Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
5/11/18 - The MXHP-R700 adds a more fully-featured remote control to the MX HomePro platform.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-700 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-700
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.52/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
43$349
The MX-700 is an enhanced version of URC's venerable MX-500 remote control, featuring complete computer programmability via the MX Editor software package. Althouh the MX-700 was originally targeted to custom installers, it can be purchased in a discounted version without the MX-200 SideKick.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Written by Frank Atlanta from Atlanta, GA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 29 made on Friday January 2, 2004 at 10:22 AM.
Strengths:Ease of use, flexibility, programmability, IR library.
Weaknesses:None that I have found.
Review:I'm still a newbiew to HT; however, I'm amazed at the power of this remote. Reprogramming for a new Denon 2900 DVD player was a snap.

My wife finds the remote slightly overwhelming; however:

1. She agrees that it's better than having 3+ remotes.

2. The LCD screen does help her understand what device is being controlled.

3. I think, with familiarity, she'll find this remote very easy to use.

For me, I think it's bone-simple to use and a breeze to program.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Max Y. from Orange, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 28 made on Wednesday December 24, 2003 at 11:16 PM.
Strengths:Built like a brick, superb MX-700 Editor software, super quick and powerful IR beam dispersion, great design/ergonomics, tactile feel of hard buttons
Weaknesses:Not much. If I were to complain, I'd have to say the NeoPronto that died on me right before I got the MX-700 had a bit more fun factor built into it with the touchscreen graphics. Also, although the MX-700 doesn't need it thanks to its superb ergonomics, I'd like the option to be able to make the backlight come on when any button is pushed. That's the only other thing that I miss from the Neo, but not much else.
Review:I originally started to look into the MX-500, but after someone on this site recommended that I look into an open box MX-700 from, that's exactly what I did. And for that advice, I have to thank the people on this site because this thing screams power and quality. I have to admit that I miss the graphics that Neo's touchscreen let me play with, but this thing is far superior in every other way. The powerful IR beam, the way it feels in my hands, logical ergonomics, it's all there. The only other thing is that I want changed is the backlighting. I realize that this remote was designed to be used in the dark by touch, and that the backlight isn't really a big factor. But I just like a remote to light up when you touch any button. It may be just window dressing, but I think that it would add to the enjoyment of using a remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by John Cassels from Florida.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 27 made on Sunday December 21, 2003 at 11:32 AM.
Strengths:Look, feel and total versatility.
Weaknesses:Somewhat heavy for maration "surfing" events. Paddle center button should be separated because if you press even slightly off center you will hit a direction instead.
Review:Searching for the perfect remote is like searching for the perfect onion ring... it is a lifelong pursuit. The MX-700 comes about as close to perfection as I have found. Even the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor) is higher than most of the other remotes that have followed me home. My remote did not come with a workable computer cable and even following the pin-out diagram did not work. Only by reversing two of the indicated wires did I get a connection. Talk about a strategically placed typo.

The greatest weakness is probably me. I was unable to think though all of the code locations and macro steps at one time to make use as intuitive as possible with this remarkable remote. I have solved that problem over a period of months by noting the situations where use is not as easy as it could be and having a series of sessions with the MX editor which is better than therapy and cheaper than divorce court.

Contrary to some of the reviews I have read, I like the sidekick. Having become addicted to Tivo, I programed the sidekick to ff, play, rev and surf. It is the perfect size and weight with which to spend some quality time.

Overall, a great remote which even my wife says she is "getting the hang of it". Naively, she thinks is will stop me from buying more.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by George Marengo from Vista, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 26 made on Wednesday December 17, 2003 at 1:41 PM.
Strengths:Flexibility, dedicated hard buttons & labled LCD buttons; easy to program as activity based remote, yet has the memory and LCD screens to be easy to use for device specifics.
Weaknesses:Price. IR database not complete enough. My $29 One4All remote (purchased before MX700) had many devices that this $350 remote didn't. Yet they are made by the same company !!
Review:The MX700 is a very powerful remote, and it's ergonomics are absolutely top notch.
Equipment controlled:
Sony 65WV600, Denon 2700, JVC XV95, 3250HD cable box, DirecTivo HDVR2

I have programmed it to be activity based, with a single long push of 4 different LCD buttons to change from watching cable, to HD cable, to Tivo/Satellite, to DVD. The remote switches the TV video inputs, switches the receiver mode, and configures the MX700 to control the appropriate component. One button press to watch DVDs, or cable, or HD cable, or satellite/Tivo.

Since programming the MX700, I have had no reason to use any of the OEM remotes. This includes menu/setup of cable box, DVD player, and TV functions like PIP, Zoom modes, Freeze. EVERY function that I use on EVERY component is on my MX700, but because it has 4 screens for every component, they are placed on screens 2 through 4 so they don't get in the way of everyday use. Perfect :)

The rocker is superb, and allows for easy control of my DirecTivo. The Thumbs Up/Down are on the 1st page LCDs for easy access. I've tried several other remotes, and while they could be programmed easily enough to do all the same functions as the MX700, the problem was always that you would have to remember that a certain key did different things, depending on which device/component you had selected. Not anymore, no memory games required with the 700 -- just label the key. And because it's a hard keyed remote, and the ergonomics are top notch, it's been easy to use it in the dark. No need to even look at the remote in most cases.

The transport keys are right where you would expect them to be, and all the attendant keys are easy to find just by feel. The FAVS keys even make it a breeze to go right to my favorite stations with no need to scroll through a guide or try to directly enter the station number.

Visitors have been able to easily use the remote to use my system, even people who were previously intimidated by many remotes on the coffee table. The IR beam is EXTREMELY powerful, so much so that I don't even need to point the remote at the HT equipment. It will bounce around the room and just work. The contrast of the screen is superb and when needed, the backlight is great.

The ability to import Pronto CCF files is a huge bonus, and you can also download ProntoEdit (I think that's the name) and even enter Pront Hex, then you save it as a CCF file, then import using the MX700 software. Wonderful stuff :)

Timers would be nice to have, and the price is a bit steep, but you can find it for a bit over $200 as "Open Box" items. I don't know if I'd give it a 5 for Value Rating if I paid full price, so my rating is based on the $180 I paid from a non-authorized dealer. If I had know about the Open Box prices, I would have done that instead, and that's my suggestion to you.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by marc from San Diego, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 25 made on Tuesday December 16, 2003 at 10:58 PM.
Strengths:Ease of Programability and Tweaking / All buttons viewable in dark room
Weaknesses:Difficult to Read LCD in certain lighting levels / Would like to see an easier method of initiating the Back light
Review:I bought and returned Sony, Pronto, andf other Universal remotes prior to this one. I was ready to give up, when I read the reviews and finally ordered it. Thgough I would have liked an easier to read screen, this is THE Remote that I would recommend.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by chad from madison, wi.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 24 made on Friday October 31, 2003 at 12:12 AM.
Strengths:This remote is a blank pallet. Totally customizable. I initially thought it was a lot of money for a remote but now I see value in the mx-700.
Weaknesses:pretty much NO weekness
1) no RF
2) I noticed you cannot move any of the hard buttons around. You have to make shortcuts of them. This is bad, example: I wanted macros for the on/off buttons for every device. In order to do this I had to temporarily dump the power on and off codes into another remote then learn them back to the mx-700. This is a small issue, but is an issue.

3) I would like to see the LCD be a transreflective TFT display like the IPAQ PDA. (this may suck batteries a little more)
4) I would like the software application to have linking abilities to the "light" button. Example: Everytime I run a macro I would like the display to light up so I know the remote is running a macro. Some macros can get long and you forget the remote is not responding to your commands becuase it is running a macro. Many other examples but mainly because the light is cool pretty and I want to show it off.
Review:I pretty much reviewed this product by telling you its strengths/weeknesses. My idea of weeknesses are not anything major, however as you can see I tend to over focus on the weekness. This is the best remote control I have seen. The weeknesses section is merly the only things about the remote control I would consider implementing if I was the designer. I like it so much, now I am moving up to the mx-800 (just for the RF capabilities)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by wyatt from Sioux Falls, SD.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 23 made on Wednesday September 24, 2003 at 11:08 PM.
Strengths:Ease of use; can handle complex macros; button layout.
Weaknesses:Price.
Review:Having used this for several months - after enduring a Sony RAV(?)-2100 for 18 months...I LOVE THIS REMOTE!!!

I was originally tempted by the MX-500 & IRClone combo but am very, very glad I went for the MX-700. I couldn't be happier (well, if it could fill my wine glass...) with operation!! I used a Sony touchscreen for 18 months...what a PITA...makes you appreciate a design that focuses on functionality versus appearance!

For the first time, my other 7 remotes are really staying in the drawer!! I've added X-10 for lighting and to control a non-remote subwoofer.

When I win the lottery ;) I'll change every piece of equipment I own with the exception of the MX-700...well, maybe I'll switch to an MX-800 with RF and all equipment hidden - but same functionality!!

Did I mention...I LOVE THIS REMOTE!!!
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 7 for
the Home Theater Master MX-700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse