Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
9/13/19 - Features push-to-talk voice control of Amazon Alexa and Apple TV via Siri.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Home Theater Master SL-9000 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Home Theater Master SL-9000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.09/5.00
Median: 4.17/5.00
18$129
The SL-9000 is a powerful learning and pre-programmed remote control with real hard buttons, an LCD display screen, backlighting and macros.


Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 3 for
the Home Theater Master SL-9000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by Keld Hjortskov from Denmark.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 4 made on Wednesday November 1, 2000 at 10:01 AM.
Strengths:Good battery life, Learning ability, Built in codes
Weaknesses:Poor button layout for DVD owners.
Review:I loved this remote until I got my DVD. The SL-9000 doesn't solve the problem of transport & menu controls on seperate buttons.
If you have a DVD - get another remote - otherwise the SL9000 is great
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Eric Schlais from Minneapolis, MN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 3 made on Tuesday October 3, 2000 at 2:21 PM.
Strengths:well built, battery efficient, nice backlight
Weaknesses:not so great ergonomics
Review:While this remote is well built, it is lacking some of the options on would expect with a remote packaged with B&K receiver. It is very hard to use in the dark, with many of the buttons banked togather being the same size. Even with the backlight I sometimes found myself pressing the wrong button. For the money it is a well put togather remote, but I like the Marantz RC2000 MK II so much better, even for the price difference. I ended up buying a Pronto on Ebay for a steal, so my SL-9000 now sits in a drawer...
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kevin Flanagan from Culver City, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 2 made on Friday August 25, 2000 at 3:48 PM.
Strengths:Good backlight, nice feel in hand, LCD display of current device.
Weaknesses:Poorly thought out for DVD owners.
Review:I was mostly very pleased with the SL-9000. It looks and feels good, was easy to program and use. The LCD showing the current device is a nice touch. The remote only falters in its layout of buttons for DVD players. By default, the arrow buttons map to the codes for play/pause/ff/rw, etc. I had to remap them to arrow control, and put the other controls in a non-intuitive place, using the stickers to label the new functions. But the backlight doesn't illuminate the stickers, so I would have problems finding the buttons I need from time to time. I ended up using my DVD player's remote for DVD control, and the SL-9000 for everthing else. But 2 remotes on the coffee table is still way better than 5!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rob Crowe from Chicago, IL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Thursday August 24, 2000 at 10:53 PM.
Strengths:It has many device codes pre-programmed, including ReplayTV, plus it has alot of learning memory.
Weaknesses:Lack of seperate transport (ie, REW, FF, etc) and menu arrow keys.
Review:This would be a very good remote if it weren't for the lack of transport keys. They have made the assumption that there are not many devices that need BOTH transport keys and menu arrows, which makes me wonder if they have ever heard of DVD players.

If you need a remote with lots of learning, Sony's VL900 is a much better idea for half the price.
Quality: Features: Value:

Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 3 of 3 for
the Home Theater Master SL-9000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse