Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the RCA RCU900 from RCA.
RCA RCU900
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.36/5.00
Median: 3.33/5.00
15$99
RCA's RCU900 is a combination hard button/touchscreen remote control that supports up to 8 devices. Its backlit LCD display provides different labels for each device. Includes macros and learning capability.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the RCA RCU900 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by Andrew Lemmetti from L'Epiphanie , Quebec.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 15 made on Tuesday April 11, 2006 at 12:51 AM.
Strengths:It Does "Learn" the buttons from your old "no-name brand" remote ,
Which is a 10/10 rating from me .
You Can :
- Enter the factory codes in the user guide
- Modify the buttons (extra functions/less functions) after entering the
factory codes, if you want
- Completely Clone your old "Made In China" remote , one button at
a time .
Weaknesses:RCA never seems to be able to write a "User-Friendly" manual.
Gotta read it over and over again before you finally understand the programming procedure... still reading it as I'm writing this.
Review:Paid it $79.95(CDN) at FutureShop Canada .
It was either this baby , or the higher-end Sony at $149.99.
Decided to give this a try ... and save a few bucks . Great decision !
It absolutely "Learns" everything .
No code for your old IR remote ? No problem .
Learning functions , one button at a time , is great for customizing your TV,DVD,VCR,RECIEVER setting the way you want it .
And on this RCA CRC-U900 , you do get alot of room to customize each device remote .
For $79.95 CDN , believe me ...I'm not complaining !
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by zinda89 from arizona, usa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 14 made on Friday March 17, 2006 at 12:48 AM.
Strengths:i got it for under $10! in the original box with all packaging xcept mnanual. seems like a tough package and even though it was damadged still working to some capacity!
Weaknesses:didn't notice till i was at home and removed it from the box and peeled back the plastic label on glass face and saw that the lcd touch screen was cracked, upon discovering this i proceeded to dismantle the controller to get a close look at how i could repair or get some limited usage out of it.
Review: After some cleaning up and careful glass to sticker surgery i reassembled it and powered it up just fine! but without the mysterious missing manuel [now found thanks to this sites blogs] it was a small challange to get anything working plus some of my lcd keys dont make full contact and sadly the center buttons wont work yet but in time i will restore full functions. I HAD TO WRITE JUST BECAUSE I AM BAFFLED OVER HOW MANY PANASONIC RELATED BLOGS AND JUDGING BY THE SIMPLICITY OF THIS DEVICE IM CONCLUDING THAT PEOPLE WHO PURCHASE PANASONIC PRODUCTS ARE NOT VERY BRIGHT [1] FOR EVER PURCHASING PANASONIC IN THE FIRST PLACE [2] FOR BUYING A $100 RCA REMOTE TO REPLACE SUCH A VARIETY OF OTHER MISSMATCHED COMPONENTS AND EXPECTING A WOMAN TO BE ABLE TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO USE IT! HELL A TV TECH WOULD HAVE A HARD TIME GETTING EVERY KEY SIMPLIFIED AND LABLED FOR SUCH A SENARIO!! WHAT R U GUYS THINKING!? THATS WHY THEY MAKE THE BRAND "ALL IN 1" REMOTE WITH 10 BIG LABLED BUTTONS, COSTING UNDER $10 And garanteed yopur woman can use it!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rick Baker from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 13 made on Thursday October 27, 2005 at 3:45 PM.
Strengths:Can run RCA stuff ok.
Weaknesses:When you call for support it is all voice assisted and sucks! Also when you put in the RCU900 it is not found in their database and no live help is available. Im tossing mine in the trash after hitting real hard with sledge hammer
Review:Do not buy this remote! Errors on entry even key learning is terrible. No live support, outdated codes and the manual is online at rca.com. At least on lone they know it exists, but no code for a Phillips DSR708 is to be found. Emailed RCA with no response. I guess they are too busy to even call a dedicated RCA customer for over 40 years! I have 22 RCA products at my home now and the device would not work even new ones!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tjlmbklr from WI.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Saturday July 2, 2005 at 6:30 PM.
Strengths:Easy to programm
Weaknesses:Started losing learned commands after a short period after i bought it. Still sitting where I left it, and bought a Pronto7000
Review:This was the last remote I boughtr that was lest then $100.00, I guess you get what you pay for.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Robert Martindale from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 11 made on Saturday November 13, 2004 at 12:14 PM.
Strengths:Reasonable look and feel
Weaknesses:Soft keys are not as positive as they could be
Review:This is the EXACT same product as the GE RM24941
I own the GE product (less that $50 from Longs Drugs - amazingly!)
I managed to code and then have it learn codes for everything I own.
It would be great to have multi program reature to allow a single key to perform multiple tasks.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ron Bailey from Michigan, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Wednesday March 24, 2004 at 6:47 PM.
Strengths:Very easy to program. Learning the device funtions from the existing remotes went fairly quickly. The unit is well made.
Weaknesses:Very limited codes for my hardware. Can't create custom labels for the soft buttons. Too easy to do an accidental "master clear". Tech support is non-existant.
Review:Since the codes that are built into my unit did now work on most of my devices, I had to manually teach each button from my original remotes. The process was very simple and easy to learn. However, it is too easy to accidentally erase everything it was taught(which I did twice as I was almost done) as you are teaching the remote. I would have like to have the ability to create my own labels for the soft buttons. The soft buttons did create a problem for me, since they seemed to have a "bounce". While going through a menu on the tv, the soft button would "bounce", causing the pointer jump past two or three items. Consequently, I returned it the store where I purchased it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by kndymn from washington.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 9 made on Sunday January 25, 2004 at 10:02 PM.
Strengths:Nice balance between the touch and hard buttons.
Weaknesses:Very limited for a home theater buff.
Review:It has some good points, but if you have a wife, do not buy this remote. Sure you can program the macros to make things a little easier, but all I heard were complaints. Ended up buying a Harmony 768. Now life is a bit easier.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the RCA RCU900 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse