Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Philips Pronto TS-1000 from Philips Electronics.
Philips Pronto TS-1000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.11/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
39$399
This Philips Pronto is one of the most popular LCD remote controls in the marketplace. It features a high-resolution backlit touchscreen display and the capability to control a nearly unlimited number of devices. Also applies to the European RU890.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 6 for
the Philips Pronto TS-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Written by Lance Brown from Memphis, TN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 25 made on Wednesday January 31, 2001 at 10:43 PM.
Strengths:"0" Limitations, It will do EVERYTHING
Turn on all of your equipment with one button
Weaknesses:I miss the buttons four times when you want to page up and down with DSS. With no physical button to push it makes it kind of hard. Iím always hitting the wrong button.

Iíve had the unit Lock up a few times, but it always resets itself and seems to be OK.

The unit is not very easy to hold in your hand. Most people will need two hands.

You will find yourself looking at your remote more then you use to.

Battery meter SUCKS. Never works right.

The display Philips uses is very very poor quality.

The charger stand was poorly designed. You must fit the unit on perfectly are it will fall off.

Way over priced. Worth $199
Review:Over all I would have to say Iím a little disappointed the Philips design and quality control. It looks like their soon to be released color model will be a step in the right direction, but not for $700-$900. My suggestion would be to wait if you can for the price to come down so the wonít be in buyer remorse mode like myself :(
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Robert Blanshard from Dallas, TX, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 24 made on Saturday January 27, 2001 at 7:38 PM.
Strengths:Complete and utter expandability with endless growth potential. The ability to change out the look and feel of the remote just by changing out the .ccf file.
Weaknesses:With a very steep learning curve, it may take you several weeks before you fully understand the Pronto and the Pronto Edit software.
Review:I won this wonderful piece of engineering from this incredible website. I've been in love with the Pronto before I got it in the mail. I would highly recommend this remote to anyone seriously interested in home theater.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Miika from Helsinki, Finland.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 23 made on Saturday January 20, 2001 at 2:28 PM.
Strengths:Programmability
Customizable (createmenus how you like)
Easy to use
Handy
Replaces your other rc's
Weaknesses:Price
LCD light action should be more customizable (comes back on when you tap the screen when the LCD is on)
Review:Programming (with the unit):
Oh gawd, I feel for you guys who don't
have the possibility of using computer and ProntoEdit. I mean yeah it works like a charm but no customized menus and creating and placing those damn buttons with units own built in program is horrible. Yuck.

Programming (ProntoEdit):
Oh yes. After reading other reviews about how hard it is to program this unit got me wondered abit, but... The first time I started ProntoEdit I felt like I had used it years already. Very easy, very simple, very handy. A must to have to get everything out of your remote.

To 'program' the unit you really don't need to know anything about any program language but to understand how the remotes work. You create a button (with any image editor), import it to the ProntoEdit, assign a function to the button (lets say a power on/off) by clickin Learn IR, pressing the power button on the original remote and let the pronto do the learning. Voila, so simple, so easy that anyone with common sense can do this. Just select a button (made, ready built in or the hard buttons) and assign it a function. Macros are just many functions in a row, nothing special in that so no worries. Anyone that can set a timer rec on the modern VCRs can 'program' this remote.

Feel of the unit:
Yup, its a bit largish but light. Using it with one hand is hard to impossible but for me it ain't a problem using two hands and looking at the touch screen. Philips should have added some non-slippery stuff on the bottom and sides of the remote since it will very easly slip off the couch or if you are clumsy, you may drop it off your hands. The other downside is that the touchpad is ofcourse completely feelles. You can't rest your finger on some button without actually pressing it, but hold it right above it unlike on basic remotes with buttons. Some ppl may find this annoying, but I got a hold of it quickly.

Display:
Umm, yeah ok it could be sharper and clearer, but it's really not such a big deal especially for those who have used Psion series pocket PCs.

What disturbs me a bit is that when you set the LCD to go off like in 30 secs and the LCD light to go out in 10 secs you are not able to turn the lights back on by just tapping the screen (this applies to the hard buttons too). Ok it's not overwhelming to press the light button, but I would like it work like I explained.

ProntoEdit:
Like I said, I felt comfy with this program. Only thing I really miss is the possibility to 'select all' (buttons and frames) and move them all at once on some direction. Now you have to do the moving one by one and if you want to be sure the distance between the buttons remains the same...(10 taps to the left, 11 taps to downwards...with 10 buttons...happy keyboard tapping :-D )

Overall:
Anyone with more than 2 remote controls and with extra $$$ should consider this remote. It's simple to use and easy to modify for your liking with ProntoEdit (to own a computer is a must as I see it).

Mmm I wonder how many actually will buy the Docking station :-D. I rather use the NiMH/NiCd/Li-Ion batteries I've got than spend the $$$ for something that looks fancy but would just be another useless application. Philips should sell the rc and the ds in the same package as Marantz does with their RC5000.

Before you go and buy it tho, give it a try at the store and see how it feels using a touch screen.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rudi Angeli from New Jersey.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 22 made on Wednesday December 6, 2000 at 7:05 PM.
Strengths:Very flexable I replace all of my romotes with this one. Makes it so anybody can pick it up and watch a movie without instructions me and my wife love it
Weaknesses:I find sometimes the screen does not respond to touch. I wish it had a joystick control like my sony Sat remote.
Review:I am an AV installer/programer I find this unit very easy to coustomize for many applications. If gear is spread around the room a simple Dinky Link from Xantac takes care of it. My coustomers love when I put an (all off) button on all panels. And it's a bargin when compaired to Crestron witch I normaly install
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark Frelink from the Netherlands.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 21 made on Sunday December 3, 2000 at 10:53 AM.
Strengths:Pronto-edit, flexible, 1 remote for all your equipment.
Weaknesses:Overpriced, Very very very bad screen, the contrast is poor. Awfully slow (not the infrared commands, but switching from screen to screen, even when no bitmaps are used)
Review:The reason I bought the Pronto was a simple one: I had remotes all over the place, 10 to be exact. If I wanted to watch a DVD, I had to use 3 remotes, no more with a Pronto. The best selling point of the Pronto is that you can design your own remote. Itīs small and light enough to operate in 1 hand. But there are some important weaknesses too, keep that in mind.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bobusan from California, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 20 made on Friday November 24, 2000 at 1:55 AM.
Strengths:Too many to list. I like my Palm V. I LOVE my Pronto.
Weaknesses:Screen could be sharper. The 42 page user manual is a joke. But I'm not complaining.
Review:I have used the Pronto for about 1 day now and all I can say is "I'm blown away"!

What an incredible remote.

I thought the hype I read here about this remote was just that - hype. But it is all true. If you have a decent home theater system, you owe it to yourself to get a Pronto. This product is as close as you can get to perfection in a universal remote.

Go get one. Trust me.

The software you'll use to modify your new Pronto (catch my drift?) is called ProntoEdit and it is extremely flexible AND FUN to use. It takes a while to get the hang of ProntoEdit - I hated it the first hour - but once you do, you'll simply love it. The designers of ProntoEdit obviously spent a lot of time and effort refining the interface. It is optimized and very, very intuitive.

I could go on and on, but I'll save your eyes. The bottom line?

The Pronto can handle any situation you throw at it. You will love this remote.

Why don't other products work this good?

Bobusan
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Marc from Oklahoma City.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 19 made on Friday November 24, 2000 at 12:51 AM.
Strengths:Incredible flexibility
Able to replace my NINE remotes
Ability to make the screens look like and do whatever you want them to.
One remote that does it all.
Weaknesses:Very few. Takes a while to get up and running with Pronto Edit software (but after that it is SO fun) and is not able to directly control X-10 type devices.
Review:I am not at all upset with the price because of what it is able to do. It is my favorite toy. I have it set up so that even my 7 year old can use it with no real problems. And the fact that I can download so many different things from remotecentral makes it very user friendly. There is really nothing else in it's price range that comes close.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 6 for
the Philips Pronto TS-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse