Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) from One For All.
One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
64$119
The 8-device One For All URC-9960 represents the second generation of UEI's Kameleon technology. It features automatic backlighting, code learning, macros, Home Theater mode, easy setup, and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by all8up from usa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 64 made on Saturday November 21, 2009 at 9:09 PM.
Review:to fix battery life issue turn off the vibration switch. instructions on page 15 of the manual at

http://www.smarthome.com/manuals/59301.pdf

OR here they are:
SETTING THE VIBRATION SWITCH
The OFA Kameleon 8-Device Remote with RF is set at the factory to turn the
display on when you pick it up, before you even press a button (the vibration
switch is on). To turn vibration off, perform the following steps.
1. Press and hold SETUP until the two bottom IR segments flash twice. The
Program Keys appear.
2. Press OTHER once.The Other programming screen appears:
PROGRAMMING DEVICE CONTROL
The OFA Kameleon 8-Device Remote with RF is preset at the factory to
operate the following devices:
NOTE: Turning off the vibration switch can
significantly extend battery life.
NOTE: If the display turns off because of
inactivity, you must start the programming
sequence again by repeating this step.
3. Using the Number Keys, enter 9 8 5.
The bottom two IR segments flash four
times, to indicate vibration switch has
been turned off.
4. Press HOME twice to exit programming
and return to the last-selected device
menu screen.
To turn vibration switch back on, repeat
steps 1 to 4 above. Note that the bottom two
IR segments flash twice (in step 3), to
indicate that the vibration switch is back on.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Sietlas from IT WORKS!.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 63 made on Wednesday October 14, 2009 at 9:37 PM.
Review:Someone else described a way to disable the tilt switch by opening up the remote and physically remove it. That's unneccessary. The manual (at least the RadioShack manual) describes very clearly how to do this programmatically:
- Hold down the "P" (i.e. "Setup") key for 3 seconds, until the IR indicator blinks twice.
- Press "Other"
- Enter the code 9-8-5. The IR indicator blinks four times (to indicate that the switch is off), or twice (to indicate that is on).

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by shawnv200 from Atlanta, GA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 62 made on Sunday July 2, 2006 at 10:58 AM.
Strengths:Aesthetically, it's totally cool.
Weaknesses:Programming.
Reliability - just died after 6 months.
Review:Had trouble getting it to do what I wanted it to do. I've had other One for All remotes that worked great.
Reliability for all One for All products I've owned has been poor. This one died suddenly last week, and it only has a 90 day warranty.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by eban from New York.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 61 made on Wednesday March 29, 2006 at 12:48 AM.
Strengths:Attractive price for refurbished model. Easy to use and nice features. The best universal remote that I have owned.
Weaknesses:Motion/vibration sensor is too sensitive.
Review:I decided to purchase this particular model, even though there was many complaints about the motion/vibration sensor being too sensitive. I would definitely say that this is the most frustrating feature of the remote. Other than the motion/vibration sensor issue, this is a fine universal remote that does have a lot of nice features. The user's manual was decent and it was fairly easy to program.

I did know why people were destroying the vibration sensor when you can simply turn it off (maybe it's just the model/version purchased). As annoying as the vibration sensor was I could not live without it (it's more annoying to have to push the key pad to turn it on). I decided to fix the flaw of the vibration sensor. I purchase a non-mercury tilt switch (Item #PH-30-17072) from www.action-electronics.com for a mere $2.25 plus shipping (don't get the mercury equivalent it was too sensitive when I tested it). The sensor I bought is basically the same design as the original, except that it is better quality. I basically removed the original sensor and soldered in my new sensor (the key factor is that you have to adjust the angle properly for optimal results). It took me maybe ten minutes to complete the installation. Presto bango! My remote now works the way it was intended. I pick it up and it turns on. It no longer turns on with the slightest vibration. I can even sit on the couch and will not turn on until I pick it up. So the moral of the story is that for about $2.25, shipping, and a little work you can remove all the negatives from this remote. Hurray!

Why didn't they make it that way in the first place
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by eherz from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 60 made on Saturday March 11, 2006 at 1:00 AM.
Strengths:Controls all my audio video devices. Macros allow for an almost unlimited ability to customize my options with any single or multiple devices.
Weaknesses:You have to take out the internal motion switch unless you want to replace batteries often.
Review:This remote control is about as good as it gets when it comes to remote controls. All of my audio video units were easy to program and the macro funtion ablities made it even better when it came to multiple device programming. I have read many reviews as to how to disable the annoying on switch that turns the unit on with almost any vibration.
I found an easier way to do it with no soldering iron.

Remove batteries and screws under the batteries.
With a couple of small scredrivers remove the back cover by inserting the screwdrivers between the black bottom part and the top metal part. Bow out the black bottom until it snaps away from the top. This is the hardest part of the procedure. Once the bottom is off locate the small silver box on the right. It has a wire on one end that is soldered onto the circuit board and the other end is soldered onto the circuit board. With a small pair of wire cutters cut the wire. Then with a small scredriver pry the box up and it will pop off the circuit board. Put everything back together and the unit will work as it should have been desgned to.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by sesl from California,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 59 made on Monday January 9, 2006 at 12:41 AM.
Strengths:I enjoy using the home theater mode and the cool lookin display. The ability to change how long I want the light on and the ability to turn on and off the vibration sensor in order to for the battery to last longer than a week.
Weaknesses:none
Review:I have purchased this remote and first noticed that the vibration sensor was a bit too sensitive, so i turned it off. It worked with only 1 of my devices untill i called ofa to upgrade my remote via the phone, which is a nice feature if you arent a JP1 user. Now i have added a new device that i cant get from OFA i have my JP1 cable and upgraded it. When i first saw the remote i adored it. I love that it has a different menu for my different devices. This remote has replaced all of my 6 remotes and i can continue to add devices. I would recommend this remote who is in the market for a new remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bob Nash from Michigan.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 58 made on Sunday September 4, 2005 at 6:32 PM.
Strengths:The product eliminates other remotes. It even handles the setup and adjustment menues that vsrioud remotes work. There was one device that I could not get the code for. Tech support programmed it OVER THE TELEPHONE, the remote 'listened' to the phone handset.
Weaknesses:Batteries have to be replaced about every week. I like the unit so much that bought two sets of rechargable batteries, and I just change them once a week. The unit does not lose memory when this happens. This has worked for almost 2 years.
Review:I love the way it does EVERYTHING that all the other romotes did. I got used to switching rechargable batteries every week. This was the first remote that I found that did everything, for all of my devices. There was one device that had to be programmed, by tech support OVER THE TELEPHONE!! The device actually listened to the handset of the phone.
I've had this for almost 2 years, I cant wait to see what comes next.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse