Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the UCommand 515 from Crisp Solutions.
UCommand 515
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.39/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
29$99
The UCommand 515 is an economically-priced touchscreen LCD remote that can control eight devices. It features full learning capabilities, macros on any user button, an easy-to-read backlit screen and quick operation.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 5 for
the UCommand 515 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Written by Mike from Sydney, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 29 made on Saturday February 5, 2005 at 6:49 PM.
Strengths:easy to use, inexpensive, loads of options in labels. good backlight
Weaknesses:no label customisation, reliability when the batteries go low
Review:I've used this unit for over two years. It operates quite well and the cost is reasonable. I'm actually onto my second unit, the first one failed after a year, the batteries were low, I didn't replace them immediately and the screen went funny when pressed and became unusable. The retailer replaced it and now after 12 months the second unit has done the same, I think I'll go for the Sony.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by James Newton from Midlands, UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 28 made on Saturday December 20, 2003 at 3:14 PM.
Strengths:Nice Size
good to grasp
Good display
Price
Weaknesses:Unable to change graphical buttons
battery power
Heh its 25 what do you want
Review:For 25 its ideal has strengths of remotes costing 100+
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ian from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 27 made on Tuesday December 9, 2003 at 9:21 AM.
Strengths:Easily Programmable.
Weaknesses:Can't change text of buttons and each button has a limited number of text choices. If the same button has 2 entries that you require your stuck.
Review:Fundamentally floored bit of kit that isn't universal enough. This only really replaces the simlpest of remote controls. For example, for my TV I would like to add in the red, green, yellow, blue fasttext buttons, but there doesn't seem to be any available text for these. Adding 4 blank buttons doesn't really solve anything.

Great remote - as long as you want it as yet another alternative remote rather than replacing your current array.

Mines going straight back to Maplins
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Neil from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 26 made on Sunday December 7, 2003 at 4:41 PM.
Strengths:Versatile
Cheap (30!)
Weaknesses:Inconsistent performance across products
Review:Pretty quick and easy to setup and, as with the other reviewers, I found the felxibility of the display nice - the ability to remove/change icons etc.

I have noticed, however, that there have been a few UK residents who are not having musch success with the 9200 and a cable/satellite set-top box/cable modem. I am subscribed to ntl using a Pace cable modem box and as yet have not managed to get it to work, despite teaching it the commands successfully. Can anyone out there help?

Other than that, go and buy one while Maplin are knocking them out cheap!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim Langster from Tulsa, Oklahoma.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 25 made on Saturday September 27, 2003 at 11:21 AM.
Review:I am adding this response to my previous posting with programming the X-10 commands. Please read the first posting by Brett and myself and if you still have trouble read below. I received a number of request for further information (particularly with dimming problems) and these might help clarify some of the advice Brett and I have made.

The dimmers are no different than the rest. The X-10 commands send continuous iterative loops that fill the SUR-20 memory and fails. This is why it is critical to tap the X-10 button very very quickly and repeatedly to interrupt the loop. Once you get one, it shouldn't be different for the others and shouldn't take more than a minute or so to program them all. So in short, place the X-10 remote in IR mode and place the SUR-20 remote in learn mode and press the correlating button you would like to use for the up/down dim. Line up the remotes for programming. Press the Dim (audio volume key) minus key 10 times (tap.tap.tap.tap.tap.tap.tap.tap.tap.tap) as quick as you can (almost spastic). Do the same for the Dim plus key.

By programming in this spastic manner, you will find the SUR-20 actually dims in a more preferred manner than even the X10 remote (due to the granular level of dims - e.g. 95% dim, 90% dim, 95% dim). The X-10 remote seems to go 80%, 60%, 40%, 20%, off.

Hope these suggestions help. Just another piece of advice with a problem I have seen with the SUR-20 device. I have a PVR (Personal Video Recorder) by Dish Network. The Icon I chose to program a button (record icon) would not allow programming. I changed the Icon and it worked fine. The reason I say this is if you are still unsuccessful after reading these instructions, try another icon or even a different button all together just to verify this isn't the problem.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by timothy shimmin from melbourne, australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 24 made on Wednesday June 4, 2003 at 7:06 AM.
Strengths:solid, well-built look, fast-learning, easy to program and use, back-light, plenty of icons
Weaknesses:shows up fingerprints, no preprogrammed codes, heavy and wide
Review:I bought the remote in Melbourne, Australia at Dick Smiths where it is called an "E-Pilot SRC-9200." The catalogue price is AUS$150 and they sold it to me for AUS$130. I like the look of the remote and despite others comments, I quite like the green backlight - the dark spot at the top middle doesn't bother me. The operation of the remote is quite straight-forward.

I had 2 learning problems with the remote. The main problem was that it would not learn the code to power off my Sony Receiver. It would keep coming up with an Error message. However, I was finally able to solve this problem by removing the original remote from the path of the learning remote a fraction of a second after I hit the power button on the original remote. There was then a slight delay and the learning remote came up with "ok" and I was in business :-)
I noticed that my Sony Receiver remote would flash its LED for a few seconds after hitting the power button and so I thought that perhaps the code was too long for the learning remote. So I decided to only allow a fraction of the code to be sent to the learning remote - it seems to work.
My other problem was with toggle commands on my old Philips TV. For instance, the mute button would turn off the sound but if one hits it again, it has no effect. The mute on my receiver toggles fine with my learning remote. There is something special about the Philips TV. I was not too fussed as none of the toggling options
are important to me on the TV.

Many people don't like all the buttons to be on the LCD touch panel, preferring the volume and channel controls as physical buttons. However, I like the completeness of it all - it makes for a consistent design IMHO. As mentioned in the weaknesses, it is unfortunate that it collects fingerprints so easily. However, this is really only apparent when one looks at the remote on an angle.
It is good how one can turn icons on and off, it is unfortunate that one can not turn off the icons for the devices at the bottom (I don't use CABLE, CD, AUX and would be nice not to see them).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jason Gegere from Green Bay, Wi.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 23 made on Thursday March 27, 2003 at 5:04 PM.
Strengths:Great. This remote is so easy to program.
Weaknesses:This remote has almost no weakness. I am amazed at how long the battery lasts
Review:Great. I would get another one but I don't need to becasue it handles all the devices in the house.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 5 for
the UCommand 515 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse