Pronto 890 (1000 in USA)
Weaknesses:It is the most incomplete and incomprehensive manual I have ever seen. I don't understand what they are talking about!.
But there is some hope: www.remotecentral.com :))
Review:Well a bit of short notice to give a real oppinion yet!

Just wondering how many weeks I will need to get this machine working! My Philips TV and VCR are not the problem.... Well maybe I will keep you informed when I am finnished installing and when everything works!!!

P.S. My ratings is just what I am hoping for!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Allen from Tampa, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 33 made on Wednesday July 4, 2001 at 11:37 PM.
Strengths:It works.
Weaknesses:1. Terrible documentation; no support other than this site.

2. No pre-programmed codes for equipment.
Review:If you buy this, you had better have a flair for web page design. If you are just a regular every-day consumer, YOU WILL NOT BUY THIS REMOTE AND HAVE IT DOING EVERYTHING YOU WANT WITHIN A FEW HOURS. You will spend days, possibly weeks getting all the artwork prepared and functioning properly. The remote is a blank canvas and you shall be the artesian. You will want to hire a programmer and will be mad at yourself for needing one.

For those of you who made this thing work, you have my sincerest admiration. I bow to you.

I have figured out that I am not willing to spend the days it would take to beat this remote. I'm off to buy the One For All 9900. It will not be as capable, not as fancy - but I will hopefully get it to operate my all of the features of my equipment since it has the pre-programmed codes. I do not care how the screen looks. I just want easy functionality.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 6 for
the Philips Pronto TS-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse