Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the UCommand 515 from Crisp Solutions.
UCommand 515
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.39/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
29$99
The UCommand 515 is an economically-priced touchscreen LCD remote that can control eight devices. It features full learning capabilities, macros on any user button, an easy-to-read backlit screen and quick operation.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 5 for
the UCommand 515 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Written by Marc from SD.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 15 made on Monday December 31, 2001 at 2:58 PM.
Strengths:Combine all my remotes into one
Weaknesses:Can't seem to get it to learn X10 even after following the instructions listed here.
Review:Have not had much success with tech support for my Sima SUR20 remote. I know it isn't directly from Crip Solutions but I was hoping I would be able to teach it the X10 codes as others have. I am trying to find out if I would purchase the Crisp model if I could use the cable to transfer the info from the Crisp Solutions model to my Sima model but haven't really received an answer. If anyone out there can help me I would greatly appreciate it!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chris Lewis from OR, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 14 made on Thursday September 27, 2001 at 12:15 AM.
Strengths:Nice Looking Remote, slim, sleek
Good Easy-To-Use Learning capabiltiy
Nice Bright Programmable Backlite
Weaknesses:Infared range: Medium Power
Shadow on LCD
Review:A very sleek & in-expensive touchscreen remote for under $100.00. Let's face it, look at the competition in this price range. I would buy another if I lost mine...

Still, I wish they had used a more opaque backing on the LCD display, as the photo-sensor & two surface mount parts on the PC board inside the unit are visible as dark shadows on the top middle part of the LCD when the backlite is activated. It would have looked cosmetically better if the LCD had more uniform brightness.

Also, I like really powerfull IR remotes... This remote was not nearly as powerfull as my "One For All - Cinema 6 -

All that aside, I wouldn't give it up because of it's erganomics, & style. A good buy in my opinion for the price.




Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jay from Georgia, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 13 made on Wednesday September 26, 2001 at 10:35 AM.
Strengths:Easy to use, Great look, Learns everything, Awesome!!!!!!!
Weaknesses:None!!!!!!!
Review:This is my first universal remote and it is great. My wife and I had it programmed to run my JVC TV, Onkyo Receiver, Magnavox VCR, Onkyo DVD/CD in just 30 minutes. It is so simple. Best of all is that my wife loves it because it is so simple to use. Great Product!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Brett DiMichele from Pennsylvania, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Monday September 3, 2001 at 12:26 AM.
Strengths:Leaning Function is very diverse and easy
to access.Macro function can have a total
of 25 steps with user selectable delays in
between each macro step. Bright back light
and good tactile feel of the Touch Screen.
Weaknesses:User drawable and relabel function via PC
would be very welcomed.
Review: Before I go into the review I must first
say that I don't have the UC515 by Crisp
Solutions, rather I have the same hardware
version of the UC515 but my version is a
Sima SUR-20.

The Sima SUR-20 is physically the same unit
as the UC515 and Crisp Solutions farms the
remote out to a few companies like, Rotel,
MCM Electronics and Millennium to name a
few.

The main difference between the SUR-20 and
the UC515 is that the Sima version does
come with 250 user codes in the database
where as the UC515 has no codes other than
prefab X-10 control (on the later models)

I choose this remote because I liked the
idea of a full LCD screen with no hard
buttons at all. I know some people prefer
to have hard buttons for repetitively used
functions like Volume, Channel, Power etc.

As I said, I went into this looking for a
full LCD Touch Screen so that is a major
plus in my book. Yes the remote is wide as
a few others have said. I have fairly big
hands and the remote is still wide. Crisp
Solutions could have made the frame of the
remote smaller but in doing so they would
have drastically reduced the useable size of
the LCD and to me that would have been a
big drawback.

The only other complaint I have with the
UC515 and all it's variants would be that
you can not custom draw new buttons and
you can not custom label buttons. Though
to be fair this is a value priced remote
that delivers on other features.

The quality of the remote is first rate in
every conceivable way. The case of the 515
is made of a textured ABS plastic that has
a great tactile feel in the hands. Quality
abounds where ever you look. The battery
door stays shut, the Touch Screen feels
great to your fingers and it responds very
quick to key presses with only the minimal
pressure needed to activate the functions.

The back light of the LCD does a great job
of illuminating the buttons on the LCD. I
do wish that you could specify more time
for the back light to remain on, the max
amount of time (in seconds) is 30.

The learning eye of the 515 and the other
clones is situated at the bottom of the
remote which makes learning an easy task
as you can easily look at the original
remote right side up.

About the learning function. I spoke with
Uli @ Crisp Solutions about controlling a
few X-10 devices and he replied in a very
timely fashion and was more than helpful
in explaining some things to me. He told
me that the SUR-20 would most likely not
have the X-10 codes preprogrammed in the
IR. database and that it may be hard to
get anything other than sporadic control
of X-10 devices by "learning" from another
X-10 IR. remote.

Fortunately I was able to learn all of the
X-10 commands from my X-10 6in1 Ur47a
remote (see picture below). Much to my
supprise the X-10 remote has a feature where
you can set it to control the IR543 module and
from there it was just a matter of playing
around until my SUR-20 had full control
of all my X-10 lights.



The biggest problem was teaching the MDIM
command. Rob from hifiremote.com explained
to me that the MDIM command is a repeating
loop command that could "fill" the SUR-20
learning function and then dump the code.
What I had to do was hold the MDIM button
on the 6in1 remote for 6 seconds and then
pull it away from the SUR-20 and the SUR
recorded enough of the MDIM command so it
works out perfectly.

If anyone has any questions about teaching
the SUR-20 or the MCM, Rotel or any other
variant of the 515 to do X-10 commands
do not hesitate to email me..

In closing I have to say that even at full
retail ($130.00) this remote would be a
bargain. I purchased mine from an auction
on Ebay for a measly $55.00 and I got the
deal of the century. Thank you Uli for
creating a top quality product and then
standing behind it with a full hands on
approach to customers. It was a pleasure
talking with you via email. And also I
want to thank Rob for his information
as well.


Sincerely
Brett DiMichele
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Oliver Lobley from London, UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 11 made on Monday June 25, 2001 at 6:13 PM.
Strengths:Fantastic Value. Excellent performance. Removed all the clutter of remotes from my living room!
Weaknesses:Hmm a claimed battery life of 5 months...I'm lucky if I get 3 weeks out of the unit (could be that the backlight is usually on - hence not too suited to projector based HC setups).
Review:Purchased this not so long ago for about 70, nearest rival was the Sony, which was about 150, so the choice was obvious. Other than the battery costs, this remote is absolutely top dollar. It even learnt the OnDigital & Sky Digital box remotes (which the salesman said it couldn't). Had to map the DVD chapter controls under AUX, but that's a minor setback.

Have no other gripes about this product. If you see one & can't really justify anything over 100 for a remote, this is a must have.

O.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Brian K. from New Jersey.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Monday March 26, 2001 at 5:45 PM.
Strengths:Easy set-up, clear screen, room to personalize, inexpensive, a new toy for my Home-Theater system
Weaknesses:Limited graphics for each button.
Review:I just purchased the UCommand 515 about a week ago and I still can't stop playing with it. There are so many ways to custonize each screen. Everyday I think of a new and better way to fit all the necessary buttons I need onto each device's screen. Although there are limited graphics available for each button when you are customizing it, you can just make it blank and it's not hard to remember what you put in there. I used to have 4 remotes (DVD, A/V Receiver, TV, and VCR) Now I only need one and it's cool to look at and fun to use. At such an inexpensive price, I would recommend this remote to everyone.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by db from Victoria, BC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Saturday March 3, 2001 at 12:28 PM.
Strengths:Will replace almost any remote; Easy to program; Good manual and customer service; Cool looking
Weaknesses:A bit top heavy; Can't use it "blind"
Review:Just got this the other day via Etronix and Borderfree.com. After plugging in the batteries, I was off to the races. I had a cursory glance at the manual (which is good, but I'm a guy- who needs manuals?) and then started programming buttons. Extremely easy and intuitive. It helps if you have a plan and know in advance exactly which buttons you want transferred, because not everything will fit and it won't be in the same place. For example, my CD player and my pre-amp both run off the same old remote (Cambride Audio). This basically means that I have volume controls added to a basic CD remote (but which aren't there on the CD screen of the 515). To get around this, I just substituted volume for the scan buttons, which I never use. Voila. I don't have a HT receiver yet nor do I have a satellite or cable box, so no opinions there. I do have a dvd, vcr, cd, pre-amp and TV though- and all work very nicely with the 515.
The wife- who doesn't live for toys like I do, can always find a reason to think 'the old way' was better. She did take to the 515 pretty easy though, and she has no problems navigating this remote.
My only real concern is with the weight distribution of the product, and it appears that because of its width and 'top-heaviness', it could be dropped pretty easy. With hardwood floors, this worries me.
All in all though, a damned fine piece of equipment for the money and it does everything I need a universal remote to do. I'm impressed.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 5 for
the UCommand 515 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse