Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-700 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-700
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.52/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
43$349
The MX-700 is an enhanced version of URC's venerable MX-500 remote control, featuring complete computer programmability via the MX Editor software package. Althouh the MX-700 was originally targeted to custom installers, it can be purchased in a discounted version without the MX-200 SideKick.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Written by OTAHD from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 43 made on Friday February 23, 2007 at 4:00 PM.
Also owned:See below
Review:I'd also like to address one of the points that cellness made in his below review.

The MX-700 is quite an old remote, and that is why it does not have dedicated skip keys. Back in 2002 when it was released, DVR's were almost nonexistent. The only thing that used skip keys were DVD players, which did not require channel buttons, so they were expected to be used as skip to save the clutter of extra buttons.

Nowadays, in the era of DVR's and DVD Recorders, this is more of a problem. But it is impossible to blame URC for this, as you are reviewing an outdated product that was designed for the technology a few years ago. It was not an "insult", rather it was unnecessary at the time.

The below reviewer is stating, as of September 2006, that this is a "new" model. However, as of that time, the newest models would be the MX-950 and MX-900. In fact, the MX-700 is no longer made.

Also, if the below reviewer is reccomending MX-500's to clients, I hope he is not a custom installer. Your clients should expect a much more advanced remote.

Plus, the macro keys are no longer necessary...you can assign macros to any LCD key.

I think if this reviewer were to make himself familiar with URC's remotes and look at the MX-950 or MX-900, he'd be much happier.

The review he is mentioning is no longer current either...it was written 5 years ago when the remote came out.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by OTAHD from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 42 made on Friday January 26, 2007 at 10:21 PM.
Also owned:MX-850, MX-900, MX-950, MX-3000, Harmony 570, Sony RM-VL600

*Note: I don't actually own all of the above but I've used them enough to be familiar/comfortable with them.*
Strengths:Fully learning and customizable, Gem Stone buttons never wear away, plenty of devices, unlimited macros, good battery life.
Weaknesses:Backlighting a bit dim, center "select" button, no variables
Review:Quite an old remote as today's technology goes, but still great for many applications. Gemstone buttons are very durable. Remote has been dropped, sat on, etc, with no damage. Easy to program once you get the hang of it. Huge IR database with ability to add more codes through the universal browser. Great remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by cellness from cellness.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 41 made on Friday September 15, 2006 at 12:28 AM.
Also owned:SL-9000, MX-500
Strengths:I don't actually own this remote - I want to voice some concerns with the new Universal Remote models.

I do like the discrete guide, menu, exit, and info buttons. I like the placement of the play button next to the pause button.
Weaknesses:No chapter skip keys?! WTF?!
The three macro buttons on the bottom are gone.
Review:This is a quote from the review:

"The dangerous no-safety [Record] button is gone, along with the two practically unused chapter skip keys (which are normally assigned to channel up and down)."

For those of us with DVR devices (and who among us that are dropping $200+ on a remote doesn't have one), I believe the chapter skip keys are absolutely essential! Almost all DVR devices (except Tivo - hear the death knell) have 30 second forward skip keys and 10/15 second reverse skip keys. I don't think I am exaggerating when I say the chapter skip keys are THE most used buttons on my remote because of my family's use of our DVR. In fact, I rarely use the normal fast forward and rewind keys anymore and I really wish my DVD player had 30/10 second skip keys now.

I really feel Universal Remote has made a big mistake taking these buttons out. Sure, it is easy enough to assign DVD chapter skip to the channel up/down buttons, but you can't normally do that with a DVR, since those buttons are usually used for channel surfing (I use mine for page up/down when using the satellite guide). Additionally, the skip buttons on the MX-500/600 are just intuitively and ergonomically better than assigning those functions to channel up/down or the macro keys on the new MX models.

I really like the new discrete keys, but I wish they could have laid out those keys in a way that would not have taken away the skip keys. Seriously, I think I must continue to recommend the MX-500/600 to my clients because of the lack of skip keys.

I also liked the three macro buttons at the bottom of the remote. There's still plenty of room there, why take them away? By itself, the lack of the 3 macro buttons is just an annoyance. But when combined with the lack of skip keys, it just feels like salt in a wound.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by EETWiz from Carol Stream, IL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 40 made on Saturday August 5, 2006 at 11:31 PM.
Strengths:Easy to program and navigate, easily fits in your hand, simple to setup macros, interfaces with the PC easily.
Weaknesses:Slow to download from PC, limited favorites pages
Review:Just recieved the remote in the mail today after buying it dirt cheap from eBay. I also got the updated software. The authorized dealer fiasco is easily avoided if you set your mind to it. I love my new pre $200 remote. I was able to find the codes for my equiptment and then easily modify them to fit my needs. After some tinkering and such I was fully up and running in just under 2 hours. I am sure I will do more editing before the weeks end. Great product!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by mccabedoug from MA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 39 made on Wednesday March 22, 2006 at 3:39 PM.
Strengths:Amazingly powerful and easy-to-use remote. Does more than I possibly imagined and is simple to program, re-program and tweak. It can control anything. The ability to program from a PC and save configurations is wonderful.
Weaknesses:It is intimidating for the first 5 minutes you get it since you are starting from a clean slate and there is really no printed support information. This disappears quickly once you get going and see how easy it is to use and how powerful and flexible it is.
Review:I was on the fence about getting a new universal remote. I owned a One-For-All 6 for years and I was happy with it. The problem was that I was the only person that new how to use it. My wife hated it. Finally, when my Mother-in-Law was trying to operate my Home Theater while we were at work and we had a 30 sec power loss, she was unable to turn everything on again and I could not walk her through it over the phone. That did it.

I've been away from home for about a month since I bought the remote and I have not been asked once to help my spouse turn on/off the home theater components or to switch back & forth between Cable TV and DVD watching. That is worth the $$ alone.

Just go ahead and buy the remote. Connect it to your PC and dive in. I'm no programmer and you do not need to be. It's a completely visual interface that is a joy to use. Macros are a breeze and the remote's ability to learn commands is ridiculously simple.

Just buy it and forget about the price. You (and your significant other) will be happy that you did.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by facialcrunch from Florida, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 38 made on Saturday December 3, 2005 at 8:59 PM.
Strengths:Excellent button layout, large buttons, PC connectivity, solid construction, accepts commands first time every time, truly "universal"
Weaknesses:None
Review:What a great remote. I returned my Harmony 880 due to charging and programming problems. I also have a URC-300 which is great, but the PC connectivity with the MX-700 is excellent. What a great remote. Worth every penny!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Vinny Sajkowski from Milltown, NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 37 made on Tuesday August 17, 2004 at 2:38 PM.
Strengths:Unlimited Macros
Easy PC Connection/Downloading
Very comfortable
Extremely easy to use
Can use almost any CCF files.
Weaknesses:None At All
Review:This remote is THE best remote I have ever used. If you are looking for a Universal Remote, look no further. I strongly recommend the MX-700
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse