Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Philips RU880 from Philips Electronics.
Philips RU880
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.58/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
38N/A
Available only in Europe, the RU880 is a pre-programmed and learning remote control with LCD screen, backlit keypad and directional pad.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 6 for
the Philips RU880 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Written by Toni Korhonen from Vaasa, Finland.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Thursday August 16, 2001 at 5:48 AM.
Review:Very good remote good amount buttuns and devices. I have Akai video, Sony 16:9 WEGA,Salora DVD (LG) and Yamaha RXV396RDS receiver, All devices works with presettigs, few special function i must "learn" to remote. Yamaha was a problem. I put first yamaha presetting, reprogrammed buttons work great but i can not "learn" new buttuns. Then I reset that audio device in remote and learned all buttons individually then remote work great.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Neil Barnden from Isle of Wight, UK..
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Monday June 25, 2001 at 6:37 AM.
Strengths:Replicates layout elements of Sky Digibox remote, easy to programme.
Weaknesses:Programming NAD CD player remote crashes it.
Review:I was very disappointed with the Philips Pronto, with its high price, low contrast screen (that my wife couldn't actually read, it was so bad - no matter what the contrast was set to), lack of built-in support for my AV components etc. So I sent it back and went for the far more 'conventional' option, the RU880. With reservations, I'm glad I did. The unit is a pleasant size, of quality construction and is comfortable to hold (something else I didn't like about the bulky yet flimsy-feeling Pronto). It is aesthetically pleasing too. The remote's layout makes memorising which buttons have been programmed with which functions easy (and I had to programme ALL the functions manually - none of the supplied shortcut codes worked with my components).
After a day of use, programming in additional cross-over functionality between the keysets - TV, SAT, DVD, VCR etc. - the remote has now fully replaced 7 of the 8 remotes that littered the coffee table!
Only two hiccups marred the unit's performance. Firstly, the Sky digibox remote's 0 button totally refused to programme to the 0 on the 880 - but I worked around this by assigning it to the redundant -/-- key next to the 0. Secondly, my NAD CD player's remote crashed the 880 when I tried to assign the Play/Pause key, and removal of a battery was then required - which as mentioned in previous reviews, makes the 880 default back to German and loses the clock's setting. Of all the components the remote could have failed on, the CD player was the least critical, so I count myself fortunate.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Monica de Kruyf from Hong Kong.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 8 made on Sunday June 17, 2001 at 8:24 AM.
Review:very universal
easy to programme
beautiful
RF functionality is very nice addition for power control (lights etc.)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Alex Mayo from Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Monday February 12, 2001 at 3:24 AM.
Strengths:A great ergonomic design with well laid out buttons, it is a very stylish piece. The backlighting is very nice too.
Weaknesses:Not enough buttons, inability to learn quite a few commands from my existing remotes.
Review:Despite this unit's great looks I was disappointed that it didn't contain programming for my Pioneer DVD, or my Harman/Kardon receiver. It was unable to learn several vital keys from my Pioneer DVD and Panasonic VCR remotes so I figured if I can't replace ALL my remotes with it, then this baby's going back to the shop. I also had the problem with the unit resetting itself to its default German language setting, only once, but annoying all the same. I guess if you have only BIG name components (bigger than Pioneer?) then the RU880 would be great, especially for the price (AU$130/US$60)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Simon Still from England.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Wednesday January 31, 2001 at 9:50 AM.
Strengths:good value, high quality feel, good layout of keys, teletext compatible, retains learnt info on battery change (itís really not much effort to reset the clock)
Weaknesses:preset codes missed a lot of functionality, some learning problems, memory (possibly) too small
Review:I considered various remotes but didnít want to spend a lot of money and prefer real buttons to LCD. Considered One4All and although I suspect they work very well, they look and feel cheap. Considered the Sony VL900 but the lack of Teletext buttons was a problem. The VL800 had Text buttons but was 70UKP. The Phillips was available from www.letsautomate.com in the UK for 33UKP with free delivery and 30 day return.
This is a big, heavy remote but itís fairly narrow so still comfortable to hold. Itís very well made and the buttons have a good feel and theyíre well laid out too, with the volume, channel and Ďjoypadí buttons within easy reach from where your hand naturally falls.
Setting up wasnít perfect though I havenít experienced the level of problems of some other reviewers. No locking up of the remote though mine did reset the clock and language once. Had problems learning from my Akai video remote but repeated button pressing got everything in eventually. All others were fine.
The in-built codes missed a lot of functionality so I needed to learn extra buttons for my Sony TV and Akai video and needed to learn the whole of my Nokia OnDigital DTT remote. Iím unsure how much memory is left since I was getting mem full messages when trying to program a macro on the power key. Strangely it seemed OK when put on a different key.
I'm tempted by the rf light switches but its a shame they dont dim.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Wilco van Deijl from Netherlands.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Tuesday October 3, 2000 at 3:00 PM.
Strengths:Layout, LCD.
Weaknesses:Contains bugs, learning problems.
Review:I've returned the RU880 because it contains errors, I've tried another one and it had the same problems, so they seem to be design errors/bugs (typically Philips), these are the problems:
1. When the lighting is on and you press a learned key, the remote locks up for about 20-30 seconds.
2. With some RCs it has big learning problems (With some keys from my Panasonic TV RC I need to retry at least 30 times or so).
3. When learning it often locks up completly (lighting switches on also), you need to remove the batteries to reset.
4. Often it reset's the clock to 0:00 and the language switches to german.

I've contacted the helpdesk 8 times and finally Philips customer support, but they where unable/unwilling to do anything. It's a pity because without these bugs, and with support it would have been a good RC. I'm really annoyed by their attitude.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tomasz Krzywicki from Poland.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Wednesday September 13, 2000 at 10:39 AM.
Strengths:Very nice, light buttons, all tested signals it has learned well
Weaknesses:Ii is heavy, reseting one macro destroyes the others macros
Review:The very good thing in this controler is mecro and timers. It is the worst thing too. It lets to define only (!!!) 8 macros and timers. If controler will learn some codes, the number of macros and timer will be smaller, only 6.
The price of it is too big for only 8 macros and timers. Do not buy it.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 5 of 6 for
the Philips RU880 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse