Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Philips Pronto TS-1000 from Philips Electronics.
Philips Pronto TS-1000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.11/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
39$399
This Philips Pronto is one of the most popular LCD remote controls in the marketplace. It features a high-resolution backlit touchscreen display and the capability to control a nearly unlimited number of devices. Also applies to the European RU890.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 6 for
the Philips Pronto TS-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Written by Eric Schlais from Minneapolis, MN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 11 made on Tuesday October 3, 2000 at 2:36 PM.
Strengths:the only remote you need, looks great, good battery life, great flexability
Weaknesses:very steep learning curve for a remote control, expensive, little to large for my hand
Review:I replaced my SL-9000 with this remote when I found a new one on Ebay for a steal. Though it is challenging to program (I have doubts that my parents could at all), I think it is worth it. I have not used a remote before that completely replaced all the others in my home theater setup, as the Pronto has. The programming, while tough, lets the user set up the remote with as much distinction as an individual's home theater. It is also a great conversation piece, lots of people think it is a PDA... While this remote is by no means a bargain, there are few better deals in cost vs. functionally to be found, at least in my opinion.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Namir Gharaibeh from Michigan, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 10 made on Saturday September 30, 2000 at 12:20 AM.
Strengths:1: Learns almost ANY remote, thus replacing almost ALL of em!
2: Total customization of interface.
3: Ability to make any combination of keypresses for macros.
4: The PC software interface for editing.
Weaknesses:1: OK OK, a tad on the pricy side.
2: There's a bit of a learning curve to do all the facy stuff.
3: A tad on the delicate side.
4: wish it fit in my hand a tad better, too.
Review:All in all, a perfect fit for me! I don't even mind the weaknesses (excpet for #1). I love getting into the nuts & bolts, learning how the interface & design work. I enjoy the customization aspect probably the greatest. Any combination of buttons in any shape or picture you can dream of you can realize!
The only real weakness (on of mine not the Pronto's) is weather or not to get the next version. Color & more memory!

Seriously, this remote, interface-wize, is heads & shoulders above all else. Check out the variety of interfaces available here at RemoteCentral!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Marcus Keeler from The Hague, Holland.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Tuesday September 26, 2000 at 4:35 AM.
Strengths:It's replaced 10 remote controls in a single movement.
Weaknesses:A little bulky and I'm terrified that someone will drop it, I don't imagine it will take a fall onto a hard floor very well.
Review:I was initially peeved by the lack of "in-the-box" software. I expected a CD and a decent manual at least, especially given the price tag.
That aside though, the rest of the package is superb. I managed to replace all remotes (bar one. A Pro-line DVD Player) within an hour.
To be honest though, I have tweaked the Pronto fairly regularly for weeks and recently I have started to design my own screens using my own bitmaps and those of others found on remotecontrol.com.
In summary, it is GREAT, and I love it to bits.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joel Sweat from Long Beach, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 8 made on Sunday September 24, 2000 at 9:25 PM.
Strengths:Macros that combine often-used sequences to a one-touch button.
Weaknesses:Far and away, the ProntoEdit software gets my vote for worst-documented and least user-friendly software ever created. I have spent several weekends (literally) trying to modify my layouts and have still never successfully downloaded a single modification to the remote. The user manual is pathetic, there is no online help to speak of, and Phillips offers no support of any kind.
Review:Nice concept, and since I have never used other universal remotes I can't speak to how the Pronto compares with others, but the difficulty in using the ProntoEdit software (which was the big selling point my HT dealer used to get us to buy the Pronto) is enough to make me throw the thing out the window and happily resume using all 7 individual remotes.
Until Phillips improves the ProntoEdit documentation and/or support, I certainly wouldn't recommend this product.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chas Rampenthal from Boston, MA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Tuesday September 19, 2000 at 4:13 PM.
Strengths:The ability to place all my remotes in storage - for good.

RemoteCentral resource (it makes the remote ten times more valuable)
Weaknesses:A little hard to master working with ProntoEdit. If it wasn't for RemoteCentral, I might have given up. For $300+, this remote should come with a comprehensive manual for designing custom configurations, and include a CD conntaining example solutions for common problems. The manual is pretty weak.
Review:Although I have had the remote for a few months, I only recently got around to customizing it to my system. Now that I have, I can't imagine going back to using more than one remote, or using a "one-for-all" learning remote that does not allow the user to tailor it to his or her own needs. In times past, It took a lot of time just to explain the basic functions of my home theater system. Now a complete stranger could walk in the door and master the whole system in mere minutes. It is a must for anyone with a complex system.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by A Evans from Worcestershire, UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Sunday September 3, 2000 at 6:51 PM.
Strengths:The screen configuration is amazing, you can freely design all screens for use with you AV equipment providing you use a PC

Unlimited devices and the ability to learn IR codes are also major strengths
Weaknesses:Although the device does fit in the palm of your hand it is still quite large.
Review:I recieved my pronto about 3 weeks ago and have just completed configuring all those lovely customisable screens.

The pronto has replaced ALL my remote controls, I now have a large space on the table next to the sofa to fill with more electronic goodies.

The range of the pronto is fantastic. This does however create a small problem when trying to clean grubby fingermarks and cat hair off the touch screen without inadvertantly sending codes to devices.

I am very pleased with the pronto and would strongly advice it to anyone. Yes the price is a little high but the functionality makes up for that.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jack from California USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Monday August 28, 2000 at 9:54 PM.
Strengths:Can learn all my remotes, and them some! Love being able to create macro buttons.
Weaknesses:I wish it was slimmer and the LCD was longer. As everyone else says brighter would be better, of couse color would be best. Seems funny in this day and age, that they didnt just start off with color.
Review:All in All A great product. Wish I used it more for my entertainment system, I'm still playing with it to get it just the way I want it..
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 6 for
the Philips Pronto TS-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse