Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9900 Director (Mosaic) from One For All.
One For All URC-9900 Director (Mosaic)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.74/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
18$199
The One For All Director is a 15 device touchscreen LCD remote control with learning, 21 macros, custom button labels and more. Also known as the UEI Mosaic.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the One For All URC-9900 Director (Mosaic) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by James from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 18 made on Wednesday November 9, 2005 at 6:50 PM.
Strengths:wellit does replace manyt remote controls easily
Weaknesses:where to start. Even at 60, this isn't worth it. It does do what it says, but the end result is that it takes longer to do anything. I hoped I could start with a blank screen and add the most popular buttons from 6 remotes - Nope, no can do. Using this takes longer than using 6 remotes
Review:the other oneforall's are much more user friendly, like the chameleons
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Wally from Phuket, Thailand.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 17 made on Tuesday June 21, 2005 at 6:27 AM.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:All
Review:This remote is crap. I bought 10 of them, I got a special dealer price of $99 each, they're now giving them away.

Being big isn't so bad; but there is very little memory and even with the backlight on you can't see it during the day.

If anyone's in Phuket, you can have one for free!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by marc from UK, London.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 16 made on Friday April 29, 2005 at 3:07 AM.
Strengths:Easy to setup, wide range of codes, good tech support, Price (40 from Richer Sounds)
Weaknesses:Size, default screens not very well arranged.
Review:Having bought this I finally feel I am on my way to complete remote control nivirna.

I have 6 devices in my setup, and my previous remote couldnt learn how to use the freeview box (pioneer) so for a while I still had a nice array of remotes scattered about the lounge.

The Mosaic didnt have all the codes for all my devices, in fact it doesnt have freeview boces listed (I guess they are a UK thing), however I phoned up the help line and with 5 minutes they had 'downloaded' all the codes to my remote (by holding the phone up to the remote).

I am more or less happy with it now I have it all set up. The macros work well, the touch screen is fairly good and the hard buttons can be setup to preform the same fucntions across all the device screens by using the 'copy button' function.

The device has a 'home theatre' button on the screen which is meant to give you a range of useful buttons from all of the selected devices in your setup; however it gives you a bunch of buttons you will never use - and there is no way to change them. So that's a waste of a button.

Overall I am happy - you cant get a control that does as much for so little.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Malcolm O'Nions from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 15 made on Tuesday November 30, 2004 at 9:54 AM.
Strengths:Current UK Price
Easy to set up
Weaknesses:Limited memory for learned codes
Learning process a bit clunky
A bit of a handful
Review:I bought this from Richer Sounds in the UK for 60, which appears to be a pretty good price.

I first set up the devices I had that were in its database, which worked fine.
I also liked the felexibility of labelling the buttons with a typed logo or choosing from an extensive selection of symbols available. However changing the label means that the button reverts to a standard square(ish) shape.

I then proceeded to start with the four devices that were not in the database or available to download. The learning process was easy enough to do and reasonably flexible although somewhat long-winded. Then the problem hit, just started on the third one and it ran out of available memory for learned codes.

I've returned it for refund as unsuitable.

So I'd say if you're considering one of these check the device listings on the website first to make sure you aren't going to have to learn a lot of codes onto it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by jak1974 from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 14 made on Thursday November 4, 2004 at 7:43 PM.
Strengths:Price
Easy to set up (generally)
Extensive paper manual
Onboard instructions/help
OFA downloads
Weaknesses:Weight and nasty gold colour (in UK)
Page select buttons are too small
Unable to change the appearence of the displays
Review:I am a novice to the world of LCD remotes so this is very much a first impression.

Bought brand new URC-9990 Mosaic for 35 from Costco (UK) in October 2004. I have not seen anything else with the same fuctionality near this price.

Short conclusion I am very pleased with the purchase

Please feel free to ignore the long winded inane ramblings below

Appearence - not the mosaic's strong point it is a cheap looking gold colour.
It is also a big remote that takes 4AA batteries so it is heavy. I could cause some damage if my daughter throws it. It does feel robust and well built

Set up - I must admit I am not one for instruction books but the remote comes with a clear paper manual. Howver I chose to ignore this and just use the remote. The menus were clear and the instructions intuative and fairly idiot proof.

The on board list of devices covered a Thomson TV (this has been tricky in the past especailly with my Sky+ (PVR)remote)and a Philips video without any problem. virtually all original buttons were replicated. Both thes devices involved a simply search under brand name on the device.

SKY+ PVR was not covered by the on board database. A quick vist to the OFA website sorted this. It took no more than 5 mins to register, find the code and download it to the remote (you hold the remote next to the computers speaker). Again practically all buttons were replicated.

pioneer ns dv55- a DVD/ 5.1 sytem in one. This has proved slightly more problamatic. There does not appear to be a single OFA code/downalod to replicate the origianl remote. I've had to download two files which do seem to conatin te majority of the buttons but a fair amount of relabling has been needed

Learning codes - slightly more long winded than I have experienced in the past with hard buttoned learning remotes but good guidance is given on screen. Captured codes efficiently.

Customisation- moving / relabling butons is very easy but the vast majority of buttons are rectangular and this cannot be changed (preprogrammed cursors appear as arrows). This does give a rather boring look to the screens but they are clear.

Macros- I have only written a few 3-4 step macros so far but these work well and were simply to program

Overall I am very pleased with this purchase it was so cheap that even if it had turned out to be a dog it would still have been worth having a backup for all the other remotes in the house. the support from OFA both through ther website and via email has been excellent.

In an ideal world I would have preferred the additional fuctionality to change the appearene of the screen/buttons and a better looking exterior, but I feel his is more than made up for by the ease of setup.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jonny from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 13 made on Tuesday July 6, 2004 at 3:50 PM.
Review:BEWARE of its limitations. The learning feature of this URC is not limitless. I exhausted its learning capabilities when I had to add remote #2 which was not covered by codes or internet downloads... so despite the "future proof" guarantees this units will severely restrict use unless you are willing to send the remote back to One-For-All for an update (takes over 6 weeks in Europe!)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by amrik from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Monday February 9, 2004 at 12:06 PM.
Review:as before rating but the source of the remotes that i got has run out.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the One For All URC-9900 Director (Mosaic) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse