Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Logic UR362 from Millennium Enterprises.
Home Logic UR362
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.00/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
8$99
The Home Logic UR362 remote control features 68 buttons, a backlit LCD screen, full learning capabilities, 20 macros, a unique LCD labeling feature and more.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Home Logic UR362 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Deke from Connecticut, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 8 made on Tuesday August 12, 2003 at 7:46 PM.
Strengths:Free - came with my Rotel 1055 AV receiver. Learning and macros.
Weaknesses:Cannot download device codes. Key functions under a covered panel!!!
Review:It took some time, but my wife finally figured out how to use this. Still, she rarely takes advantage of my macros so lovingly programmed just for her! For example, our DVD is on component ins to the TV while cable is in S-video. Switching from DVD to TV requires changing that input on the TV. If the Rotel could download the TV's codes, my macros could be more reliable - as it is right now, I have to step through the 3 inputs on the TV and the macro is not flexible to account for this in every situation )when my wife doesn't know which input she is on at the moment).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Richard Pickings from Sydney, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Wednesday November 6, 2002 at 6:05 AM.
Strengths:Backlit buttons, ease of use, plenty of devices, great range, low price.
Weaknesses:A bit too bulky, no preprogrammed mode, occasionally freezes, a bit too bulky, the lid flimsy.
Review:Just like another fellow reviewer, I bought the version of this remote from Jaycar in Australia as an AR1708 for the equivalent of about US$70.

I'm on two minds about it. I really love a few things on this remote but it really annoys me that with just a little bit of improvement it could have been so much better.

The price is reasonable. The backlit buttons a great and it has an AMAZING distance range - any stronger and it would go through the wall. The button layout is good but could be better. I would trade two buttons from under the lid for each additional backlit buttons. In the dark, the non backlit buttons are not very useful, especially because they tend to be the rarely used ones so you have to look before you press. I've seen worse button layouts, but it could be better with a few changes.

I've got real worries about the flimsiness of the lid - just a little accident and it'll break. The body is a bit too wide, but I've got long fingers, so it's still a single handed jobbie. Considering the size and weight, I wish it used AA batteries, not AAA.

The biggest worry is that it crashes sometimes. Not kidding! During normal use, occasionally (once in 2 weeks on average), I push a button and it freezes up (sometimes with the light staying on indefinitely) and does not respond to anything. I'm not sure if it's defective or it is due to software error (it's gotta have a micro somewhere in there). If I temporarily remove the battery, it recovers but I have to re-enter the time. As a side note, it's a bit silly that you have to enter the full date with year, but from that it can't figure out which day of the week it is, so you have to enter that too.

Sometimes, the learning is not perfect, and some codes get intermittently misinterpreted by the addressed device, but I only had this with one particularly weird piece of equipment (a Dgtec STB).

It's funny how I complained about quite a few things, but overall I still like it.

Rich
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tim Moore from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 6 made on Monday August 12, 2002 at 5:43 AM.
Strengths:Lots of buttons
Weaknesses:Poor build quality, plastic, many break-downs, can't label the physical buttons unlike a touch-screen (not without bits of sticky paper). M500 specifically: bad labeling for Sky.
Review:Okay, this refers to the Cambridge Audio M500, but it's effectively the same. The main problem I've got with this is that after a year of use the plastic/paint is rubbing off a lot, I've lost some pixels on the LCD and it keeps locking up (have to remove the batteries to fix it, and that means having to reset the time).

Minor niggles about the M500 specifically is it's use with Sky Digital. The M500 in the UK has the coloured buttons as used by teletext and Sky, which is fine, but they've also seen fit to label the buttons with certain other Sky functions which are not normally on the coloured buttons. This means you can't use the coloured buttons for both functions (unless you assign them under a different device). It's odd because the labels are obviously for Sky Digital, so why didn't they get them right in the first place?

I like having a lot of buttons rather than having to scroll through menus, but then I've found having labels printed on the buttons that might not fit the purpose you've assigned to them is annoying and I have to use bits of sticky paper to remind me.

I think my next remote may be a touch-screen. I want a highly customizable one but I don't want to spend more than the cost of my DVD player just on a remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tony Wallen from Brisbane, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Friday July 12, 2002 at 5:44 AM.
Strengths:Inexpensive for a full learning remote compared with others available in Australia. Easy to use, easy to programme and plenty of spare buttons.
Weaknesses:Macros are SLOW. The smallest (and default) time between steps is half a second. 10 steps = 5 seconds and remember to keep it pointed at the equipment.
Review:The UR363 is available in Australia from the Jaycar chain as an AR1708 for $A129 which is $US72.35 as at 17Jul02. The Rotel RR-969 is also available at $A199. As I wanted to use the macro facility I am happy to have the macro key on the main keypad instead of under the slide as on the Rotel.

It is very easy to programme but you must have the original remotes as there is nothing preprogrammed. You will find thre is a button for almost everything but inevitably you will end up having to remember some for those remotes with lots of buttons, like my VCR that has 4 toggle switches and a 30second advertisement skip button.

This model has the timer functions and I am surprised that the date is in British format, i.e. day/month. The backlight is bright and clear and the ability to rename every key is great.

Most of the remotes in Oz are either preprogrammed exclusively or expensive like the Pronto. This is the best middle ground learning remote I could find. Good value.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Fred Roller from PA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Sunday April 1, 2001 at 9:28 AM.
Strengths:Easy to program, almost unlimited possibilities for button assignments
Weaknesses:Slide down door is a little flimsy; If you don't have the original remote, forget this unit
Review:I've had this remote for about 1 1/2 months and absolutely love it. Because every button needs to be programmed, you can assign virtually any button to correspond to the origninal remote function. Only problem is you have to remember what you did. For example, I assigned the "Play" button to operate PIP while in TV mode. This way I don't have to use the pull down door for this function. By doing this kind of assignment, I don't have to use the pull down door for any added function. Just have to remember whats what! I got the remote for $70 online and would highly recommend it. At light, the backlight (which lights the entire remote) can almost double as a flashlight. Again, great remote
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by robert sanders from uk.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 3 made on Saturday March 10, 2001 at 8:31 PM.
Strengths:easy to use , easy to hold ,backlight
Weaknesses:no timer for turning on vcr ,only sleep button for up to an hour
Review:i bought this remote for 29 at richer sounds for my home cinema and can say it is the best 29 i have ever spent. it is very easy to programme comfortable to hold and each button is very easy to find as they are all different shaped and protruding from the remote ,unlike touch screen models. if you are after a remote look no further ,this is the best money can buy ,even at three times the cost.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by lawana copeland from anaheim, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Monday February 19, 2001 at 10:44 AM.
Strengths:ability to program any device on any buttons. LCD panel display.
Weaknesses:You have to program every single function and if you don't have the original remote you may not be able to program that device. No built in codes for start up.
Mfg. does not make it clear that you must have original remote and offers poor support at their web site.
Review:I think the remote has many good features but it is only for those that have the original remote controls they want it to replace. I don't feel the price is worth what it takes to program it.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Home Logic UR362 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse