Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Weemote for Kids from Fobis Technologies.
Weemote for Kids
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.96/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
8$24.95
The Weemote is a remote control designed especially for children. With a fun shape and five favorite channel buttons, it gives kids their own control while allowing parents to select exactly what channels are available.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Weemote for Kids remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by David from Oklahoma, USA .
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 8 made on Sunday November 6, 2005 at 4:14 PM.
Strengths: This is what we needed! An 86 year old senior doesn't need 40 buttons.
Weaknesses: Hard to hold in one hand.
Review: Got the Weemote Sr. for my 86 year old friend who had to change to a Dish satellite system when the local cable complany was bought out and prices were raised by 20 bucks. Grandpa couldn't handle all the new buttons and kept messing up the system and was unable to get the stations back, so we got a Weemote Sr. Programed in the 6 most favorite channels and things are now much better. I like the hidden menu, grandpa doesn't know how to do that kind of thing and it's best he leaves it alone. The case is not shaped for one handed use but I found a couple of rubber bands just the right size and put them around it so it does not slip out of his hands. I like the way the power button turns both TV and Satellite box off and on at the same time. Beware if one stays on and one goes off they will be out of sync and one will have to be manually turned on or off to get them back in sync. In other words one will go on, the other off, each time the power button is pushed. Seems so simple to fix but try explaining that to grandpa. Thanks Weemote for simplifying things for grandpa.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Darren Best from Toronto, ON, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Wednesday May 7, 2003 at 5:21 PM.
Strengths:- Simplicity of design
- Operates TV and Satellite receiver together seamlessly
Weaknesses:- No "Recall" button (dedicated or programmable)
- Weemote Sr. still looks a bit childish.
Review:Superb product, thankful to the fellow at Slashdot who pointed me to this remote at this site.

My story: my father-in-law (83 years old) recently came to live with us from Nova Scotia. In order that he could see most of the stations he watched on the East coast, we got an ExpressVu satellite system. Of course, the channels were now different, and the remote was overly complicated. He would accidentally press on a Guide or Menu button or whatnot, and a confusing screen would appear that he would have no idea how to get out of. In frustration, he began to refuse to use the remote at all, and would just ask my wife or I to change the channel, turn it on/off, etc. Or worse, he would unhappily be stuck with whatever was on, even if he didn't like the program.

Other universal remotes purchased at the local electronics stores were no better, and in many cases worse, from a simplicity factor.

This remote is exactly what I have been looking for. My father-in-law is now happy with his TV freedom, and my wife and I are happy with no longer being nursemaids to the TV set. My only wishes (for a recall button and for the unit to be a bit more "grown up" looking) are small, and in no way makes me dissatisfied. It does EXACTLY the job I need it to do. Thanks, Fobis!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Debbi Storczer from Illinois, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 6 made on Monday February 10, 2003 at 1:50 PM.
Strengths:Sturdy, holds up to being thrown.
Weaknesses:If my kids push the buttons to much - as in the push a button more than once, then I may get channel 3 instead of channel 38.
Review:Overall, I love the product and I am looking to order another one for our other tv. Just cannot find someone who sells it now. I originally ordered it from Lillian Vernon.

The product was very easy to map to our existing tv.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Al from Hutchinson, Kansas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 5 made on Monday December 2, 2002 at 1:08 AM.
Strengths:The codes provided wouldn't operate my RCA DSS so I contacted tech support. They were most helpful. They exchanged it for an upgraded model and they paid for express shipping bothto and from my house!!! It works great, My 5 year old figured it out in no time, now I get my own remote back...
Weaknesses:The 100-10-1 programming is a pain and after I bumped up the speed to it's max, it still is a little slow switching between channels. (No big deal)
Review:I bought another one for my girlfriends child and one for my nephew... Great Christmas Gifts!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by M W from NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 4 made on Monday January 7, 2002 at 10:21 AM.
Strengths:Without a doubt, the design for ease-of-use is its major strength. It only took 1 minute to explain to my 4 year old how the thing worked. He immediately caught on and repeated all the instructions back to me. No problem.

Attention to some special features is the Weemote 2's other major strength-- in particular, the "Home Channel" feature is great: you can program the remote so that at power-on, it will tune the TV to the 1st pre-select channel automatically. No more worrying about which channel you left the TV on before going to bed ;-)
Weaknesses:The only weakness I could see is possibly the "100/10/1" programming scheme. It was no problem for me, but I could see that this might be complicated for some people. If you are reading this review, then don't worry.... you're quite capable of programming the thing. I'm talking about those people whose VCRs are still flashing 12:00 12:00 12:00 12:00... ;-)
Review:This review specifically covers the Weemote 2.

I really love this remote. We bought it after I saw a friend's 2 year old using theirs.

After 5 minutes of reading the documentation, and 5 minutes of programming the remote, the thing was working like a charm.

My 4 year old loves the thing. No more asking us to change the channels for him. We use only 5 channels (programmed to the main colored keys.) He has no problems navigating the channels. The only sad thing, I guess, is that he's even more addicted to TV now. The first night he had the remote, he wanted to take it to bed with him. Oh well. Like father, like son.

In all, this is one of the best child products I've seen on the market in a long time.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dianna from Massachusetts.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 3 made on Wednesday October 24, 2001 at 12:58 PM.
Review:This remote is a lifesaver. We have it programmed to all of the channels that our 4 year old watches. She has learned how to change the channels and volume on her own television. This has saved my sanity!

great buy!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Schlepp from PDX, OR, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Thursday December 28, 2000 at 1:35 AM.
Strengths:Does exactly what it's made for.
No more... "can you turn it to my show?"

Took dad (approx) 10 minutes to program, and 2 minutes to teach how to use.
"My" remote is now "SAFE"!!!
Weaknesses:Has now been 2 straight mornings of...
"NO, IT'S MY TURN!!!... NO, IT'S MINE!!!... HUH UH!!!... DAAAAAADDDDDDYYYYYYYYY!!!...
SHE WOULDN'T LET USE IT!!!!... NO, I HAD IT FIRST!!!...

AAAAAAaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!
It's a good thing I gotta go to work in the mornings. hehe
(my poor wife, though) ROTFLMAO
Review:The above says it all
Though, unless you have 3 1/2 yr old twin girls... you probably won't have any of the "product weakness"'s

Oh yeah...
your days of... "being in charge" of the TV are now over. ;-{
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Weemote for Kids remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse