Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
9/13/19 - Features push-to-talk voice control of Amazon Alexa and Apple TV via Siri.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Philips Pronto NG TSU3000 & TSU3500 from Philips Electronics.
Philips Pronto NG TSU3000 & TSU3500
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.45/5.00
Median: 3.67/5.00
29$399
The Philips Pronto "Next Generation" TSU3000 sports 4mb of memory, a 16 greyshade LCD touchscreen, USB interface, plus a total of 20 hard buttons. With the ProntoEdit NG software package, the remote's interface can be completely customized. The TSU3500 adds improved backlighting.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 5 for
the Philips Pronto NG TSU3000 & TSU3500 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Written by Andrew Robinson from Kent, England.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 22 made on Tuesday March 22, 2005 at 8:48 AM.
Strengths:Comprehensive offering; highly programmable with PENG software; great support in on-line forums; long established user base
Weaknesses:Complicated for the un-initiated to master quickly; needs the docking station and rechargeable battery pack
Review:Having upgraded my home TV to a full plasma cinema system, the thought of 7 or so remotes (plus a technophobic wife) left me without a choice - a universal remote. After reading this forum for a few weeks I decided to plumb for the RU950. I have not been dissappointed (thanks letsautomate.com - great service) and I am getting to grips with the programming and the works of Mr Tonks! Early days yet, but I am very impressed by the capabilities. My only bug bear is the need for discrete codes for on and off, which I have still to master over the coming days.

Overall, well worth the effort and the patience to get to grips with this excellent remote control
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark from Florida.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 21 made on Sunday February 27, 2005 at 11:16 AM.
Strengths:Very flexible in capabilities. Excellent non-vendor based support in the form of manuals and online forums. Dave's ProntoWizard manual is defintely a plus to start off on the right foot.
Weaknesses:I have not had any of the contrast issues referenced.
Review:Started a hunt for a remote in Jan 05 to replace 4 other remotes. Also needed the capability for simplistic use for the family, ideally activity based while allowing for future growth. The TSU3000 has definitely filled this role.

While reading Dave's manual, I started to line out the actions needed by each component for every activity in Excel. This made the whole programming piece go much faster and presented solutions to non-discreet situations. Acheived my 1st version with roughly 9 hours invested. In my second version I included end user help functionality specific to the various activities, a 2 hour investment.

After 11 hours, my family who can not figure out most electronic items, is now loving life with our entertainment system (Vizio HD Plasma, HD DVR, Denon receiver, Toshiba DVD)because of the remote.

I would highly recommend getting Dave's ProntoWizard manual and the recharger if you choose this remote. I wish I had the extra money for the color version.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Gary from SC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 20 made on Friday February 4, 2005 at 6:28 PM.
Strengths:Support Software
Weaknesses:User Manual or web site needs a step by step programming example for simple set ups and one for macro set ups.
Review:I bought the Pronto TSU 3000, programmed it to interface with my equipment but found the macro feature very difficult to use. The web site and Proedit NG were not much help. I returned the unit and am now using my faithful one for all remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Randy Springer from Illinois, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 19 made on Sunday January 16, 2005 at 8:45 PM.
Strengths:Unlimited potential
Weaknesses:Learning curve for programming
Lack of documentation for software
Review:I bought this remote and didn't use it for the first few months because I didn't have enough time to sit and learn how to program it. My main mistake was trying to borrow too much from the existing files here at Remote Central.
I learned that if someone hasn't already created your exact remote codes, it's best to teach the remote the codes yourself.
Once I created my remote look and borrowed everything I could, I "learned" the rest of the controls myself. From there everything went easy. I have become well versed in my Pronto now. I have everthing working so well, I wouldn't know what to do without my it.
I would suggest buying the charging dock (I did after all the reports of poor battery life) but they have updated the firmware so battery life in much longer, although I never really had a problem with it befoe I got the dock.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Fireluv from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 18 made on Saturday November 27, 2004 at 1:30 PM.
Strengths:Ultimate customization. I can make any screen have any buttons that I want.
Weaknesses:Learning curve for programming the remote and the drain on batteries.
Review:This is the remote you buy if you have 8 or more components to control. I have the remote controlling all of my audio/video components in addition to my computer. This remote can learn commands easily and effectively, but it drains batteries FAST.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joe from Jackson, MS.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 17 made on Friday August 6, 2004 at 8:35 AM.
Strengths:I believe this products greatest strength is the ability to be programed on the PC. It has unlimited flexability.
Weaknesses:Battery life is a bit short. With all the uploading and downloading I did, my first set of batteries lasted only a week. The IR blasters could be just a little hotter.
Review:After trying the Sony 2500, and the Harmony I bought a referb Pronto TSU3000 unit that came in a plain brown box with no software. It did come with a USB cable and an instruction book. (Phillips needs to hire Dave to write their book.) At $169.00 I now feel like I got a bargain. The first thing I did was download the updated firmware as indicated by the comments in the user group here. That process works well I experienced 0 problems. I tried a couple of configurations using codes from the onboard list and they worked OK but I wasn't really impressed. I could get that for $29.99 at my local discount store. Then I broke down and bought Dave D'Arche's book as recommended here so many times. Lo and Behold the remote came to life! Between Dave's book and the files here, I was able to make use of the remotes learning features which I found to be wonderful. I have never seen a remote learn commands any easier. I have seen comments about difficulties in this area but I did not experience them. In fact, I simply taught the remote all the codes from each remote and never did set up the brands. I found the software to be fairly easy to use one you catch on to the "flow" of things although it does have a bit of a learning curve. I found that if you set the light control very low, the light will not wash out your display in normal room lighting. In actual viewing conditions the display is bright enough for use but not so bright that is blinds you. Also I loved the hard keys and the ability to punch through things like volume. Set up correctly, this remote can be operated by touch. It has enough hard buttons to put your most often used functions on them. I set the side buttons to volume up and down, mute, and channel change as recommended. I set the rocker switch and the 4 hard buttons up to control my satellite box as watching TV through the satellite is what we do most. I would like to be able to keep the light from coming on when the hard buttons are pushed but this is a minor gripe. The ability to add a beep to the soft buttons makes up for the lack of tactile feel. Macros work well and are very easy to set up. I set up a "What do you want to do?" page with macros to set all the inputs etc for my wife who is button challenged. I have experienced absolutely no problems with day to day operation. Phillips seems to have gotten their act together with this last firmware release. This is one great remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tyler Halbrooks from NM.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 16 made on Sunday February 29, 2004 at 5:40 PM.
Strengths:I did not find any
Weaknesses:It is the most difficult unit I have come in contact with. It is not easy to program. I tried and tried and tried. 15 hours later I put it back in the box and sent it back.
Review:I will look at other manufacturers for a better easy to configure remote. I can not believe it takes a major amount of computer programing knowledge. The products directions are not very informative and do not help in the way of programing it through a computer. I install home theater systems for a living and have never come in contact with anything this confusing
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 5 for
the Philips Pronto NG TSU3000 & TSU3500 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse