Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Philips Pronto TS-1000 from Philips Electronics.
Philips Pronto TS-1000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.11/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
39$399
This Philips Pronto is one of the most popular LCD remote controls in the marketplace. It features a high-resolution backlit touchscreen display and the capability to control a nearly unlimited number of devices. Also applies to the European RU890.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 6 for
the Philips Pronto TS-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Written by Scott Woods from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 32 made on Monday July 2, 2001 at 6:35 PM.
Strengths:Does exactly what it says on the box
Weaknesses:User manual requires a Phd from NASA to make sense off.
Review:OK Guys/ Galls.

I'm a newbie at this.
Had it for less than a week.

What's good.
============
It's the dog' twitcher. Honest

It does everything I want to control

There is a PC tool to change almost everything. And it's for free.
Will I use it - ( maybe in about 6 months)

Right now I am happy as a pig in the brown stuff.

What's bad.
===========

The manual is bloody awful.
This web site is a Godsend.
Without it - very frustrating.



What would I change.
====================
The manual.

Why is this gizmo not more publicly advertised. ( only found it recently )

There is a lot of talk about the colour version of this coming out.

Woo Hoo!!

This unit is perfect for 99% of the population.


ps. This review is for the 890 ( European version )

Quality
=======
Plastics appear good quality.
No rough edges.
Design pleasant.
Intuitivity - Using Easy
- Programming - Hit & Miss

Features - More than I can throw a
candle at.
Has to please almost
everyone

Value - Cost about 200
Price is about right.
Any more is about
getting to the price of
PDA's. Only a matter of
time that PDA's can do
the task better.
Prices heading 1 way only
Good news for the consumer
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Don from Tampa, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 31 made on Wednesday June 13, 2001 at 10:55 AM.
Strengths:One remote needed
Weaknesses:Battery holds charge for 2 days max, buttons go out of alignment cannot correct this.
Review:I have had the remote for 18 months, I always used NMHi batteries for recharge. After about 4 months the unit would not hold a charge, I tried several different batteries none would hold for more that 2 days. I bought the docking station with NMH battery pack, still does not hold charge for more than 2 days. The on screen buttons hae gone out of alignment and the correction feature does not work, always gives an error. I must press each button about 8-15 times before they will work. I am so very dissatisfied with this remote, it only worked well for about 5 months. I cannot reccommend this remote and the company has been no help at all.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Paul from New York.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 30 made on Tuesday June 5, 2001 at 11:04 AM.
Strengths:Very nice design, extremely flexible, the touch pad worls very well. The back lighting works very well.
Weaknesses:No stylus(This would seriousy prevent finger prints and smudges from appearing on the LCD screen), it seems to loose some commands at times.
Review:I bought this remote to replace the piles of remotes that I started to accumulate. It has done a great job of replacing all of my remotes and emmulating all of the needed buttons and labels. It has also done great job as far as storing all of My movie titles and selecting them in my DVD juke box by the convenient press of 1 button. Through time however, I have noticed that at times it looses some commands and I may have to relearn the function. Also the casing should have included a Stylus to avoid those fingerprints from appearing on the display. I do have another remote that works just as good as this one however, it is no way near as flexible as this one (it is my Onkyo TXDS787 Remote).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark from Houston, Tx.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 29 made on Monday May 7, 2001 at 10:52 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use when all the programming is set up to your needs. Large display and ergonomically designed.
Weaknesses:Sometime the display will just go off like it has alzheimers disease. Intermitent problems with charging, possibly due to docking station design?
Review:I like this remote for the things it is capable of; controlling the whole theater.
From the reciever to DVD, to the projector/TV. If you have X-10 controlling your lights or electric screen this little puppy will macro them all to
"All ON" or "All Off"
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Stuart from Southampton, UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 28 made on Monday February 26, 2001 at 5:29 PM.
Strengths:Programmability
Flexibility
Weaknesses:Too slow
Not enough hard buttons
Review:I had a Pronto for a year. I just sold it because it was too slow. The problem is, the screen is not very big, so you can't fit all your commonly used functions on it. So you end up making a menu system and navigate your way to the device you want to control. With a bit of ingenuity, you can make a very slick interface that you can be very proud of, but it's still too slow. To give you an example, I could be watching a DVD, so my Pronto would be on the DVD screen. I may want to stop the VCR from recording, so I would have to switch to the VCR screen, "Stop", and navigate my way back. That would take at least 5 thoughtful steps (6 if you include the switch-on) - and each step has animated graphics to slow down your fingers. On my new remote which has lots of hard buttons, I can do the same thing in three quick key presses, without giving it much thought.

Furthermore, it takes weeks if not months to programme the thing properly, because you are forever tweaking it to get it to work they way you want it. You soon discover which regular tasks take you too long to complete, so your back at your computer screen again looking for new ways to make it even slicker.

If you want something that just gets the job done - try the Marantz RC2000mkII. It's not perfect, and I miss some of the Prontos flexibility, but at least it doesn't rule me anymore!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Randall Hammill from Canton, CT.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 27 made on Monday February 19, 2001 at 4:53 PM.
Strengths:Flexibility, Easy to use, replaces everything
Weaknesses:Price, if anything
Review:This is great! I have had it for about a week. In 3 days I had a professional-looking design (thanks to this site) that controlled all of the functions on 6 remotes, plus a bunch that weren't on the remote.

I bought an open box Pronto at Tweeter (saved $25... big deal) for $225. No manual, so I downloaded the pdfs and the software and I looked at about 3 pages of the manual. This is so easy to program with prontoedit, especially if you use some of the ccf's here as examples. I was originally looking for the MX-1000, because I thought these were still $400.

My wife finds it very easy to use, and to me, the most valuable thing is the ability to catalog all of the channels by name. I have no idea what the channels are on our cable system, but I don't have to anymore (neither does anybody who visits).

Of course, Im' still tweaking, and I'm not quite finished enough to post it here, but I will be soon. I liked it so much I returned my tape deck and paid the extra $50 for the remote controllable model.

My only comlplaint is the price, it should be about $200. There is no reason the newer version should be $400 anymore, memory is not that expensive. I thought I wanted more hard buttons, but the ones here seem to be enough for us.

This replaced 6 1/2 remotes (the half being the tape deck - it doesn't come with the remote, but you can buy it seperately - I didn't need to I got the codes here).

This isn't for everybody, but it's about the best thing out there, because of the quality, ease of use, and now huge user base that is awesome about helping out!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bob from Houston TX USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 26 made on Thursday February 1, 2001 at 3:13 PM.
Strengths:Totally replaced 12 remotes. Ease of use
(after it is programed)
Weaknesses:Not the most user friendly piece of equipment I have used. Poor instructions from the manufacturer and little help from the store where I purchased it made for some very frustrating experiences with getting it programed. Price is high.
Review:This remote is fantastic. It has turned the most complex set of instructions to set up a movie into a one button affair. My wife and kids can operate the system without my help and the rechargeable battery keeps me from having the to reprogram it after the batteries have run down like on lesser remotes. Overall, after the programing hassles were overcome the ease of operation and versatility does ofset the price. A color screen would be nice at $399.00 but I am happy with it.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 6 for
the Philips Pronto TS-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse