Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
5/11/18 - The MXHP-R700 adds a more fully-featured remote control to the MX HomePro platform.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-700 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-700
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.52/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
43$349
The MX-700 is an enhanced version of URC's venerable MX-500 remote control, featuring complete computer programmability via the MX Editor software package. Althouh the MX-700 was originally targeted to custom installers, it can be purchased in a discounted version without the MX-200 SideKick.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Written by Menno from Netherlands.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 36 made on Wednesday July 21, 2004 at 6:12 PM.
Strengths:Code learning, it learned them almost at once.
For every device you want to configure get a full remote control keyboard.

Easy to use. Well designed.
Weaknesses:I'm missing: Time and date programming and Showview programming.
5 charakters in the display is a little to short. Six would be better.
Review:I'm very glad with this the MX-700.
It works very good.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joshua Nehlig from New Orleans, LA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 35 made on Monday June 28, 2004 at 10:35 AM.
Strengths:Programmed via Computer
Macro Ability
Lots of available pages
Hard Buttons
Egro Design
Ability to Learn Codes
Weaknesses:Just a few minor ones:
Can't move unused pages to use them elswhere
Limited to 5 charcters on LCD
Very limited database of device codes
On/Off toggle is troublesome when using Macros
Review:I am not a professional Home Theater Installer/programmer. I simply wanted a single remote to replace all of my OEM remotes. The MX-700 has done this wonderfully. I really like being able to program this remote via the computer. Much of the programming was very straight-forward. My only gripe, though minor, is the relatively small database of device codes. Thankfully, I found this website, which helped with a couple of devices. Once I programmed the remote to control my devices, I put all my other remotes (5 total) in a drawer and have not even looked at them since. I started setting up simple macros, and I must say this is fun. The remote meets and exceeds all my expectations. You can buy an open box MX-700 from an authorized dealr and still maintain the warranty.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Sooke from Raleigh, NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 34 made on Sunday June 6, 2004 at 10:07 AM.
Strengths:Hard buttons.
Flexibility/capability.
MXEditor software/docs.
Good construction.
FAV pages.
Backlighting.
Weaknesses:Size, lack of finger groove.
Doesn't remember which devices are on.
No USB.
Review:I finished programming my new MX-700 yesterday and thought I would throw my impressions of it into the existing brew of user reviews.

BOTTOM LINE:

Great product. Not perfect, but great. Allowed me to put all my original remotes in a drawer and made controlling my equipment much more convenient. Programming the remote was a blast (But some people may think it is just a chore). Infact, I'm kinda sorry it's done. If I was made of money I'ld buy a receiver just to play with the remote more.

Of course the real test will be whether the wife/babysitters/guests find it easy to use. Part of that burden is mine since I set it up.

MY SYSTEM:

Pretty dang simple: A Samsung DLP RPTV (HLN467), a Samsung DVD player (HD-931), and a Scientific Atlanta HD cable box. Thats it. I found out this was not a big challenge for the MX-700.

LIKES:

Lots:

1. Great hard buttons. There's a lot of them. All the ones I wanted most were there. I like the glossy feel and the tactile feedback when pushed.

2. Flexibility. I chose to use my MAIN page 1 as an "activity" menu, with choises like "WATCH CABL>" (as suggested by MikeSRC, I think). My activity macros don't turn on components since two of them don't have discrete power codes. Instead, the ON button turns everything on, then jumps to the activity menu. The OFF button macro shuts everything off then jumps to a device with no name (spaces). It's page 1 looks like this:

^
PRESS ON

That way when grandma picks up the remote she's not presented with an activity menu that's not working because all the components are off.

3. Enough devices and soft button pages to easily handle more than what I threw at it. All my original remote functions are in this thing.

4. MXEditor software worked without a hitch and the documentation was great. I felt "in control" of how the remote would be programmed.

5. Strong IR transmitters. Even works when aimed at my ceiling. A welcome change from my original DVD player remote that required marksmanship skills.

6. Feels sturdy and well built.

7. I love the FAV "device" (although below I describe something I wish I could change about it). I have all my HD channels and other favorites listed. Also have a page of macros for TV picture adjustments that save me alot of tedious keystrokes.

8. I like the backlighting. As a purely subjective matter, I think it just looks cool. Some have complained that the LCD doesn't show up well in dim (but not dark) lighting. I haven't run into any trouble yet.

DISLIKES:

A few.

1. It's kinda big. I've got good size hands and it is still a little unwieldy for one handed operation. My thumb is not long enough to always reach the buttons I want without juggling the remote around some. Will be even tougher for my wife to get used to. I also wish it had some kind of a finger groove on the under side.

2. I don't like the way the MAIN and PAGE hard buttons act differently when on the FAV screens than they do at all other times. I expect this inconsistency to confuse occasional users. There are probably a lot of people who are used to it and may even like it. But in my opinion MAIN should always take you to the MAIN device. PAGE should always page forward. The FAV button should be a toggle: press FAV to get to the FAV screen, press FAV again to return to the previous device. Toggling in and out of a menu like that is a pretty common method. I realize this is a minor quibble. Am I alone on this?

3. I wish it could remember what devices were already ON so that toggle-power codes could be worked around easier (ala the Harmony remotes).

4. USB would be nice. The serial link worked fine for me after an initial problem was solved (thanks to this forum).

NOTES:

1. I only had to learn a couple codes. Not much of a test, but no problems found.

2. This was an "open box special" from bluedo.com. The remote arrived in like-new condition, with all the original packaging. So far I think this was a great deal.

FWIW,

Sooke
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Trey Booker from VA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 33 made on Tuesday May 11, 2004 at 10:10 AM.
Strengths:Just about everything about it is a strength.
Weaknesses:As with all remotes their are at least a few "weakenesses", depending on your needs and point of view. If I were to find a weakness or two it would have to be the inablility to have more that five characters in the display, so sometimes you have to shorten a device or functions title to make it fit (like the function "repeat" will be shortened to "rpeat" ). Another would be the lack of a LCD touchscreen (which is not a weakness to me, I personally do not like LCD touchscreens) and lastly would be the inability to write HEX coding, which is not a huge deal but would help if it were an option. You can rob that capability from Phillips Proto software (free download).
Review:To preface this review, I am a CEDIA certified level II installer and have programmed just about every remote out their, and this remote is so far the best remote I have ever OWNED and PROGRAMMED, it is truly a limitless remote in every since of the word. I would highly recommed this remote for its capablities, price, and intuative user interface. With that being said it is imperative that it is programmed properly by someone who really knows what they are doing so you can take full advantage of what this remote can do(I guess that should be said about any of the more advanced remotes on the market). I do not feel it is necessary to list its capabilities here, just check out their web site, it is very informative.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Till Richter from Texas, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 32 made on Saturday March 6, 2004 at 3:22 AM.
Strengths:-excellent ergonomics and design
-good software, very versatile
-seems rather sturdy so far
-good user manual and support via this forum and vendors
-high memory capacity
-fast synchronization with computer
Weaknesses:-code data base is good but could still be better. HTM should open a site where users can post their configs and then imply them into the software.
-button labels too small
-it should be possible to carry over unused pages to devices that need more pages.
-gaps around buttons could be smaller, might prove to be dust traps.
-four additional color coded buttons and a scroll/push wheel would make this perfect
-backlight must be turned on with an extra button on the side; it doesn't come on as soon as any button is pressed.
-no acoustic pressure confirmation
-no clock, that's a pity. So no timers, either.
-not enough symbols for the LCD.
Review:I usually don't shoot this fast but this time I feel confident to be able to give a good first impression.

Bought the MX-700 as an open box deal from surfremote with 30-day money back guarantee. Mike, I don't think you'll get it back and thanks for your patience with my questions!

Appearance and build:
Well, you are most likely not blind so you know how it looks. It is rather sturdy plastic and no metal parts are visible. A jewel version with brushed steel top plate and see through bottom would be very classy. It is agreeably lightweight compared to my previous TC-1000 by Harman/JBL.
It's light body color is easily findable in a dark HT environment. I wonder whether the matte finish and rather large gaps around buttons and joystick will collect dust. They do let through sufficient backlight to see everything very well, though. The print on the buttons probably won't wear off because it looks as if it were in a lower layer of the rubber material. The jewel buttons are pretty, not too slippery and have good tactile feedback.

Ergonomics:
Perhaps the best point of it. The TC-1000 had a scroll wheel and great Volume buttons but lacked a 5-way joystick (4-way joysticks like the Pronto's are totally unergonomic, I find). If it weren't for the lack of a joystick and the somewhat unreliable touchscreen I still find the TC-1000 is much better than what most say. But back to our grey sheep. The feeling and balance of this remote in my hand are excellent. I have small hands but can still hold and manipulate it entirely with one hand only. Some sliding up and down is required but not difficult thanks to the non-slippery surface treatment. Button press feel is very safe but an optional acoustic signal would be nice, especially to follow a macro. Perhaps a short beep for every step and a longer one when finished. I was afraid the joystick center position would be as unprecise to push as it was in an MX-500 belonging to a friend. Not at all. The method of using your whole thumb does work best though and feels natural. Rather than not being able to push the center precisely, I found that sometimes I pressed the center when I wanted to press one of the four outer directions. For left handers the position of the light switch might be a little awkward but it shouldn't be a big problem. For right handers like me it's just fine. The way the buttons are grouped and spaced is very logical, at least for me. This is of utmost importance in the actual daily use. As is the IR range and spread. Mind you, so far I am running on high capacity rechargeables (do something good for your pocket book AND the environment), so it is possible that the max range is better than what I experience. From where I sit the 15ft to the rack are no problem but the signal is not strong enough to go to the screen and bounce back to the Projector behind me. This would be around 35ft. Room is totally dark and there is no fluorescent light. The emitting angle is an estimated 20 degree to each side of the longitudinal axis (wooo, that sounds sharp:)).
Backlight is just right for my taste. Not too strong but very glare free and "elucidating", just as it should be. It should come on though when any button is pressed. I bet they might be able to change that via software. Would be nice.

Software: Download the software and manual from the manufacturer's site or surfremote or remotecentral. It's a small program of around 7MB but very powerful. It is a really nice marlketing tool, too. I downloaded it and configured my remote just the way I would like it to be. With the codes in the data base and an additional file from another user (thanks unbeknownst) I almost had all I needed. The program doesn't emulate the actual working of the remote 100% but is pretty nice. Maybe an emulation mode could be integrated into the software so one can switch between configuration and emulation. Of course, having the set-up almost ready to go is tempting but also practical. You get the remote on trial once you have pre-programmed a configuration into the desktop. Then you simply download it into the remote and can check right away whether it works and whether you like it.
The communication between computer and remote is ok. I had a quibble when I wanted to connect the second time. It said the COM port was busy. Well, others had that, too, so I wasn't too worried. A good thing to do is to restart your computer with the cable hooked up. Then plug the remote in, then open the software. When you are done, don't forget to save the configuration and download it into the remote. The window will say "Download complete". Click CLOSE. Only after that disconnect the remote. This method worked very well for me. You don't have to restart the computer everytime you want to plug in the remote afterwards.

There is one thing I wonder about, perhaps someone can tell me or I can simply try it. I just don't want to screw up my nice set-up. In order to get certain discrete codes I had to use a device file from another user and two from the data base. So this occupies 3 device spots just so I can reap a few buttons. Can I delete the devices to which I made shortcuts? I guess not, because a shortcut is just a shortcut and no copy. SO if the "original" device is gone the shortcut has nowhere to be linked to, right? Please, tell me I'm wrong.
Two more little quibbles. One cannot punch through the joystick. Come on HTM, that's one of the most important button groups! Neither, is it possible to punch through one specific button to all devices. In my case I put the room light on the GUIDE button. I had to program or shortcut it to every single device level separately, duh. Also, in the button window to the right when one has to program a sequence of buttons(like the joystick) from the same device, one must rescroll to the specific device for every button. It doesn't stay put in the drop-down menu, neither does the position one was last in in the button list drop-down. It's the little details that make a great product.
The yellow pop-up labels that are automatically created seem to not refresh if you program again over a previously programmed button. Yet when you click it, the button window on the right hand will tell what's on it.
Finally, I am not sure about this, when one has done a punch through of the transport buttons for example, one cannot learn different functions overriding the punchthrough on the same button. Example: The punch through gives you the FF and REw buttons onto the double arrows. But you rather want to have the SKIP buttons there. If you learn or program over the pt, the pt label stays there even though in the button window it indicates the correct new function.

Learning by the way works very well. No problems, as some others said, with press and hold codes for FF or Vol commands.

Conclusion:

To some this might not be a positive review. It is! This thing is great but I am super demanding and very finnicky so I rather point out what needs to be improved than sing the eulogy of how good it is. I'll leave the fun up to you, to discover all the great things you can do with this. Of the good points the easy software and outstanding ergonomics are to be emphasized.
On the "needs improvement fast" side are, the backlight that doesn't turn on automatically, the insufficient LCD characters and symbols and the lack of a clock.

I'll let you know more as I get to know the product better. This was just delivered to my door 14 hours ago. So far I'd give it 92/100 for performance.

Till
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Matthew Maloof from Flordia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 31 made on Saturday February 21, 2004 at 6:36 PM.
Strengths:Very easy to program. Very responsive. Ergonomically wonderful. Straight froward. Economically superior. You need a huge sytem to not use this remote.
Weaknesses:Uh I'm still trying to find one.
Review:I took me a few minutes to be able to program this wonderful remote. I love the fact you can use the PC to do everything. Macros are fast and easy. The FAV buttons are super. You have so many options on how to program this it actually is fun to experiment. I can take this to my friends home and program his system and then come home and reprogram form the PC to accomodate my system. This is truly the best. Ergonomically it feels like a dream in your hand. Don't fret, the price of this should not scare you. It is low but it can accomodate any system. I like hard buttons and not a touch screen so this is perfect. Learning other remotes is so easy it's fun.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Triple-D from Germany.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 30 made on Monday February 16, 2004 at 8:40 AM.
Strengths:- good workmanship
- excellent keyboard
- easy to programm
- easy to use
- nice design
Weaknesses:- case to large
- no USB-support
- weak display illumination
- no automatic illumination using motion sensor
- no timer
- only few icons / no icon editor
- limited drag and drop functions for the Editor-software
- curved bottom
- no acoustic key response
Review:Overall conclusion: Best hard button remote money can buy.

I searched for a universal remote for several months and I got the “Radio Shack 15-2133 Kameleon” (= “One for All Kamleon 6” here in Germany) first. But all in all I was not satisfied with that remote because of limited memory, inaccessible menus, failing commands and because I find out that I prefer hard buttons instead of sensor buttons.

So after studying the contributions here I on remote central I took a closer look at the MX-700. I downloaded the Editor-software to get an idea how the MX-700 will work and thought: Yeah, that’s the way a remote has to work. Although none of my devices was listed in the Editor’s database, I found codes of similar devices of the respective brands. Therefore I thought that it will be probable that one of theses codes will also work with my devices. So I decided to get the MX-700and ordered it from BlueDo (thanks to David). (For the German readers: Die MX-700 wird - warum auch immer - in Deutschland nicht vertrieben und muss daher importiert werden. Lieferzeit: 14 Tage. Zum Einkaufspreis kommen noch 16% MwSt. und 3,7% Zoll).

I got the MX-700 last week and I really like it. It has a nice design and the keyboard is fantastic because of the good key response and the inscription which is not ON but IN the translucent buttons, so it will last for ever.

The remote is very large and could be a little bit smaller in width and height. Although I have large hands it’s little bit uncomfortable to touch the outer soft keys. On the other hand, the large keyboard allows “blind” operation. Another problem is that when the remote is just on the table, you can't press any soft keys because of the curved bottom.

The display is very good to read, also under twilight conditions. So illumination is only necessary when using the remote in the dark. But whereas the illumination of the display could be more intense, the lighting of the keys is excellent.

The five-way-multi-control button also works very well. I have no problems to hit the central key.

Connectivity to the Editor-software was also no problem, but programming the remote took me a complete Sunday, because none of my devices was listed in the Editor’s database. So first of all I downloaded all codes of similar devices of the respective brands to find the codes that also work with my devices (amplifier, CD, tape, DVD, VCR and TV). With the exception of the tape remote, I found similar codes for my devices in the Editor database, but there were several commands left which I had to program using the leaning function. But this was also no problem. There were only two function of the DVD-remote (Yamaha DVD-S540) which I could not program correctly: because toggling of these functions didn’t work, I programmed them two times each, with one short and one long signal, to simulate toggling by pressing the new function soft buttons alternately. Although this is a little bit uncomfortable, it’s no rally handicap. The functions of the tape remote (Teac V-8030S) were completely programmed using the learning function due to missing similar code in the database.

Labeling the soft keys is also very easy. But what I am missing are more preinstalled icons or the possibility to crate own icons. What I really like is the possibility to move keys with in the pages of a device via drag and drop. But unfortunately it is not possible to drag and drop commands from one device to another. For this you have to use the Edit & Label menu manually

All in all there were no problems programming the MX-700.

Signal range I also ok (5 m in my living room).

Operating my devices with the MX-700 is very easy and comfortable. EVERY function of the 6 old remotes are programmed and arranged on the pages of the display the way I like it.

The MX-700 is (almost) perfect. What I am missing? Here are some suggestion for an improvement.

- smaller case
- USB-support
- more intense display illumination
- automatic illumination using motion sensor
- timer
- more icons / icon editor
- advanced drag and drop functions for the Editor-software
- flat bottom
- acoustic key response

Overall I think the MX-700 is the best hard button remote you can buy for money.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse