Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9900 Director (Mosaic) from One For All.
One For All URC-9900 Director (Mosaic)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.74/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
18$199
The One For All Director is a 15 device touchscreen LCD remote control with learning, 21 macros, custom button labels and more. Also known as the UEI Mosaic.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 3 for
the One For All URC-9900 Director (Mosaic) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by amrik thomas from uk.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 11 made on Saturday January 31, 2004 at 4:58 PM.
Strengths:programmable, it learns, flexible. touch screen, cheap
Weaknesses:slow, bulky, however works all devices
Review:excellent overall as it cost me 30 or $45, works well with all devices. no problems but uses up batteries quite quickly.

if you are thinking of getting one for 30 of $45 brand new just email me [email protected]

price makes it worthwhile
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Allan from Liverpool, UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Thursday June 5, 2003 at 7:49 PM.
Strengths:Can be used for most remotes
Weaknesses:Theres no feel to it, you cant use it without really looking.
Had initial problems getting it to work with my DVD
Review:I just cant get used to this remote sorry, i am used to feeling and not looking at remotes, with this i tend to always need to look at it.

Also, i cant get it working with my xbox, Tom if your still reading this where did you get the update from for the xbox ? as i cant find it anywhere.

If you could send a mail to [email protected] id be very greatfull.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tom from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Saturday January 4, 2003 at 3:47 PM.
Strengths:Great compatability. Backlight is very even and makes using the remote in the dark easy. Strong IR signals. Cheap price from Richer Sounds in the UK (60)
Weaknesses:Button shapes cannot be changed. There is a grid pattern for buttons that must be kept, no putting the buttons anywhere you want. Cannot remove preprogrammed buttons altogehter, you can only reprogram them (as far as I know)
Review:I got this remote a couple of days ago from Richer Sounds in the UK for 60. I had been looking for a LCD remote, but my budget couldn't stretch to a Pronto. This seemed ideal.

And for what I use it for - it is. My sky digital box worked without even having to download updates. Also, I was glad to find out my Xbox DVD player could be controlled via this unit after downloading a quick and easy update from the internet.

It couldn't be easier to upgrade. Sign up on the oneforall website, and choose which brand you want to download the codes for. You then just have to hold your unit to the speakers and play a short wav file. No more annoying cables.

The macros are slightly limited. Unlike some other remotes, you can only have about 20 key presses, with changing modes counting as 2 key presses. Still, it's fine for what I want (a few preset volumes etc.)

Overall, a great little unit. At the price quoted on this site, it would not be worth it. But at 60, it's not to be missed. It controls everything I've thrown at it, including my dolby digital amp (with ease of switching sources, as I can label up the buttons to say what is connected to the input) and my Xbox.

If you're looking for a cheap LCD remote that still has a lot of functionality, get this.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ian from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 8 made on Thursday January 2, 2003 at 1:25 PM.
Strengths:Flexibility
Current UK price !!
Weaknesses:Size ..... but not really a problem !!
Nothing else at this price
Review:Just purchased the remote at a current knockdown price of 59 (UK sterling)& am 150% impressed.
Previously owned a Cambridge M1+ which had problems "learning" from certin other remotes, especially the home cinema functions of my Sony AV amp.
The Mosaic does this no probs .... and is currently 30 cheaper than the M1+
A huge bargain & every bloke should have one !!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by robs from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Wednesday December 11, 2002 at 4:23 PM.
Strengths:Easy to set up.
Good manual.
Weaknesses:Buzzes when backlight on.
Bit of a brick.
Review:Bought this today...It is actually a URC-9990, called 'Mosaic' in the UK...For 60 (new), which I think was a bargain for what it is. It's a bit large, but the display is clear, and I got rid of 7 remotes in less than an hour's set up, including an old Linn amp, Ondigi box, and old Proline DVD player (which I believe are hard to copy - flipping codes or something?), CD, VDO, TV, AV amp. All were already preprogrammed except the 20yr old Linn, and 'learning' was simple.
Still can't believe I spent that much on a remote, but it seems to do the job very well. With a bit more customisation, I think it will be just what I want.
Downsides so far are a slight buzz when the backlit display is on.....and that's about it. It's quite big, but still, better than two or three boxes sat on top of each other when I'm watching a DVD...
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Colin Reeve from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Saturday February 23, 2002 at 4:03 AM.
Strengths:Chunky feel.
Easy to set up.
Excellent Helpline - free-call rate.
Easy to operate.
Flexible.
Weaknesses:Tacky appearance - the silver case and logo are cheap-looking.
You need to call the Helpline for a lot of codes.
Theatre Mode - what does it DO ?
Review:I wanted a Pronto but couldn't afford or justify one so I got this as a second choice. I wanted to replace my old Sony RMAV2000 with something that had labels that matched what the keys actually did, and the Mosaic does just that. (Also my wife couldn't fathom out the Sony !).

Setting up was a little tricky at first - the manual is OK but nothing special and menu system is very long-winded, but once I had the hang of it it was fine. Calling the Freephone Helpline got me the device codes I needed and the guy on the other end (in Holland I think) spoke excellent English and was the height of excellence in customer service. One thing he told me is that you can only "Learn" 30 codes - if you want more dedicated buttons than that you have to get the Key Magic ones from the Helpline.

As I use the Mosaic I find that I can move and add keys as I find I need them, combining basic controls for the DVD / Amp / TV to get a single screen for watching DVDs, another for Satellite and another still for VCR. I also have a "MAIN" deveice that has everything simplified so that a first time user, technophobe or wife ()can use my system with almost no instruction.

At 250 it is far too expensive for what it is, but as I got mine (new) on the 'Net for about half of that, I reckon it is a pretty cool piece of kit !
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Matthew from Arlington, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Thursday December 13, 2001 at 6:40 PM.
Strengths:Easily customized. Programming is easy enough thatI didn't even need to read the manual, not even for reference.
Weaknesses:Backlit display a little dim, could be brighter.
Review:Originally support couldn't offer much help with this remote, but eventually they were able to help. Phone support is decent and hold times are usually short if at all. This remote isvery flexibleand customizable and above all, it's cheaper than other "more advanced" remotes.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 3 for
the One For All URC-9900 Director (Mosaic) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse