Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) from One For All.
One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
64$119
The 8-device One For All URC-9960 represents the second generation of UEI's Kameleon technology. It features automatic backlighting, code learning, macros, Home Theater mode, easy setup, and more.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|Last >> ]

Written by Ken Yarnall from Pennsylvania, PA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 29 made on Saturday May 22, 2004 at 2:50 PM.
Strengths:Extremely flexible and programmable via JP1. Definitely cool to look at. Handles all my equipment exactly the way I want to.
Weaknesses:Batteries last about 4-5 weeks.
Review:I don't recall how I liked this remote out of the box anymore. For the last several months, I've been using it with the JP1 "Extender" written by Nils Ekberg (go to www.hifi-remote.com/forums and start reading), version 2. With this extender, I can put a macro or a keymove on any button (including the device buttons), plus a variety of other tricks. Here's how my kamy works right now:

- Press the HT device button to power up the receiver, TV, and PVR, set everything to the right mode, and start watching TV.

- Press the DVD device button to turn on the receiver, TV, and DVD player, change aspect ratio on the TV, set the volume and input on the amp, and so forth. If some of these devices are on, the remote doesn't try to turn them on again.

- Press VCR to ... well, you get the picture.

- Press Power to turn off anything that might be on.

The extender makes macros lightning fast (when I power up, all my devices come on at essentially the same time). I can set the duration of the backlight, which helps preserve battery life. With JP1, I can design the key layouts and macros on my computer and then download them to the remote. For a $60 remote and a $20 cable, not too bad.

One thing to note: My 9960 is "broken" in that it usually does not respond to vibration to turn on, but requires a button-click to activate. I almost returned it for a replacement, but realized that this was probably an unintended feature...

With the extender, this is a very nice remote. I like the key layout in HT mode --- logical and comfortable. I don't think the separate screens (especially the "scrolling" feature) is very useful, but then, I rarely use it. :-)

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by J R Humes from Oregon.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 28 made on Sunday May 9, 2004 at 3:50 PM.
Strengths:Does all it says it will do
Weaknesses:Eats Batteries
Review:I was very excited about this unit. Ease of programming, animation, different keyboard displays per device selected, but the auto illuminate when picked up capabilities, well, thatís another story.

This thing lights up when my cat walks across the floor or a bus drives by one block away. Every time my Sub-Woofer lets out a descent bark it lights up.

My Battery expense after 5 months is now equal to the $90 purchase price.

What can I say, it now sits on a shelve in my home theater along with other discarded remotes. I went back to my old Radio Shack universal until something better comes along.

Great idea, poor use of sensitivity technology.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Fernando Agonigi from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 27 made on Thursday April 15, 2004 at 1:05 PM.
Strengths:Real cool looking, large library of pre-programed codes, learns other codes easily, good macros
Weaknesses:Unbeliavable battery drainer
Review:I have used many universal remotes and this one was quite easy to opperate, with good overall value EXCEPT for the battery usage. The guys at URC urgently need to do something about it if this technology is intended to be taken seriously. I am NOT a heavy user and the batteries last less than a month, simply because the damn thing will turn itself on whenever it feels like, no matter how sturdy you think your house is. Placing it over a pillow as I've seen suggested in other reviews will help, but the real solution would be to include a sensitivity control or, at least, a cheap ON-OFF switch so you could put it to rest when you're not at home.
Bottom line: real nice remote if you don't mind the battery thing.




Quality: Features: Value:

Written by arthur from Toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 26 made on Saturday April 10, 2004 at 1:29 PM.
Strengths:Looks nice in the box. If you had all preprogrammed codes, it might be a good unit.
Weaknesses:This unit is very poor in learning mode. It can only learn 7 keys for a device, which is useless. It have a very fussy IR receiver, which makes it tricky to even pick up a signal to begin with.
Review:If you want to use this to learn a remote, you're out of luck. Do not buy this if you have a Bose System. It is too much trouble to get working, and you will end up returning it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chris from Sudbury, On.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 25 made on Saturday April 3, 2004 at 10:36 PM.
Strengths:Good functionality. Cool look. Good Macros and learning functions.
Weaknesses:BATTERY LIFE of course. Back light buzzes and drains the AAA's. I'm using NMHi's and replace them every 3 weeks. No "tactile" buttons
Review:There's definitely a "coolness" factor in having this remote, but it could use some features... Like some tactile bumps on the remote so you don't have to look at the remote every time you press a button. A dimmer on the backlite and some way of shutting it off so it doesn't go off with every bump.
Otherwise, a bit pricey, but cool nun the less.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by chuck zierdt from Oakland, Ca.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 24 made on Friday April 2, 2004 at 2:22 PM.
Strengths:Doesn't loose settings when batteries are changed. Reprogrammable keys, Good tech suppport.
Weaknesses:Uses AAA batteries that last less than a month. Limited brightness adjustment. Tech support recommended against rechargable batteries. I now use NiMh batteries.
Review:It sucks! I should have bought a remote with buttons. Blanks out unexpectedly, a little shake brings it back to life. Lights up when I set a glass down next to it (It's very sensitive to vibration and is not adjustable). May not be a problem if you live on a concrete slab floor. Putting the remote on a pillow helps a little.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by oreo from home in NA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 23 made on Tuesday March 16, 2004 at 8:44 AM.
Strengths:Ease of use.
Menu screens that change with device selection.
Home Theater mode for grouping keys from different devices.
Learning functions from OEM remote controls.
Large set of device codes available, upgradable by phone.
User's Guide is written well and easy to understand.
Weaknesses:Can program a maximum of 5 macros.
Cannot change the key labels.
Review:The 9960 controls all of my home theater devices and has functions that the OEM remotes do not, such as MUTE, FAV channel scan, INFO for display of channel information, LAST channel.

The appearance of this remote is attractive. The edges have smooth curves that feel good in my hand, and the bright display glows with a pleasing blue light. It is very easy to read. Animated graphics indicate which mode is active and when IR signals are sent to the selected device. You can even use it as a flashlight in the dark.

The remote control is silent; there is no buzz sound even at full brightness. The turn-on switch sensitivity is just right. It turns on when you pick it up or press a key. If you have bouncing floors, it may turn on when the floor moves from walking by, a loud subwoofer, or jumping dogs. My floors are very solid and that is not a problem.

I have not used any advanced codes. Instead I learn functions from the OEM remotes. I use 4 macros and 13 learned keys. The device codes control the remaining functions. You can reassign unused device keys to control a second device. For example, use PVR or AUX to control a second VCR or TV. When you press and hold keys, the function repeats, as it should. Useful for adjusting volume, audio or video.

I use four convenient AAA 15-minute rechargeable 800mAh NiMH batteries. I have the 9960 for 2 weeks, which is not long enough to measure the operational lifetime for a single battery charge, but changing batteries is easy.

I noticed that after using the Home Theater power macro, I need to press the SCROLL key the first time before using the HT cursor keys to navigate menus. Adding SCROLL to the end of the power macro saves pressing this key.

I don't like the appearance of the Radioshack brand Kameleon. I have the North America version from UEI.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 6 of 10 for
the One For All URC-9960 (Kameleon) remote.
[ Go to: |<< First|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse