Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master SL-9000 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master SL-9000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.09/5.00
Median: 4.17/5.00
18$129
The SL-9000 is a powerful learning and pre-programmed remote control with real hard buttons, an LCD display screen, backlighting and macros.


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the Home Theater Master SL-9000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by Brian Delaney from Colorado, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 18 made on Sunday August 15, 2004 at 1:57 PM.
Strengths:Excellent learning. Backlight. Real buttons. Volume and channel punch through from selectable modes.
Weaknesses:Limited macro buttons.
Review:This is a great remote. I purchased and returned two other learning remotes that could not learn my Denon receiver commands, before I bought this one which handled it with no problem. It does everything most people need in a simple and easy to use package. This remote has the capability of a lot of touchscreen remotes, but with real buttons (so you can feel your way around without having to always look down at the remote). The only limitation is that you only have five buttons which can be programmed as macros and these are grouped such that they must be the same in several modes (split into two groups of modes). Overall, though, this remote does what you need, without complexities getting in your way.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by A. Gilchrist from Brooklyn, NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 17 made on Sunday February 1, 2004 at 1:25 AM.
Strengths:Good ergonomics, size, build.
Review:Actually have Rotel RR-939, which looks similar but doesn't learn, has no LCD, and has a somewhat different button layout toward the bottom.

My reason for writing this review is mostly just to mention a weakness that exists in this design--with backlight, the volume and channel keys are indistinguishable, because the identifying text is not on the button, but on the remote surface instead.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by KT Kelly from NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 16 made on Wednesday November 19, 2003 at 1:11 PM.
Strengths:Simple operation for end user.
Weaknesses:Just won't learn near enough commands, pretty much is out of date as to equipment it can operate.
Review:I've used and sold so many of these things over the years, it's simply unbelievable. Was (stressing was), a very good product. But unfortunately, the list of equipment it will operate is growing by the day. Samsung TV, Teac A/V Receivers and Parasound are but a few.

Sad to say, this thing needs to be upgraded, or retired.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tony Marinelli from Cape Cod, MA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 15 made on Sunday September 14, 2003 at 12:06 AM.
Strengths:Very Flexible, easy to use; program mostly anything; great battery life
Weaknesses:Compared to most other remotes (including much higher $$$) - hardly any!
Review:I purchased so many remotes I was almost gave up the thought of finding a SINGLE remote to handle my home theater system.

Then I purchase the SL-9000. What a great product (and, no - I don't work for them!!) Seriously - the unit is very well made and has so many programming features that, with a little thought, it can be used for almost any situation.

I have a high-end Yamaha theater receiver, a Panasonic HDTV (53") a JVC SVHS tape deck, a Toshiba DVD, (progressive), a Sony audio tape deck (dual), Techniques 60 CD deck. I use both Cable AND DirecTV and JBL 6.1 surround sound speakers.

It took a little while - and some thinking - but I've got all this running very well from this single remote.

The PUSH volume control alone makes this worth the money! I use the macro keys to auto power on and off the entire system.

I haven't found anything (including DVD funtions) that I couldn't set up with this remote.

I LIKE buttons (even though I'm a computer engineer) - and have no time or desire to set up or use and LCD based product.

This product gets my highest marks!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Hal Widsten from San Antonio, TX..
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 14 made on Sunday January 12, 2003 at 3:49 PM.
Strengths:Easy to Program both individual devices and macros. Easy to Operate. Good lighting system for controls. Easy to explain to non-technical person (wife) who will also use it.
Weaknesses:Could use additional functions per macro, otherwise I haven't found any.
Review:If I'm going to pan one of Universal's products that didn't live up to its advertised potential, the least I can do is praise another that meets and exceeds my expectations. After a frustrating experience with an MX-1000, I exchanged that turkey for the SL-9000.
I have found the SL-9000 to be an excellent product. The manual is complete and clearly written. The unit is easy to program (I had everything including macros and punch throughs working in about 15 minutes), fits nicely in my hand, and was easy to explain to my non-technical significant other, who has experienced big trouble operating the 6 individual remotes we've been using to run our audio and video system. (those of you in the same situation know what I'm talking about) If you need a unit that will draw the drapes, dim the lights, etc., this one isn't powerful enough for you, but this SL-9000 does everything, as advertised, and I recommend it to anyone with a small to mid-size home theatre/audio system.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jerry Ellis from Bend, Or..
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 13 made on Saturday November 9, 2002 at 4:14 AM.
Strengths:Flexible, Flexible, Flexible
Ergonomicly designed well
consistant
easy to programm
esy to troubleshoot with customers over phone
Weaknesses:Dosn't learn all codes, (whos does)
will sometimes loose vol cmds.
Sometimes you will get one that eats batteries
Review:7 yrs of selling this remote. Its a winner
I have tried every remote on market.
This 9000 has been the best item I have to offer.
My customers can run them. They call me with a question and I can answere over phone.
Add both a "on power" & "off power" buttons.
I hate to power buttons..........I can even programm Mitsubishi Net command options and have customers actually run them. I highly recommend learning this remote in and out and it will make your life and customers easier...........
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeff from Colorado.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Tuesday October 29, 2002 at 6:43 PM.
Strengths:Nice design, easy to configure devices and setup up macro features. Buttons provided good tactile feel. Nice backlight. Overall great value.
Weaknesses:None, yet...
Review:I just got this remote recently, but I really like the product a lot. The functional aspects of each programmed remote are available, even if you have to relabel buttons sometimes (which is a little tedious, but that's why they make remotes that sync with your PC for more $$$). The feel of the buttons, and the overall design and feel of the remote is great. Highly recommended. I got this remote for only $125 from etronics.com.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the Home Theater Master SL-9000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse