Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the RCA RCU1000B from RCA.
RCA RCU1000B
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 2.71/5.00
Median: 3.00/5.00
39$99
The RCU1000B is a 10-device learning remote control that features a large backlit LCD touchscreen, hard buttons, macros, timers and more!
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 6 for
the RCA RCU1000B remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Written by videobruce from Buffalo NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 39 made on Tuesday April 24, 2007 at 9:42 AM.
Also owned:URC-9910RF
URC-10820
Strengths:Soft keys
Weaknesses:Way too wide to hold with one hand
Transport controls at bottom. Impossible to operate with one hand
Review:I can't understand why anyone would want any of the 'two handed' remotes just for a large LCD display.
You don't get any tatic feedback and you have to look at the display before you press any of those soft key buttons.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by darren J Scanlon from new jersey.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 38 made on Monday August 29, 2005 at 8:45 PM.
Strengths:handled all sorts of equipment where it had to learn the codes. looks awesome when customized
Weaknesses:DOnot leave under a pillow as touch screen will stay lit and batteries will die out
Review:it is a heavy remote by standards but can handle virtually any product that is remoted. i even programed it to change my A/C unit in the window.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mitch from BC, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 37 made on Wednesday March 23, 2005 at 12:15 PM.
Strengths:Looks smart!
Well lit LCD screen
Weaknesses:Acts dumb!
LCD function design not well thought out at all, except on how to back-light it maybe.
Review:I liked the idea that this remote actually looks like my RCA TV in a way. You would have thought it came with the TV (it didn't), but The TV is great, the remote is crap. I'm not against RCA products in general (I've had success with two RCA TVs) but this one ...well...read on...
I agree with everyone else who has submitted a review of this remote. The weak points are numerous and varied -
-Labeling options are few.
-Learning feature is flaky.
-Hard buttons don't respond on first press.
-LCD doesn't activate on first touch, or second, or third. Usually have to press the "setup" button to get it to wake up.
-Sometimes it decides to lock up for no apparent reason and all codes are lost.
-Takes hours to re-enter, relearn everything.
-Doesn't have codes for many devices.
-Bulky shape and size. Not for a person with small hands. Even with big hands you need two of them to operate this monster.
I've had the thing for more than a year. I get peeved with it after a while and throw it in a drawer and then months later drag it out to try again. It is universal though. It is universally bad!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kevin from St. Catharines, ON, CANADA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 36 made on Sunday December 26, 2004 at 7:12 PM.
Strengths:- Easy to use ( as long as you read the manual )
- User freindly interface
- Great battery life
- Awesome back lit screen and light sensing technology
Weaknesses:- Not a good variety on custom labeling the buttons, or lacations.
- Only a 90 day warranty, which is pathetic for something like this. Doesn't show that RCA is very supportive.
Review:I have a hard time understanding why everyone is having so many issues and complaints about this remote.
I haven't had one problem, it might take a little time and reading, but all in all I got this puppy set up for all my devices in about an hour, and that's after tweaking everything to my exact liking.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by AJ from Miss USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 35 made on Thursday April 22, 2004 at 10:00 AM.
Strengths:Sharp look
Weaknesses:This is a true PITA to program or use for anything more than simple options. Ths macro maker was garbage.
LCD buttons were programable, but limited to only 3 options.
Review:Please...do not waste your time with this remote...i am still suprised RCA made something of this quality.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Scott Sonksen from MO.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 34 made on Thursday January 15, 2004 at 9:43 PM.
Strengths:Looks good.
Weaknesses:Didn't perform from the moment out of the box.
Review:Wasn't able to learn any commands from my other remotes. It also took about 2 minutes for the component code to be input. I though it locked up. Very disappointed!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by George Little from Ohio.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 33 made on Wednesday July 2, 2003 at 8:54 AM.
Strengths:Looks good on the table
Weaknesses:Cannot be used with a number of products includling my JBL surround sound system. It also loses "learned" key information.
Review:Overall a very poor choice for a universal remote. The panel is hard to read except in the darkest rooms, the remote will "learn" from existing remotes but then forgets whatever it learned. My JBL surround sound and DVD player cannot be coded even using the search method. I tried to contact RCA to see if there might be updated codes but of course got no response at all. Overall I would say that if you are looking to purchase a basic remote that looks cool then maybe this is a good choice but I wouldn't pay over $20 for the thing.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 6 for
the RCA RCU1000B remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse