Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master MX-1000 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master MX-1000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.51/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
29$289
The computer programmable MX-1000 features a high-resolution touchscreen display, 5-way joystick and 14 other hard buttons, full backlighting, learning and pre-programmed codes, plus a lot more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 5 for
the Home Theater Master MX-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Written by Tim O'Brien from St. Louis, MO.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 29 made on Sunday April 18, 2004 at 12:24 AM.
Strengths:Price was reasonable. Primary reason for purchase was to program Lutron dimmers so that they were remote controled. Advertised the capability to consolidate remotes and to customize macros.
Weaknesses:Joystick broke through less than normal use. Poor screen color. Touchpad erratic. Battery intensive. Extremely difficult to custom program. Polite, but not customer driven customer service.
Review:I had the remote for less than one year and the joystick broke. I am not a channel flipper so I believe if it had the chance of breaking within the first year, the company should fix it for free. They refused wanting a $30 fee. I will never buy one of their remotes again and will discourage anyone from purchasing from them.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by m kelch from Ontario, CANADA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 28 made on Sunday December 28, 2003 at 11:23 PM.
Strengths:smooth, quality finish, large buttons easily identified by touch, joystick is easy to use.
Weaknesses:LCD display has extremely low resolution and brightness. Remote is bulky to hold. Programming is a real chore and the LCD display, dim as it appears, seems to chew through batteries.
Review:This remote was relatively expensive and is now over 2 years old - and it shows. Poorly lit display, large and bulky case, stiff button operation with little response to a finger press make this a remote destined for "the box of old remotes I don't like and won't use".
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by bobb from Ohio, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 27 made on Wednesday April 16, 2003 at 3:31 AM.
Strengths:A few strategic large buttons. Large LCD (160x240) albeit low contrast. Strong casing. Narrow enough for .8 hand operation.
Weaknesses:Icons cutomization severely limited. PC software NOT documented and buggy (still, after 2 years). No timer, no buttons chaining, low contrast LCD. Heavy and somewhat large. Manual written by techies who assume you know their terminology.
Review:If you don't mind square screen buttons, go for it. To me, the whole idea of having a large LCD screen is so that I can customize with my own icons, and in this area the MX-1000 is wholly inadequate. Don't hold your breath for them to upgrade it 'cuz this baby been out for 2 years now and don't waste your time.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Andrew from New York, NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 26 made on Friday March 28, 2003 at 2:28 PM.
Strengths:Combo Hard and Soft Keys, Feel and quality, excellent blue backlight, IR Range, Customizable touchscreen, Punchthrough to operate the volume,
Weaknesses:Instuction Manual difficult to understand.
Inital Setup a bit tedious
Review:Took some time to figure out but once I did... Excellent remotes, I know people have been upset with the company and deceitfullness in regards to new software, etc but for those of you who want a great remote for a small to medium system, this one has been a dream. Originally had a Sima SUR 20 (UCCommand 515) and that broke within a few months (entire left side of screen unreceptive to my touch). I tried the "upgraded" model of that and hated it more then anything. Neither of these remotes had the IR Range of this one. Both had to be pointed directly at my equipment for any kind of response. I was searching for a good balance between the hard buttons and the ability to create my own, and this did it all. Software was a cinch to use (Sony Vaio Laptop running Windows 2000) and once I created my screens and loaded them in, getting the remote to do everything my other 5 remotes did was a breeze. Most of my equipment is Sony and everything works as it did with the OEM remotes. I read a lot of forums and information on this remote from this site, and was a little worried about picking this up, but I am very very glad I did.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Hal Widsten from San Antonio, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 25 made on Sunday January 12, 2003 at 3:27 PM.
Strengths:This unit is sized properly with good ergonomics but.......read on
Weaknesses:The screen was difficult to read in any lighting situation. Instruction booklet was vague. Touch screen was difficult to use. Read on.
Review:This is the first "consolidation" remote I have purchased, and it looked good. But, the thing was very difficult to program. I never did get it to do macros. The touch screen illumination was inadequate in any situation. The computer interface never did work properly. I contacted the company by email, received a response that offered to answer my questions. I wrote back and after 4 days had no response. After working with this thing for a number of hours over a two-week period, I gave up and took it back. I don't know if this was a bad unit or what, but the audio store people didn't try to talk me into keeping it, and that should tell you something. I was almost ready to go back to my 5 remote situation when the audio store people suggested I try an SL-9000. That unit took a total of 15 minutes to program completely, including macros. If your home theatre system isn't too complicated, I suggest the SL-9000. It is less expensive and much less troublesome.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bart Biddle from Auckland, NZ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 24 made on Sunday June 30, 2002 at 11:56 PM.
Strengths:Nice feel, look and balance. Easy on batteries. Setup is flexible. Works from anywhere in the room.
Weaknesses:None
Review:This remote is a total joy to own. Does everything and the family are happy. So-far (touching wood) system is reliable and batteries last a good 3-5 months. This is based on having back-light switch off after 8 seconds. The more familiar you get with the design the quicker you use the buttons and so shorter lit-up times are achievable. And this saves battery power.

I wanted a totally custom design so using PC software mandatory. Designed the buttons together with downloads from this site. Software is excellent. Not quite WYSIWYG but close. People experiencing reliability problems with connection to PC or laptop should look to their computer, not this remote. If uploads/downloads fail, reboot Windows. This is a Windows feature i.e. SHIT. Only recommendation to software producers is - point out the limitations of the PC operating system. Windows not reliable!

Never needed support, manuals just fine so now the remote is in its rightful place - just a small part of the great entertainment system.

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joe Charles from galloway, NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 23 made on Monday May 6, 2002 at 9:05 PM.
Strengths:Combines hard and soft buttons well. Import or draw your own buttons. Learns well. "Feels" nice and looks pretty.
Weaknesses:Lots of problems with communication with computer. Software is not very flexible. Support from company not good.
Review:I programmed this remote ( actually 2) for a customer and had nothing but trouble with this damn thing. The software used to program it was not very flexible. That included the inability to delete from the main page, deleting individual pages, macros and ir could ot be edited from software. I had a file get corrupted and had to redo. The only thing that Universal kept telling me was "i needed to free my com port" or "the program might not work right, because its a laptop". The remote has very good potential as it looks and feels very good with its combo of hard and soft buttons. Also, the ability to import or draw your own buttons was nice. It just needs to have a software reprogram and better remote to computer comunications.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 5 for
the Home Theater Master MX-1000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse